Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 2.x > vBulletin 2.x Full Releases

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Details »»

Version: , by merk merk is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 08-26-2001 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

Well, after finding 'PluhNews', i thought to myself, why not create something that uses templates, and the $DB_site class?

Well, after a bit of twiddling, i reduced the querys to just one, and Got it working, took a while tho D:

First off, youll need to create 2 templates.

newsbit:
Code:
Posted By <a href="$forumspath/member.php?s=&action=getinfo&userid=$newsarray[postuserid]"><b>$newsarray[postusername]</b></a> at  <i>$dateposted</i>
</center>

<blockquote></a>$cookedthread</blockquote><center><a href="$forumspath/showthread.php?s=&threadid=$newsarray[threadid]"><b>$newsarray[replycount]</b> $commenttext</a> Last comment was by <b>$newsarray[lastposter]</b></a></center>

<hr noshade height="1" width="60%">
This is just example code, basically the same as PluhNews' Code, i dont have time to make it a bit mroe spicey, but im sure you can work it out.

shownews:
Code:
Your Header Code Here

$newsbits

Your Footercode here.
And finally, create news.php in the forum root directory, and put this in it:
PHP Code:
<? 
error_reporting(7);
$templatesused='header,headinclude,phpheader,newsbit,shownews';
$loadbirthdays=1;
$loadmaxusers=1;

//Configuration Options
//What is the ID of your News forum?
$newsforums = 107;

//How many news items should be displayed?
$newsitems = 10;

//Path to your forums directory (leave out trailing slash)
$forumspath = "/forum";

require('./global.php');

$newsquery = "SELECT thread.*, post.*";
$newsquery .= " FROM thread,post";
$newsquery .= " WHERE post.threadid=thread.threadid";
$newsquery .= " AND thread.forumid=$newsforums";
$newsquery .= " GROUP BY thread.threadid";
$newsquery .= " ORDER BY thread.dateline DESC";

$news=$DB_site->query($newsquery);

while ($newsarray=$DB_site->fetch_array($news)) {

        $dateposted = vbdate("jS F Y, H:i",$newsarray[dateline]);

if ($newsarray[replycount]==1) {
    $commenttext = "Comment";
}
else {
    $commenttext = "Comments";
}

    $cookedthread=bbcodeparse2($newsarray[pagetext],"1","1","1","1");
    $test1 .= "test";
    eval("\$newsbits .= \"".gettemplate("newsbit")."\";");

}

eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("shownews")."\");");

?>
Thats basically it really!.

Im sure there are a few little errors in my coding, im a bit rusty with PHP

Next i plan on making a 'column' system(ie http://fortress.challenge-au.com) And actually, its for that site

<edit>
Im not sure if this supports multiple forums. Some feedback maybe?

Also- maybe there may be some point in using replacment variables in this, but hey, i couldnt be bothered
</edit>

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 08-27-2001, 02:00 PM
jasoncorn
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thank you! This is perfect. Installs in 1 minute and works well. Exactly what I needed.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-27-2001, 05:56 PM
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Posts: 710
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can we see a demo site?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2001, 07:31 PM
DjSao
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

very nice hack, it works perfectly
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2001, 09:42 PM
merk merk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 601
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Excuse the content of the actual posts..

(Nothing bad, but nothing thats really useful


http://www.opticpower.net/forum/news.php
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2001, 06:14 AM
JJR512's Avatar
JJR512 JJR512 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Posts: 710
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK, how can I make it so the newest thread is at the top, rather than the bottom?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2001, 06:15 AM
DjSao
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hey just wondering about one thing, i added the threads title to the newspage, but i'm wondering if its possible to make the title capital letters only, like some kind of line of code that replaces all letters in the title to capitals.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2001, 08:04 AM
merk merk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 601
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JJR512
OK, how can I make it so the newest thread is at the top, rather than the bottom?
I get this already-

However, i think i forgot to add a touch of code.

To change it, you need to modify the code block:
Code:
$newsquery = "SELECT thread.*, post.*";
$newsquery .= " FROM thread,post";
$newsquery .= " WHERE post.threadid=thread.threadid";
$newsquery .= " AND thread.forumid=107";
$newsquery .= " GROUP BY thread.threadid";
to

Code:
$newsquery = "SELECT thread.*, post.*";
$newsquery .= " FROM thread,post";
$newsquery .= " WHERE post.threadid=thread.threadid";
$newsquery .= " AND thread.forumid=107";
$newsquery .= " GROUP BY thread.threadid";
$newsquery .= " ORDER BY thread.dateline DESC";
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2001, 08:07 AM
merk merk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 601
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DjSao
Hey just wondering about one thing, i added the threads title to the newspage, but i'm wondering if its possible to make the title capital letters only, like some kind of line of code that replaces all letters in the title to capitals.
In the While statment,

Add BEFORE (about line 41)
PHP Code:
eval("\$newsbits .= \"".gettemplate("newsbit")."\";"); 
PHP Code:
$uppercasenews strtoupper($newsarray[title]); 
Then, to reference the uppercase title, instead of using $newsarray[title] in the newsbit template, change it to $uppercasenews.

Btw, i havent tested this, but it should work in theory
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2001, 09:26 AM
DjSao
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

thanks, worked great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04145 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,285KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete