Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration Details »»
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration
Version: 1.4, by davidw davidw is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.6.8 Rating:
Released: 08-13-2007 Last Update: 11-09-2007 Installs: 59
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

Since the hooks came out in the navigation bar, I had been working on a new release as seen in my previous modification. I have recently pushed myself to finish this hack but I have plans for addons to it .

This is under the assumption you have your key information:
1) Your pub
(your pub ID/property information - usually starts with pub- and then some numbers)
2) Your cof usually found in your adsense code here:
Code:
<input name="cof" type="hidden" value="GALT:#008000;GL:1;DIV:#336699;VLC:663399;AH:center;BGC:FFFFFF;LBGC:336699;ALC:0000FF;LC:0000FF;T:000000;GFNT:0000FF;GIMP:0000FF;LH:50;LW:250;L:http://www.christianboards.org/images/logo.gif;S:http://;FORID:1">
This example is what I am using and what a lot of others are using:
Code:
GALT:#008000;GL:1;DIV:#336699;VLC:663399;AH:center;BGC:FFFFFF;LBGC:336699;ALC:0000FF;LC:0000FF;T:000000;GFNT:0000FF;GIMP:0000FF;FORID:11
Step 1:
Upload searchresults.php to your site's root.
Example: http://www.yoursite.com/searchresults.php

Step 2:
Install the product
Go to Admincp => Plugins & Products => Manage Products => [Add/Import Product] => Browse for product-davidw_vb_google_search.xml => Import

Step 3:
Configure your Admincp options
Go to Admincp => vBullitin Options => vBulletin Options => Find vB Google Search (Adsense) then click [Edit Settings]
Edit your Pub ID, Cof, and your desired width of the iframe for your results. I use 800 in the screenshot, but you can change this based on your needs.

Step 4:
If you are using Version [s]1.2[/s] 1.3, or higher you must edit (or at least check) the searchresults.php to ensure it is correct for your site.

vBAdvanced Optional
Step 5:
Go to Admincp => vBA CMPS => Default Settings => Under Options Portal Output Global Variables
Add (or make sure they are present) these varaiables:
template_hook
google_navadsearch
google_label_site
google_label_web
homeurl

Step 6:
Click on Edit Modules. Click on Search Forums (module).
Under Module Tools, find Select Action (very top) and choose Copy.

In your new (copy) of the Search Forums Module, change the name of your module to whatever you want (I chose "Search").
Under the Template Module Options heading, edit the adv_portal_ area.
Change it from search to search_google

Next,
Under Module Shell Template Options, in the Form Code box,
Change
Code:
<form action="{$vbulletin->options[bburl]}/search.php" method="post" name="search"> <input name="s" type="hidden" value="" /> <input name="do" type="hidden" 

value="process" /> <input name="sortby" type="hidden" value="lastpost" /> <input name="forumchoice" type="hidden" value="0" />
To
Code:
<form method="get" action="http://www.yoursite.com/searchresults.php" type="hidden" name="search" target="_blank">
Make sure this URL is the correct full path to your searchresults.php file.


LEGACY VERSION - Applies to [s]vb_google_legacy_1_2.zip[/s] vb_google_legacy_1_3.zip(or higher) only
- Very similar to Version [s]1.2[/s] 1.3 and higher except instead of using a hook this will work for previous 3.6 versions (should work with any 3.6 version).
-- -- Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Navigation / Breadcrumb Templates => navbar => find
Code:
$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
		</tr>
Add, under $google_navadsearch
-- Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Search Templates => search_forums => under $navbar, add $google_siteadsearch

Also, you must ensure that $google_navadsearch does not go in between <form> tags. If your navbar is a modified old-style template, you will have an extended <form> section. Make changes similar to this...
change this:
Code:
        <form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
        <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        <tr>
            <td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
        </tr>
to
Code:
        <table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
        <tr>
            <form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
            <td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
        </tr>
and change
Code:
        </tr>
$google_navadsearch
$template_hook[navbar_search_menu]
        </table>
        </form>
    </div>
    <!-- / header quick search form -->
to
Code:
        </form>
        </tr>
$google_navadsearch
$template_hook[navbar_search_menu]
        </table>
    </div>
    <!-- / header quick search form -->

Changelog
Version 1.4
- Added support for vBAdvanced module (rather than going to my hack on vBAdvanced.com)

Version 1.3
- Added missing template cache plugins from XML file (had the template cache in the file, just lost it along the way in the XML).

Version 1.2
- Allows you to put your searchresults.php file in any directory, but you must edit the path in the searchresults.php file to the location of searchresults.php.
- Removed unnecessary xml information.
- Fixed a small bug in the product
- Added search.php functionality
-- Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Search Templates => search_forums => under $navbar, add $google_siteadsearch
- Set default values so that it is easier to configure. You must still edit these values.

Version 1.1
- Change default "site" to your site's name or put a link to a small logo there.
- Change default "web" to "Google" or put their logo in there.
Code:
<img src="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_25wht.gif" border="0" alt="Google" align="middle">
This is their logo if you don't have it.
- Only added the ability to allow you to easily add your own logos or change the text from the admincp.

Version 1.0
- Original

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #102  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:59 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

As far as the "whitespace" below the results, that can't (currently) be altered at the moment due to the code Google supplied (unalterable iframe height). However, I am always on the lookout for new code so that this can be improved.

Looking at your site, you are using a version of vB that may not take full advantage of the full version of the code (as I have noticed with another member who had a similar issue as you). After looking into it, it was discovered that the legacy version worked best.

Which version are you using? Have you tried using the legacy version?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:40 AM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 603
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im currently using the 1.3 legacy version. I also made all the alterations in the first post.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:59 AM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can you PM me the section of code that pertains to this in your navbar? Also a temp login account to see what is going on as clicking on search just takes me to search.php. I will be back tonight (I work during the days).
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 11-07-2007, 08:27 PM
oldengine oldengine is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 257
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I notice in your screen shot that the Google results are crowded up against the left hand side of the white background. I think that the previous hack by someone else did this also, but is there any margin value capability? Maybe an extra white table around it?

Great hack by the way! I just installed it and after adding an extra 1 to the GALT it works. With only 1 as in my google code, it returns an empty result screen.

I am on 3.6.8 and it's also working on the current versions of PhotoPost vBGallery and vBAdvanced Links.

Does anyone know the reason for GAULT 1 or 11 ?
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 11-08-2007, 10:28 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldengine View Post
I notice in your screen shot that the Google results are crowded up against the left hand side of the white background. I think that the previous hack by someone else did this also, but is there any margin value capability? Maybe an extra white table around it?
That's something that is currently out of my control as it is set in an iFrame controlled by Google. Hopefully in a later release, that can be fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldengine View Post
Great hack by the way! I just installed it and after adding an extra 1 to the GALT it works. With only 1 as in my google code, it returns an empty result screen.

I am on 3.6.8 and it's also working on the current versions of PhotoPost vBGallery and vBAdvanced Links.

Does anyone know the reason for GAULT 1 or 11 ?
I'm not sure, but I think the difference between the 1 and the 11 is how the code is processed.

I do appreciate the compliments. In the future I will add more flexibility in a phase-in/phase-out period as I did with previous versions.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 11-09-2007, 05:11 PM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 603
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidw View Post
I actually have a vbadvanced version at vbadvanced.com (I guess I could release it here).

http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?p=82852 and also post 3 - I've not updated it in a while but is still usable (just needing a couple modifications to it).
Ive installed this module and it works a treat

Is there anyway though for it to bring up the results in the searchresults.php page?
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 11-09-2007, 07:07 PM
Raffaele's Avatar
Raffaele Raffaele is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 53
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi David,

i got the pub but where do you get the GALT at the adsence site??

Thank you for the help
RV
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 11-09-2007, 07:27 PM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 603
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Once google has generated the search code - you can locate the GALT in that.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 11-09-2007, 09:55 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by powerful_rogue View Post
Ive installed this module and it works a treat

Is there anyway though for it to bring up the results in the searchresults.php page?
Not in the current form, but I am going to be working on a new version - that module will work on any version of vb (which is what it was intended for). I will post something when I have it created.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 11-09-2007, 09:57 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raffaele View Post
Hi David,

i got the pub but where do you get the GALT at the adsence site??

Thank you for the help
RV
If you don't find the GALT you can use what I have at the top of the thread.

Don't forget to click Install
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07261 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,332KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete