Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »»
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 10-09-2005 Last Update: Never Installs: 237
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:

HTML Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0">
$spacer_open 
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px"> 

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center"> 
<tr> 
	<td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td> 
</tr> 
<tr> 
	<td class="alt1" align="center">

<!-- ad code goes here -->

	</td> 
</tr> 
</table> 

</div> 
$spacer_close 
</if>

Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #102  
Old 01-15-2006, 03:21 PM
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neutek
just want certain usergroups not to be able to see
Me too.

Also, I'm wondering if there is a way to randomize ads for that area if you want to rotate banners along with AdSense.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:02 PM
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Bump for the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 01-20-2006, 05:30 AM
bloggerMel bloggerMel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks for the hack, works well
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 01-21-2006, 08:36 PM
Dreamchaser Dreamchaser is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: India
Posts: 22
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lochie
Does this deffinetly work with 3.5.3? I've installed it and it doesn't appear at al;l no matter which of the 2 postbits I put the code in. I'm having some issues with my skin since upgrading and not sure if this is all connected.

I know it's for 3.5.2 but wasn't sure if it's just not compatible with my version or caused by my other issues.
I am using vb 3.5.3 and this works great with no problem and did anyone find a best way to restrict some user groups in seeing the ads or anyway where every can see the ads ?

Thanks for the wonderful hack!

DC
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 01-25-2006, 02:21 AM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TitanJeff
Here's what I added:
<!-- / post #$post[postid] -->
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo,array(2,5,6,7) )">
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0">
$spacer_open
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px">

My goal is for groups 2,5,6,7 to not see the ads.

Where did I goof? Thanks.
Did you add an other </if> to close the statement?

You're logic would also only show it to users that are in groups 2,5,6,7. If you want to stop them from seeing it I suggest you use the template code listed in my first post with the following change:

instead of

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0"
use

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0 && ! is_member_of($bbuserinfo,array(2,5,6,7))"
This will mean the ad is not shown to groups 2,5,6 and 7.

If you wanted to do the opposite and only show it to groups 2,5,6 and 7 then you should remove the ! like:

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0 && is_member_of($bbuserinfo,array(2,5,6,7))"
No other changes to the template will be necessary
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 01-25-2006, 02:23 AM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Update: I've changed the tested version info to v3.5.3 as it runs fine in this latest version.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 01-25-2006, 02:25 AM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by adobepoint
Is there a way to post the ads on top of the first post?
Have a look back through this thread. The same question was asked a while back and I posted the solution.

You just need to do a template change, no plugin is required.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:26 AM
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My thanks for taking the time to further explain. The changes worked perfectly.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:30 PM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Excellent!
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:31 PM
lochie lochie is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've installed this on a clean install of vbulletin 3.5.3 using iSkin form extremepixels at www.djstalk.com and it doesn't show up at all.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05209 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,322KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete