Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Run your vBulletin on your PC
Deaths
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 679

 

Europe, Belgium
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Deaths Deaths is offline 04-06-2005, 10:00 PM

I know there is a guide like this out already, and it's created by TECK.
However, his guide is outdated, and the download links are no longer valid.

So, I though I'd tell you how I did it

Please do NOT distribute this guide outside of vBulletin.org! If you wish to put it on your site, contact me by PM!

Here are a couple of simple steps on how to run your vB on your PC:

Installing Apache, PHP, MySQL, phpMyAdmin, etc...
  • Download the newest version of PHPTriad (http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ckage_id=9390).
    • This is a very easy to use all-in-one pack.
  • Run the .exe, and let the installer do the job for you.
  • Now go to C:\apache\mysql\bin\, and run winmysqladmin.
    • If, and it probably will, it asks you for a password, enter root as password, and password as password.
  • Goto your start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Stop Apache
  • Now go to start menu > PHPtriad > Apache Console > Start Apache
    • Note: Do NOT select "Restart Apache".
  • Now, Apache will pop up in a new window.
  • Simply minimize it.
    • Do NOT close it!
  • Now, open up c:\apache\htdocs\phpmyadmin\config.inc.php.
    • Find: $cfgServers[1]['password'] = '';
    • Between the '' tags, enter "password" WITHOUT the quotes
    • Save & Close
  • Now, your "webpage" is available at http://localhost!

Ok, nowthat we've installed and configured everything, we can start with the actuall vBulletin install!

Installing your vBulletin
  • Look at your task menu, and right click the traffic light icon.
  • Click "Show me"
  • Now, go to the databases tab.
  • Right click on the "Test" database
  • Click "Create Database".
  • In the window which just opened, enter the exact name which you gave to your online database. (If you're installing a new vBulletin forum on your local PC, you may call it anything you want. Do remember what you call it though).
  • Click "Create the Database" once you've entered a name.
  • Click "OK" on the error box which just poped up.
  • Now, press cancel, and it should bring you back to the databases tab.
  • Now, you have 2 options.
    • Follow these steps if you want to install a NEW vBULLETIN, if not, simply scroll down.
      • Download a new vBulletin copy from the members area.
      • Extract it to: c:\apache\htdocs\forum
      • Open up c:\apache\htdocs\forum\includes\config.php.
        • Set the the servername to "localhost" (without quotes)
        • Set NO dbusername and NO dbuserpassword!
        • Set the database name to the name of the database you created a couple of steps above.
        • Now install vBulletin, and follow vBulletin's steps.
    • Follow these steps if you want to install your online vBulletin Board on your PC.
      • Download your vBulletin files from your FTP
      • Download you Database from your host.
      • Rename your database file to vbulletin.sql
      • Go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin
      • Go to the database you created a couple of steps ago.
      • Click the "import" tab.
      • Find this text: "Or Location of the textfile :" (without quotes)
      • Bellow it, there should be a "browse" button.
      • Click it.
      • Browse to your vbulletin.sql file, and select it
      • Now, click the "Go" button. ONLY CLICK THIS ONCE
      • Get yourself a cup of coffee, because this might take a while.
      • When its done, it will most likely say "No tables found". Just ignore that.
  • Go to http://localhost/forum/admincp
  • Log in
    • If you can NOT log in, follow these steps.
      • Go to http://localhost/phpmyadmin, and open your database.
      • Open up the table "datastore" (BROWSE it)
      • Open up "options" (inside the database)
      • Find (where XXXX is your cookie domain you set when your board was online.
        Code:
        cookiedomain";s:0:"XXXX"
      • REMOVE the cookiedomain text. sothat it will look like this:
        Code:
        cookiedomain";s:0:""
      • Go back to your database.
      • Now browse the SETTING table.
      • Find the "cookiedomain" field.
      • Edit it, and empty the "value" box.
  • Thats it! You're done!

IF IT SAYS THE DATABASE IS EMPTY, JUST IGNORE THAT! FOLLOW THE REST OF THE STEPS, AND YOU WILL SEE IT WORKS!

You can now start playing around with your offline vBulletin copy, without having to worry about your members
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 08-05-2005, 11:46 PM
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,671
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hIBEES
I've followed all the instructions (I think)

When i goto "create database" it says "The server must be connected" :nervous: :nervous:

I reinstalled, got it now :squareeyed:

arghHHHHHHH now get:


Welcome to phpMyAdmin 2.2.3

Error

MySQL said:

Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client
1. You are running an outdated version of phpMyAdmin. I suggest you upgrade to the latest version (2.3.1-pl1 last I checked).
2. To fix that error, go to mysql.com and download MySQL Administrator.
From that program, you can login to the root account WITHOUT a password, then edit the root account and set a password. Editing accounts in MySQL Administrator is pretty easy, you'll find it. Then close the program, reopening it and this time use the password you just set to login to the root account again. If this succeeds, you can now run vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:09 AM
clearchannel clearchannel is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 100
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can someone tell me what version of Apache, PHP and MySql this program uses? I could not find it on the site.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09-25-2005, 11:23 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Which program?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09-25-2005, 12:40 PM
Feckie (Roger)'s Avatar
Feckie (Roger) Feckie (Roger) is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Dublin Eire
Posts: 392
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I Use Appserv

AppServ 2.5.4a Packages
Apache 2.0.54
MySQL 4.1.12a
PHP 5.0.4
phpMyAdmin-2.6.2pl1
MyODBC-3.51.11-2




AddOns for AppServ


appserv-AddOns-drupal-4.6.1.exe Web Blog script.
appserv-AddOns-gallery-1.5.exe Gallery on Web just cool !!!
appserv-AddOns-Mambo-4.5.2.2.exe Mambo Mambo Mambo.
appserv-AddOns-Moodle-1.5.exe Moodle E-Learning System.
appserv-AddOns-phpBB-2.0.15.exe Hot Hit with phpBB.
appserv-AddOns-PHP-Nuke-7.7.exe For Nuker !!
appserv-AddOns-Torrent-Tracker-200505051951.exe Torrent Tracker.
appserv-AddOns-WordPress-1.5.1.2.exe Web Blog.
appserv-AddOns-ZendOptimizer-2.5.10.exe Zend Optimizer 2.5.10 AddOns for AppServ Only !!

(Here)
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:17 PM
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 6,504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've just done this and if I got to localhost/phpmyadmin I get the following error

Quote:
Error

MySQL said:

Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)
I didn't get asked to set the username and password either.

I'm running Win2k, if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-16-2005, 03:58 AM
apfparadise apfparadise is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 110
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have a pretty basic question on this. I installed the package from the original post. It says to download the VB package, change the config.php file, and then install VB. But the only way to install VB is to run the install.php file, right? But it does not recognize php as a runnable format. Isn't that what it was supposed to do? I am trying to do a brand new install of 3.5, add all the hacks (new versions, including the skin) of my current online site, and then migrate over using the database.

Is that even possible?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-26-2005, 03:35 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just a quick question. Do you have to have your websites located in the htdocs folder OR is there a way to install the package on a different drive? Reason I ask, is I don't really want my site on my C: drive just in case it crashes and I have to reinstall the OS.

Thanks Death. I have tried doing this several times and have never got it to work individulally on my home pc.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-30-2005, 01:15 AM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I guess this thread is dead anymore. what a shame.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-30-2005, 04:45 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just set the Webroot for your webserver to a different location. What webserver are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 12-30-2005, 02:03 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Marco,

I am using the following:
AppServ 2.5.4
- Apache 2.0.54
- MySQL 5.0.15
- PHP 5.0.4
- phpMyAdmin-2.6.2-pl1

I have finally got everything working with the exception of PhotoPost. The Features and Randoms seem to be working fine on the main interface of the forums, but when I click on the Gallery menu choice, I get the following errors:

Code:
Warning: main(./global.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in W:\AppServ\www\gallery\header-inc.php on line 61

Fatal error: main() [function.require]: Failed opening required './global.php' (include_path='.;C:\php5\pear') in W:\AppServ\www\gallery\header-inc.php on line 61
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08193 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,303KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete