Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Combine Threads and Posts Column Details »»
Combine Threads and Posts Column
Version: 1.00, by Aerdan Aerdan is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.7.x Rating:
Released: 05-30-2008 Last Update: Never Installs: 7
Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

If you use this enhancement, remember to click MARK AS INSTALLED for support! Thank you!

This is a small mod which combines your threads and posts into a single column. With this enhancement, it saves a few pixels on your forum width, and the small differentiation is also aesthetically pleasing. This requires a couple simple template modifications.

Installation
1. In FORUMHOME, find the following:
Code:
	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
2. Replace it with this:
Code:
	  <td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]/$vbphrase[posts]</td>
3. Save the template.

4. In forumhome_forumbit_level2_post, find the following:
Code:
	<td class="alt1">$forum[threadcount]</td>
	<td class="alt2">$forum[replycount]</td>
5. Replace it with this:
Code:
		<td class="alt1"><small>$vbphrase[threads]: $forum[threadcount]<br />
	$vbphrase[posts]: $forum[replycount]</small></td>
6. Save the template.

7. In forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost, find the following:
Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">6<else />5</if>
8. Replace it with this:
Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[showmoderatorcolumn]">5<else />4</if>
9. Save the template. Done!

Live Demo
http://www.castbuzz.com/community/index.php

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 05-31-2008, 07:55 PM
Baldilocks's Avatar
Baldilocks Baldilocks is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 297
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'd love to install this, however my templates are different.

My FORUMHOME contains the following instead:

Code:
$vbphrase[threads]: $totalthreads,
          $vbphrase[posts]: $totalposts,
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-31-2008, 10:54 PM
Aerdan Aerdan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hello,

The code you refer to is found in the "What's Going On" box towards the bottom and is the statistics for your whole forums. I did see what you did with your site though, and to do this, perform steps 1-3 in forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost instead of FORUMHOME. It will get the same effect
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2008, 11:43 PM
Baldilocks's Avatar
Baldilocks Baldilocks is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 297
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you, will try that soon.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-01-2008, 04:05 PM
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,131
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What I see in the forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost

Quote:
<td class="thead" width="65">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead" width="65">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
Not the:

Quote:
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[threads]</td>
<td class="thead">$vbphrase[posts]</td>
Should the first one be replaced?

On Edit:

It worked.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:00 AM
nike.stars nike.stars is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

my board has multiple error when i remove the second TD on forumhome_forumbit_level2_post

the error is like this:
Quote:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ')' in /xxxx/xxxx/forum/includes/functions_forumlist.php(395) : eval()'d code on line 20
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:43 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,016
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You should change point 5 to
Code:
	<td class="alt1"><small>$vbphrase[threads]: $forum[threadcount]<br />
	$vbphrase[posts]: $forum[replycount]</small></td>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-02-2008, 05:18 PM
Aerdan Aerdan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Adjustment has been made: thank you!

nike, can you post a copy of the code in the level2_post?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-02-2008, 09:35 PM
CFodder CFodder is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 92
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Excellent, clicked install .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-03-2008, 03:34 AM
nike.stars nike.stars is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

here it is, for your info, i'm using vbeo skin

Code:
<tr align="center">
	<td class="alt2"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/$forum[imageprefix]forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" /></td>
	<td class="alt1Active" align="$stylevar[left]" id="f$forum[forumid]">
		<div>
			<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]f=$forum[forumid]"><strong>$forum[title]</strong></a>
			<if condition="$show['browsers']"><span class="smallfont">(<phrase 1="$forum[browsers]">$vbphrase[x_viewing]</phrase>)</span></if>
		</div>
		<if condition="$show['forumdescription']"><div class="smallfont">$forum[description]</div></if>
		<if condition="$show['forumsubscription']"><div class="smallfont"><strong><a href="subscription.php?$session[sessionurl]do=removesubscription&amp;f=$forum[forumid]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[unsubscribe_from_this_forum]</a></strong></div></if>
		<if condition="$show['subforums']"><div class="smallfont" style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px"><strong>$vbphrase[subforums]</strong>: $forum[subforums]</div></if>
	</td>
	<td class="alt2">$forum[lastpostinfo]</td>
	<td class="alt1">$forum[threadcount] / $forum[replycount]</td>
	<td class="alt2"></td>
	<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">
	<td class="alt1"><div class="smallfont">$forum[moderators]&nbsp;</div></td>
	</if>
</tr>
$childforumbits
I leave that second td empty because if i remove it i got so many errors like above
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08247 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,295KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (9)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete