Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Remotely Hosted Avatars Details »»
Remotely Hosted Avatars
Version: 1.00, by Dataforce Dataforce is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 02-25-2004 Last Update: Never Installs: 8
 
No support by the author.

Adapted from here

**NO SUPPORT GIVEN**
**USE AT YOUR OWN RISK**

=======

This has been tested, and works on VB3 RC4

not sure about other browsers.

This checks the image dimensions and if its a real image, but does NOT check the file size as the image is not being uploaded to the server, it is eing linked remotely.

Dimension checking is so that it can't screw up layouts.

=======

If A user already has an avatar that is NOTremotely hosted - it will be displayed, else the remotely hsoted avatar will be displayed.

to include the avatar in other places on your site, add an if statement:
PHP Code:
if ($post[avatar2] != '' AND $post[avatar2] != "http://www." AND $post[avatar2] != "http://"  AND $post[avatar2] != "www.") {
        
$post['avatarurl'] = $post[avatar2];

Another alternative (which unfortunatly adds another query) if you only have the userid is:

PHP Code:
$pic $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM `"TABLE_PREFIX ."user` WHERE userid = ".$userid);
$piccy $DB_site->fetch_array($pic) ;
if (
$piccy['avatar2'] != '' AND $piccy['avatar2'] != "http://www." AND $piccy['avatar2'] != "http://"  AND $piccy['avatar2'] != "www.") {
        
$avatarurl $piccy['avatar2'];

(Replace $avatarurl with whatever the variable is for the url of the avatar to show )
=======
Requires:

File Modifications: 6
File Uploads: 0
SQL Queries: 1
Template additions: 0
Template Changes: 0

=======
Enjoy

-DF

Edit: Attatched

Edit: Fixed Small bugs
- Incomplete lines from editing in pico
- if avatar2 was "http://www." for some reason - it displayed no avatar, rather than the old avatar.

Edit: Added Ability for users to still use predefined avatars or no avatar (In last 2 If statements made it set avatar2 to http://www.)

if user enters NONE in the customavatar URL field - it also sets their avatar to no avatar. (Its up to you to change the phrase if you want your members to know - else they can use the "no avatar" setting above as normal)

Works in member.php aswell now

Edit: Fixed more Pico erros and added example of getting avatar url direclty from DB

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 02-26-2004, 08:21 PM
alkatraz alkatraz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 384
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thx!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2004, 12:52 AM
Gio Takahashi's Avatar
Gio Takahashi Gio Takahashi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cape Coral
Posts: 250
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I really could use something like this. Thanks for the hack and nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2004, 02:37 PM
dutchbb dutchbb is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 899
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

finally!! thanks alot
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2004, 02:01 AM
Mr. Natural Mr. Natural is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm pretty ignorant on this query stuff. Is this something I have to run with something like phpadmin? We're setting up a new site and it's going to have a very large membership. We'd kinda like to set this up but I'm unknowing when it comes to mysql and playing around with it. If I could receive a little better explanation on how to do this query at the end of the text file that would be great. Thanks much.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2004, 07:02 AM
tanhadil tanhadil is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

after i run this my users cant upload or use custom avatars at all..when u press upload it resets to Use no avatar option
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2004, 05:49 AM
juanmalaga9 juanmalaga9 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tanhadil
after i run this my users cant upload or use custom avatars at all..when u press upload it resets to Use no avatar option
same here, anyone can fix this hack?
It's really usefull... please
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2004, 04:19 AM
northernstar northernstar is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juanmalaga9
same here, anyone can fix this hack?
It's really usefull... please
Yup, would really love to use this hack, except I ran into the same problem...users can remotely link avatars, but they can't upload anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:51 AM
sv1cec sv1cec is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,091
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by northernstar
Yup, would really love to use this hack, except I ran into the same problem...users can remotely link avatars, but they can't upload anymore.
Can someone who has applied this hack tell me exactly what the problem is with it?

I would like to use it, since I do not like my members to upload avatars to my server (so if the problem is that they can no longer upload, it's not a great loss for me), but I want them to be able to select either one of the server's avatars or an external one.

Is this hack doing this?

Many thanks and kind regards
------
John
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-12-2004, 05:56 AM
Justice's Avatar
Justice Justice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 115
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

this should be a default feature in vBulletin, especially with large boards. Is there no working hack for this? Invision has this feature for heaven's sake
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.14661 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,299KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete