Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Using PHPadsnew 2 with Vbulletin 3.
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774

Employee of Digital Media Graphix of Knoxville TN, currently developing a new framework / CMS

Knoxville TN
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline 01-30-2005, 10:00 PM

The following are some tips on using these two programs together, based on my own experience. It's expected that you know how to use phpadsnew 2 to set up ads and generate invocation code.

PHP Invocation
The first tip is how to use php invocation code. Using javascript is possible, but not all browsers support javascript and, in my experience, using php is faster.

The php invocation code phpadsnew generates will look something like this...

PHP Code:
<?php
    
if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
        if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
        echo 
$phpAds_raw['html'];
    }
?>
Place it in your PHPINCLUDE_START template, but omit the final echo statement and the <?php ?> tags. It will look like this...

PHP Code:
    if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
        if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
    } 
Now, to place the add, put the variable $phpAds_raw[html] in any template that you want that ad to appear (usually your header). Remember to omit the '' marks when placing the variable in a normal template - therefore $phpAds_raw['html'] becomes $phpAds_raw[html]

If you have multiple zones, you can string these together. On EN World we have a zone that only appears on our vbadvanced news page. On those pages we call the view_raw function an additional time for the extra zone (view_raw is the function that actually calls up the ad - the rest of the code initializes phpadsnew). Here's our code, as an example of a 2 zone system.

PHP Code:
if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) 
{
    if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) 
    {
        
$phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
        if (
defined('VBA_PORTAL'))
        {
            
$phpAds_context2 = array();
            
$phpAds_raw2 view_raw ('zone:3'0'''''0'$phpAds_context2);
        }
    }

Running Maintenance.php from the scheduled task manager
Ads new's maintenance.php file needs to run on a regular basis for it to perform correctly. You can invoke it from your scheduled task manager if you wish. If you do, I'd advise applying the following mod to the code of the maintenance.php file.

Open it and go to the ending ?> mark. Right about it add this.

PHP Code:
log_cron_action('PHP Ads New Maintenance Complete'$nextitem); 
And you're done. The file can now log it's cron action with vbulletin's cron manager. Note that if you make this change you will be unable to call the maintenance.php file without vbulletin since it will trigger a fatal error (call to undefined function). Also, there's a glitch in phpadsnew - when vbulletin invokes maintenance.php it somehow forgets that it was ever invoked. The log files both in vbulletin and in phpadsnew itself speak differently, but phpadsnew continues to echo a message saying the maintenance.php script hasn't been ran which can be ignored.

Any other tips/comments/questions welcomed.

PHP Ads New 2 is at http://www.phpadsnew
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-02-2005, 12:43 PM
mikexxx mikexxx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there a manual to do this in 3.5 with the hook system? The phpinclude_start is not in the vbulletin 3.5 version, but I can’t get it to work with hook > global_start.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-19-2005, 04:55 AM
Sidewindr Sidewindr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 174
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This appears to be broken now with phpAdsNew v 2.0.6 and vBulletin 3.0.7

Get errors regarding ..

Quote:
Database error in vBulletin 3.0.7:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT forum.forumid, lastpost, lastposter, lastthread, lastthreadid, lasticonid, threadcount, replycount
FROM forum AS forum

mysql error: Table 'ls1ads.forum' doesn't exist

mysql error number: 1146

Date: Friday 19th of August 2005 03:51:53 PM
Script: http://www.ls1.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=43313
Referer: http://www.ls1.com.au/
Username: Unregistered
IP Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
The table 'ls1ads.forum' does not exist and the phpAdsNew database is called ls1ads and the forum DB is called ls1 so it appears the new version of phpAdsNew is screwing with something where vBulletin is concerned.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 09-09-2005, 02:26 AM
flstreetscene flstreetscene is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I get the following error with vb 3.5.0 RC3

Code:
Database error in vBulletin 3.5.0 Release Candidate 3:

Invalid SQL:

		SELECT
			user.username, (user.options & 512) AS invisible, user.usergroupid,
			session.userid, session.inforum, session.lastactivity,
			IF(displaygroupid=0, user.usergroupid, displaygroupid) AS displaygroupid
		FROM session AS session
		LEFT JOIN user AS user ON(user.userid = session.userid)
		WHERE session.lastactivity > 1126235465
		ORDER BY username ASC;

MySQL Error  : Table 'florida_phpads.session' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Date         : Thursday, September 8th 2005 @ 11:26:05 PM
Script       : http://www.floridastreetscene.com/testforums/index.php?
Referrer     : http://www.floridastreetscene.com/testforums/admincp/index.php?do=head
IP Address   : 68.223.209.100
Username     : zeno
Classname    : vb_database
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 09-09-2005, 02:39 AM
Pulsorock Pulsorock is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 111
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That used to happen to me too. The fix is found goin to Settings > Main Settings > In Database optimisations, check the option that reads: "Use database compatibility mode"
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 09-09-2005, 03:43 AM
flstreetscene flstreetscene is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pulsorock
That used to happen to me too. The fix is found goin to Settings > Main Settings > In Database optimisations, check the option that reads: "Use database compatibility mode"
Thanks, you PulsoROCK! :speechless:
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 09-09-2005, 03:50 AM
Pulsorock Pulsorock is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 111
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flstreetscene
Thanks, you PulsoROCK! :speechless:
You are welcome...
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 09-09-2005, 12:44 PM
Chris 96 WS6 Chris 96 WS6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 49
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

So how do I run 2 zones on one page? I have set up the 2nd zone and put the invocation code in phpincludes_start...but what tag do I put on the page (footer)? Right now I have the same tag on both places and so the zone 1 ad shows in both places.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 09-09-2005, 02:08 PM
mikexxx mikexxx is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just put $phpAds_raw2[html] in any template
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:15 AM
flstreetscene flstreetscene is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

question:

Right now I have the '$phpAds_raw[html]' in my navbar template. How come when vbulletin message comes up (you just logged out, or you dont have permission to this page) the banner disappears? What do I edit so that it's visible there too?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 09-18-2005, 08:29 AM
kafi kafi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 379
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PHP Code:
PhpAdsNew

Warning
Cannot modify header information headers already sent by (output started at /home/www/>>>>>>/www/includes/adminfunctions.php:222in /home/www/>>>>>>/www/adserver/libraries/lib-cache.inc.php on line 16

Warning
Cannot modify header information headers already sent by (output started at /home/www/>>>>>>/www/includes/adminfunctions.php:222in /home/www/>>>>>>/www/adserver/libraries/lib-cache.inc.php on line 17

Warning
Cannot modify header information headers already sent by (output started at /home/www/>>>>>>/www/includes/adminfunctions.php:222in /home/www/>>>>>>/www/adserver/libraries/lib-cache.inc.php on line 18

Done 
I am getting this errror after manual run of PhpAdsNew cron job on Vbulletin.

Please advise.
Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04522 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,328KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete