Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Spell :: Spell Checker in WYSIWYG and Standard Modes Details »»
vB Spell :: Spell Checker in WYSIWYG and Standard Modes
Version: 0.9.7, by tamarian tamarian is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 07-07-2005 Last Update: 12-25-2005 Installs: 78
Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

There's also a vB 3.5 version: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=92202

What this does: vB Spell allows you to install a dictionary (English dictionary included) into your MysQL database, and provide a spell checking window that works in both of vB's editor modes, standard and WYSIWYG.

Background: Many of you liked PungoSpell, but didn't like recompiling PHP for it. Many liked PHPSpell, but didn't like the lack of WYSIWYG support and browser compatibility. vB Spell solved both problems, I hope, by combining the best of each.

Features:
o Supports most recent versions of browsers. Tested on IE, Firefox, Mozilla/Netsacpe, Opera and Konqueror (Konqueror implies Safari, but please confirm Mac folks)
o Learn Feature uses cookies, so it won't increase the database size
o Admin panel options
o Skips quoted text and other tags (PHP, code, etc.)
o Usergroup permisisons
o Template based interface, and uses your default style.
o Link buttons (Thesarus and Lookup) with links to Merriam Webster's online thesarus and dictionary links with the suggestion for misspelled words.

Installation:
1. Download vbspell.zip and upload the files and run vbspell_install.php
2. Go to AdminCP > vBulletin Options > vB Spell and edit your usergroup permisisons.
3. For each template where you would like to add a vB Spell, do the following edits (Example: editpost, newreply, newthread, etc.)

Note: For those running PHP in cgi mode and get timeouts while installing the dictionary, you can download the file dictionary_sql_for_php_cgi.zip to import it to mysql through the mysql command line.

A. Find:
HTML Code:
</head>
Add before:
HTML Code:
<script src="vbspell.js"></script>
B. Find: (or anywhere in the body)
HTML Code:
$navbar
Add after:
HTML Code:
<form name="spell_form" id="spell_form" method="POST" target="spellWindow" action="vbspell.php">
        <input type="hidden" name="spell_formname" value="">
        <input type="hidden" name="spell_fieldname" value="">
        <input type="hidden" name="spellstring" value="">
        <input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="">
</form>
C. Find the submit and preview buttons:
HTML Code:
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="sbutton" value="$vbphrase[save_changes]" accesskey="s" tabindex="1" />
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="preview" value="$vbphrase[preview_changes]" accesskey="p" tabindex="1" />
Add below:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$show['wysiwyg']">
        <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck('vbform', 'WYSIWYG_HTML', '2');">
<else />
        <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck('vbform', 'message', '1');">
</if>

Other templates:

Optional: Other Templates that contain edit boxes are:
USERCP_SHELL just add the first change (A) here in above the </head section. Required for pm_newpm and modifysignature.
editpost
Calendar Templates: calendar_edit
New Posting Templates: newreply, newthread
Modify User Options Templates: add the the first change (A) in USERCP_SHELL) and the rest (B and C) in modifysignature

Quick reply: . Put change (A) in showthread, above </head>. Then add change B to the beginning of showthread_quickreply. Then find
HTML Code:
			<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go_advanced]" accesskey="x" title="(Alt + X)" name="preview" tabindex="3" id="qr_preview" onclick="this.form.clickedelm.value = this.value" />
Add after it:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$WYSIWYG == 2">
        <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck('vbform', 'WYSIWYG_HTML', '2');">
<else />
        <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck('vbform', 'message', '1');">
</if>
History:

December 25, 2005: Security fix for cases where you allow HTML posts and they contain malicious code (Credit goes to Brendan Donahue for finding the issue and alerting TechGuy, and to TechGuy for alerting me to it)

November 2nd. 2005: Fixed a bug with slashes in text.

Oct 17, 2005: v0.9.5 Cecks for primnary and secondary group permission. Also fixed quoted words.

July 10, 2005: v0.9.4 Added an error if accessing vB Spell directly, like from who's online page.

July 10, 2005: v0.9.3 Fixed a problem with capitalized first letter of words, so chosing a suggested alternative would not alter capitalization.

July 10, 2005: v0.9.2 Fixed a browser bug, fixed an installer issue effecting some, and fixed handling of some special characters.

July 9, 2005: v0.9.1 Learned words in cookies are no longer case sensitive. Abbreviations are ignored and not spell checked.

July 8, 2005. initial release, v0.9

Please click Install if you have installed this mod.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #122  
Old 08-31-2005, 05:13 AM
AtoZ AtoZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PLEASE correct the spelling of thesaurus on the vbspell screen... It is showing as thesarus.

Edit: I discovered that this can be fixed in the "vbspell" template, but it would be nice to fix that since this is a spell checker.

Thanks for this mod - I hope it helps my members' spelling.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 08-31-2005, 06:10 AM
AtoZ AtoZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is it okay to share my revised vbspell template? In addition to fixing the spelling error for Thesaurus, I made some other modifications. I found a way to add a description for what each button does when the user mouses over it. The description shows up in the status bar.

For example, here is the code for the "Change All" button:
HTML Code:
<input type="button" class="button" name="changeall" value="Change All" onClick="replaceAll()" ONMOUSEOVER="window.status='Change all instances of this word.';return true;" ONMOUSEOUT="window.status='';return true;">
When the user mouses over it, the status bar text says "Change all instances of this word."

P.S. Great mod!
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 08-31-2005, 05:44 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is the error I get trying to install this on a FRESH vBullentin 3.08
There seems to have been a slight problem with the Forums database.
Please try again by pressing the refresh button in your browser.

An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, who you can also contact if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.8:

Invalid SQL: REPLACE INTO vb3_vbspell VALUES('divines', 'TFNS')
mysql error: User 'xxxxxxx' has exceeded the 'max_questions' resource (current value: 50000)

mysql error number: 1226

Date: Wednesday 31st of August 2005 11:43:03 AM
Script: http://www.divingandfitness.com/foru...install&step=5
Referer: http://www.divingandfitness.com/foru...install&step=4
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 08-31-2005, 06:43 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zendiver
Invalid SQL: REPLACE INTO vb3_vbspell VALUES('divines', 'TFNS')
mysql error: User xxxx has exceeded the 'max_questions' resource (current value: 50000)

mysql error number: 1226
This seems to be a limit set by your host on the number of queries your forum can run per hour. If this is a shared account, you'll probably need the host to install it for you, or adjust the limit.

P.S. You might want to edit your post to remove the username for the database.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 08-31-2005, 07:34 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

tamarian, thanks for the reply. I have checked with them, my hosting company, and they say that I don't have a limit. I have 4 domains with them and then was one is actually my testing site. I am going to completely delete EVERYTHING from this site, delete the database, do a fresh install of vBulletin and then try it again.

On my other sites, I have vBulletin, vbPortal, vbPhotoPost, a chat room, and quite a few other things installed and they all work without a glitch. *shrugs*
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 08-31-2005, 07:46 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zendiver
tamarian, thanks for the reply. I have checked with them, my hosting company, and they say that I don't have a limit.
The error message clearly indicates that there is a limit. If your host does not have a limit, then someone by mistake may have setup MySQL. Check your mysql settings and user priviliges. If this error happens again, send a copy of the error to your host, so they can see the 50,000 limit.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:19 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtoZ
Is it okay to share my revised vbspell template?
By all means, yes. Might include it on the next update
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:04 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Tamarian, I got a response from my hosting company and this what they had to say:
Quote:
The database you are using is asking too many questions within one hour (50,000). If you have the .sql file and the database created, please provide the database name and location of the .sql file and we can manaully import it for you on the server.
With the install that you have provided, there wasn't a .sql file BUT there was an additional file: dictionary.sql that I downloaded also. Is this the one that I should send to them? If so, I am a bit concerned with the format as it doesn't have the prefix on it:
Example:
Code:
REPLACE INTO `vbspell` VALUES ('a', 'A');
Shouldn't that be:
Code:
REPLACE INTO `vb3_vbspell` VALUES ('a', 'A');
And lastly, if they import it in, then what do I do about the rest of the installation as it seems that I can't get past Step 5?

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:27 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zendiver
Tamarian, I got a response from my hosting company and this what they had to say:


With the install that you have provided, there wasn't a .sql file BUT there was an additional file: dictionary.sql that I downloaded also. Is this the one that I should send to them?
No, the first post states that file is for those in cgi mode, or those who want to import it without the install script.

The installation script comes with a dictionary text file IDCTIONARY.DIC

Quote:
If so, I am a bit concerned with the format as it doesn't have the prefix on it:
Example:
Code:
REPLACE INTO `vbspell` VALUES ('a', 'A');
Shouldn't that be:
Code:
REPLACE INTO `vb3_vbspell` VALUES ('a', 'A');
The installation script does handle text prefixes. The one you're using is a streight mysql dump, and you don't need it if you run the install script.

If you use the dump instead, then just rename the table when your done through mysql client, or phpmyadmin.

Quote:
And lastly, if they import it in, then what do I do about the rest of the installation as it seems that I can't get past Step 5?
If they import it, you don't need step 5, you're done.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 09-01-2005, 01:58 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, I can understand that, so this is what I plan to do.
Dump the dictionary.sql into my database.
Then, do I run the install program?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06619 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,338KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (9)bbcode_html
  • (7)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete