Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 5 Connect Discussion > vB5 Programming Discussions
  #1  
Old 10-19-2012, 08:36 PM
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default wrapping vb5 header footer style around a page.

I know this is pretty early since this is a beta but I have been disecting the code for vb5 some.

Do not see a way like we use to be able to wrap the vb header footer navbar around custom pages like we use to do with vb3 and vb4.

If this is truly the case I think this is going to put an end to alot of the vb mod forums.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2012, 07:09 PM
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Lots of views but anyone know if there is a way to full the header footer around a custom page?

I can grab the header template using the $templater but in vb3 and vb4 $header $footer where universally defined as the full vb header footer with all variables defined etc

--------------- Added [DATE]1350836490[/DATE] at [TIME]1350836490[/TIME] ---------------

This use to be easy in vb3 and vb4 so you could write your own scripts and use the vb header footer.

$header $footer use to always resolve to the header footer of vb and then you just processed replacements.

This is ultra simplified but worked with vb3 and vb4

Code:
<?php

require "global.php";

    $header = process_replacement_vars($header);
    $footer = process_replacement_vars($footer);

$content = "blah blah";

print "$header<br />$content<br />$footer";

?>
As I said simple but grabbing the vb header footer and processing replacements was easy including the global.php etc.

I have been looking at vb5 and see no way to do that
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2012, 06:10 PM
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The vb5 Page Manager seems to be a joke as you can only include data in those little container boxes so that does not work to wrap the vb header and footer around a full featured app/mod with multiple scripts in a directory.

I have successfully made a simple cloned test page with the vb header footer echoing nothing but hello in the middle.

Placing this in say a cloned vb index,php minus the $class defines and then renamed to test.php will print what I need.

Code:
$templater = new vB5_Template('header');
$header = $templater->render();

$templater = new vB5_Template('footer');
$footer = $templater->render();


print "$header<br />HELLO<br />$footer";
The problem is generating the vb header and footer around an external application. vb5 stops you.

Any ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2012, 02:20 AM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My solution is a hybrid of the above; plus some symbolic links to get the file you create to run in the directory where you want it.

Instructions:
  1. For the purpose of these instructions / = docroot /test = directory where we are getting the headers to work
  2. copy /index.php (the vb index.php) to /test and rename to vbheader.php
  3. copy /index.php (the vb index.php) to /test and rename to vbfooter.php
  4. in vbfooter comment out the line:
    PHP Code:
    $app vB5_Frontend_Application::init('config.php'
  5. in vbfooter and vheader comment out:
    PHP Code:
    if ($class == 'vB5_Frontend_Controller_Main')
    {
            
    call_user_func_array(array(&$c'index'), array($controller$method$routing->getArguments()));
    }
    else
    {
            
    call_user_func_array(array(&$c$method), $routing->getArguments());

  6. in vbfooter add the following at the bottom
    PHP Code:
    $templater = new vB5_Template('footer');
    $footer $templater->render();

    echo 
    $footer
  7. in vbheader add the following at the bottom
    PHP Code:
    $templater = new vB5_Template('preheader');
    $preheader $templater->render();
    echo 
    $preheader;

    $templater = new vB5_Template('header');
    $header $templater->render();

    echo 
    $header
  8. soft link config.php, includes and core; in /test execute:
    PHP Code:
    ln -s../core core
    ln 
    -../includes includes
    ln 
    -../config.php config.php 
  9. create /test/test.php as follows
    PHP Code:
    <?
    include_once("vbhead.php");

    // YOUR PHP CODE HERE

    include_once("vbfooter.php");
    ?>
NOTE: Your menu bar at the top will ALWAYS remain as home. There is a work-around for this that have working, le me know if interested.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2013, 10:35 PM
Omegatron Omegatron is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thats actually actually quite what I already did

http://omegatron.net/photos

Basically what I did was make a dumbed down index.php called say test.php and place the dumbed down code into a function I named. I could then return an array with header footer values and in my code simply call the require that file in my application and can load the vb header footer.

Likewise yes you have to softlink or place a modified copy of config.php in your other directory.

Definately note a user friendly as earlier versions and I think the vb5 sales will be reflected as a result.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2013, 01:26 AM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

did you figure out how to get the sub nav menus to appear? mine will not generate on my custom pages..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2013, 01:00 PM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Found issue with 5.0, instructions above modified.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2014, 09:04 PM
AScherff AScherff is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frankfurt / Germany
Posts: 33
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This does not work for VB 5.1 ... ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-20-2014, 04:57 PM
wdwms wdwms is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 59
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AScherff View Post
This does not work for VB 5.1 ... ?
Have not tested it with 5.1 yet. Once my board updates to 5.1 I will test and release any changes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07955 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,250KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete