Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar Details »»
Additional Navbar
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 05-15-2004 Last Update: 06-05-2004 Installs: 126
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Dispite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.5. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #112  
Old 04-30-2005, 04:26 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LauraFL
I did that. It is not showing up there.
Hmm. It works on my web site. If you want you can cut and paste what you have in your navbar and I will look at it and see if I can find something wrong. Send it to me in a PM if you want.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 05-01-2005, 12:52 AM
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This worked perfectly for me awhile ago.. Now that I want to install it again. When I add:
Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' . fetch_template('navbar2') . '";');
to the phpinclude_start template, if makes my entire site center justified. I am at a loss for how this could happen
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:15 AM
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I had to delete it and just edit the navbar template..
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:39 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mholtum
This worked perfectly for me awhile ago.. Now that I want to install it again. When I add:
Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' . fetch_template('navbar2') . '";');
to the phpinclude_start template, if makes my entire site center justified. I am at a loss for how this could happen
I don't know why it did a center justify uless you were missing a code or have something in the wrong place. I have three other lines added in my phpinclude_start but and it still works for me. Here is what my phpinclude_start looks like:
Code:
$postthumbnail = implode("", file("http://www.mysite.net/gallery/thumbincluder11.php"));
eval('$navbar2 = "' . fetch_template('navbar2') . '";');
if ($bbuserinfo['field5'] == 'Left'){$vboptions['legacypostbit'] = 1;}
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 05-01-2005, 01:23 PM
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have no idea why it did that either as it has worked in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:52 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mholtum
I have no idea why it did that either as it has worked in the past.
It looks like something in the navbar2 template got changed and or a table is not getting closed that is open in the navbar2 template. If you want to send me the template I will look at it and see if I can find the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 05-01-2005, 04:59 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I just updated the first post explaining where to put the $navbar2 line in the templates depending on where you want it. I have also included some 5 screen shots of examples of where you can put them.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:10 PM
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
It looks like something in the navbar2 template got changed and or a table is not getting closed that is open in the navbar2 template. If you want to send me the template I will look at it and see if I can find the problem.
Code:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
	<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
	<tr align="center">< -- is this the issue?	

<!-- Non drop down menu's in navbar -->
       <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/showgroups.php">Staff</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/affiliate.php">Affiliates</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/article.php?$session[sessionurl]">Articles</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/arcade.php?$session[sessionurl]">Arcade</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/donationstotal.php?$session[sessionurl]">Donations</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.ravensrealm.net/index.php?page=chat">Chat</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/forum/helpdesk.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[helpdesk]</a></td>
<!-- / Non drop down menu's in navbar -->
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:44 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mholtum
Code:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div align="center">
	<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px">
	<tr align="center">< -- is this the issue?	

<!-- Non drop down menu's in navbar -->
       <td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/showgroups.php">Staff</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/affiliate.php">Affiliates</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/article.php?$session[sessionurl]">Articles</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/arcade.php?$session[sessionurl]">Arcade</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="$vboptions[bburl]/donationstotal.php?$session[sessionurl]">Donations</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="http://www.ravensrealm.net/index.php?page=chat">Chat</a></td>
		<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/forum/helpdesk.php?$session[sessionurl]">$vbphrase[helpdesk]</a></td>
<!-- / Non drop down menu's in navbar -->
I took your exact code that you posted and cut and pasted it in my test site and it worked for me. I will leave your code in there until you see it. The problem has to be somewhere else. Because it works for me.

Here is my test site. You can look at it here: http://www.athiker.net/forum/index.php?

The problem may remain with the rest of the code in your navbar2 template. Can you send me the whole navbar2 template or post it. If that is the whole navbar2 template that you posted then it is most likely a problem in the stock narbar template. If that it the case send me or post you stock navbar template.
Reply With Quote
  #121  
Old 05-01-2005, 07:16 PM
mholtum's Avatar
mholtum mholtum is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 697
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I really appreciate the effort you are taking to help me figure this out.. I found an easy fix, since I was banging my head against my keyboard for something like 5 hours..

I just uninstalled the second navbar completely and just added a table to my navbar template where I wanted it.. The odd thing is that it works perfectly on another site I designed http://www.theflyfishingforum.com

Just a complete mystery... But again, thanks for the effort.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09568 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,337KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (15)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete