Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2011, 12:56 PM
vBNinja's Avatar
vBNinja vBNinja is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Force WWW with htaccess

hello


i want to force www on my forums so that if its typed without the "www" it automatically adds it

my forum not on the main domain, it is a subdomain so the code needs to be made to work within the directory where my forum is on

my forum is in a directory called "forums"

so basically: http://mysite.com/forums

i want everything within the that directory to automatically get the "www"

Can someone please help me


Thank You
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2011, 02:41 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

google is your friend (as is search since this has been covered many times before)

http://davidwalsh.name/no-www-using-htaccess-file

(examples for with or without www included in above link.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2011, 03:06 PM
vBNinja's Avatar
vBNinja vBNinja is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ive tried those before but it would redirect:

http://mysite.com/forums/forum.php
to
http://www.mysite.com/forum.php

(leaving out my directory)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2011, 03:14 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you are having problems, please post *exactly* what you used and then tell us the *exact* problem you are having with that code.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2011, 05:03 PM
vBNinja's Avatar
vBNinja vBNinja is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is what i used and it just gave me the page not found error

Code:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.mydomain.com/foruns/$1
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}/forums/$1 [R=301,L]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-16-2011, 08:49 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

foruns? That isn't going to work. mydomain.com won't work either. That also doesn't look like the link I posted. I use something that looks very much like the stuff in the link I posted and it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-16-2011, 09:18 PM
Valter Valter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 2,432
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This works for me:

Code:
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine ON
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]
Replace both instances of "domain.com" with your real domain.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2011, 01:12 AM
vBNinja's Avatar
vBNinja vBNinja is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valter View Post
This works for me:

Code:
Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine ON
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]
Replace both instances of "domain.com" with your real domain.
i know that works only if your forums is installed in the root of your domain

my forum is in a directory within my domain

this is similar to my issue:
http://www.vbseo.com/f4/add-www-via-...-folder-42567/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2011, 05:18 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My forum is not installed in the root and that htaccess works fine for me. If you are using vbseo, then you will need to ask them for help with the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-17-2011, 09:54 PM
vBNinja's Avatar
vBNinja vBNinja is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 239
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can you post your exact code so i can just replace it with my domain

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07956 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,248KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete