Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Vbadvanced - Weather Channel Module Details »»
Vbadvanced - Weather Channel Module
Version: 1.00, by boo.3 boo.3 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2005 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 05-18-2005 Last Update: Never Installs: 19
 
No support by the author.

thanks to dsboyce8624 to fixing this code

This code is based around cLord's weather module

All i did was some simple changes to his code and added the weather channels code



What Does It do?

This gives users a field to add the ZIP CODE once added they will see there local weather on your main Vba


1. In your Admincp - User Profile Fields - Goto "Add New User Profile Field" - Choose single line text box - Create new field titled "Zip Code".

2. Admincp - User Profile Fields - Click "User Profile Field Manager" and look for the Zip Code field number - In my forums its 6.

3. Admin CP - Styles & Templates - Style Manager - Add a new template called "adv_portal_weather".

Now put this code into the template:

Code:
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="100%"> 
<tr> 
<td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><b>$vba_options[portal_blockbullet] Weather Conditions</b></span></td> 
</tr> 
<tr> 
<td class="$getbgrow"><span class="smallfont"> 

<if condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']"> 
<span class="smallfont">Registered members can see their local weather forcast here.<br /><br /><phrase 

1="$vboptions[bburl]">$vbphrase[not_a_member_yet_register_now]</phrase></span> 
<else /> 
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[field5] !=''"> 

<script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=GENXV&par=null&unit=0&key=05afc55b05db4d084c1497353310d74b' alt="Weather for $bbuserinfo[field66] provided by that-sucks.net." border="0"></a></script> 

<else />Add your <A HREF="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editprofile">Zip Code</A> to show weather forcast. 
</if> 
</if> 
</span> 
</td> 
</tr> 
</table> 
<br/>
MAKE SURE YOU CHANGE THE $bbuserinfo[field6] TO YOUR FIELD #... say yours is 4 it would be like this $bbuserinfo[field4]

Now Last Step

4. Admincp - vBa CMPS - Add Module

Module Title - Weather
Module Identifier - keep blank
OR Template to Include - weather
Activate - yes
Select the column *Right or Left*

DONE

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:58 PM
Cyricx Cyricx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,144
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Will this work for overseas as well? or just US members?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:03 PM
boo.3 boo.3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can look at overseas forcast, but for the zipcode i'm not sure.

Give it a try and tell me how it goes?

boo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:07 PM
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,287
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ok I installed this and Ive been wanting someone to write this up I couldnt get it to work correctly.

I have one problem now though, my quicklinks doesnt work it just reloads the page. When I shut it off the quicklinks works fine.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:41 PM
boo.3 boo.3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

what do you mean by quick links?

the navbar?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:44 PM
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 413
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The idea is nice, and I used it, but you should tell people that it's attached to your site and that they should register for thier own on http://www.weather.com I also removed the ads.

Great idea though.

Dennis

PS - Since you have some problems (the script seems to be in twice or something.) Here is my template code

PHP Code:
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]class="tborder" width="100%">
<
tr>
<
td class="tcat"><span class="smallfont"><b>$vba_options[portal_blockbulletWeather Conditions</b></span></td>
</
tr>
<
tr>
<
td class="$getbgrow"><span class="smallfont">

<if 
condition="!$bbuserinfo['userid']">
<
span class="smallfont">Registered members can see their local weather forcast here.<br /><br /><phrase 

1
="$vboptions[bburl]">$vbphrase[not_a_member_yet_register_now]</phrase></span>
<else />
<if 
condition="$bbuserinfo[field5] !=''">

<
script src='http://voap.weather.com/weather/oap/$bbuserinfo[field5]?template=GENXV&par=null&unit=0&key=05afc55b05db4d084c1497353310d74b' alt="Weather for $bbuserinfo[field66] provided by that-sucks.net." border="0"></a></script>

<else />
<
A HREF="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editprofile">Add Zip Code</Ato show weather forcast.
</if>
</if>
</
span>
</
td>
</
tr>
</
table>
<
br/> 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:45 PM
boo.3 boo.3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

its fine with me if they run it off my account...

btw how did you remove adds?

would you like to help in fixing some of these problems?

ok updates are being made read top of post
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:50 PM
dsboyce8624 dsboyce8624 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 413
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boo.3
its fine with me if they run it off my account...

btw how did you remove adds?

would you like to help in fixing some of these problems?

ok updates are being made read top of post
I removed the top script statement you had in there.

Then replaced your script (the second one) with the one weather.com gave me. I edited it with the changes you made (the user zip field and so forth) and saved.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:51 PM
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,287
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boo.3
what do you mean by quick links?

the navbar?
Yeah in the navbar..well mine is in the header.

If I enable this and I click on that button it reloads the page. When I shut it off everything works fine again.

I have no idea why that would happen.

**edit** I also have people from overseas, is there a way to get this to work for them?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:52 PM
boo.3 boo.3 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ok i tryed your code and it didn't work for me it said i needed to enter zipcode?

did you get that error
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04267 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,303KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete