Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Force Standard Editor for IE10 Users (Editor Workaround) for VB 4.x by BOP5 Details »»
Force Standard Editor for IE10 Users (Editor Workaround) for VB 4.x by BOP5
Version: 1.00, by BirdOPrey5 (Senior Member) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Mini Mods - Version: 4.x.x Rating:
Released: 04-02-2013 Last Update: Never Installs: 61
Uses Plugins
Re-useable Code  
No support by the author.

NO LONGER NECESSARY IN VB 4.2.1 or above.

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5 / Qapla.com

See Post #12 for a different solution, it lets the editor work in IE10

If you are an Admin of a VB4 site with the ckeditor (all versions since 4.1.4 I believe) you probably know that the VB4 editor is not compatible with Internet Explorer 10 (IE10) web browsers.

As IE10 becomes more popular this is a bigger issue for site administrators.

The good news is the "Standard Editor" in VB 4.x does work, it is only the WYSIWYG editor with the problem.

This simple singe plugin mod will force IE10 users, and only IE10 users to the Standard Editor no matter what they have chosen in their settings.

This should prevent complaints from users about the editor not working properly.

We hope this issue will get fixed in a future VB4 version, maybe 4.2.1, maybe later, at that time you can remove this product.

No documentation, no settings, just import the XML file and it is active, disable or remove the product and it stops working.

Installation Instructions:

Log into your Admin CP
Go to Add/Import Product under "Plugins & Products" on the side menu.
Click the "Choose File" button to find the attached product xml file.
Press "Import"
Done.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated. :up:
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

File Type: xml product-ie10editorfixbop5.xml (1.4 KB, 264 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
7 благодарности(ей) от:
AusPhotography, djbaxter, f4vn, Hostboard, nacaruncr, SuperDave1971, TheLastSuperman

Comments
  #52  
Old 05-04-2016, 09:43 AM
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,789
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
Edge has changed since I posted the original bit of code, the following is how the plugin needs to look now to force edge to work correctly.

Code:
//This plugin checks if the user is using Edge, if he or she is, it forces use of the standard editor

global $vbulletin;

//if(!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1))
{
  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Edge'))
    $vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1; //This is the standard editor
}
Thanks ..

I'll re-edit the change I made and substitute what you have above..

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05-04-2016, 10:42 AM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

There doesn tseem much point to the if(!is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 1)) statement since you have it commented out.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 05-04-2016, 11:54 AM
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 339
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05-04-2016, 02:26 PM
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,789
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
I Just copy and pasted it from the modified original.
Ok, now I'm confused ...

Do I leave the line commented out, or make it executable?

Thanks...

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 05-04-2016, 03:14 PM
z3r0's Avatar
z3r0 z3r0 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 339
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 05-05-2016, 08:57 AM
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,789
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z3r0 View Post
You can just leave it or delete it, it makes no difference.
Thanks ..

Left it remarked out.. don't know if it's working or not.. time will tell with Edge members of our site .

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-06-2016, 12:39 PM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I've been told by another forum member that simply adding this to the headinclude template will let the WYSIWYG editor work fine by telling IE10 to display as IE9.

Code:
<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=9" />
I don't have immediate access to IE10 to test it, but if anyone wants to test, uninstall or disable this mod first.
Yes, that will work, but if you use Async Ads -the will not Render, thus losing revenue.

update: Trident must be updated to 7.0 rather than 6.0 to work

Code:
//This plugin checks if the user is using Edge, if he or she is, it forces use of the standard editor

global $vbulletin;


{
  if (strpos($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'], 'Trident/7.0'))
    $vbulletin->userinfo['showvbcode'] = 1; //This is the standard editor
}
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-04-2020, 09:01 PM
edgeless edgeless is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 115
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, this mod works fine. But does anyone know how to get the attachment dialog in IE11(+) to indicate the number of files that have been selected for upload (as is shown on other browsers)?

I'm attaching two screenshots, each with 2 files selected. The first is from Chrome 79.0 and the next is from IE11 (Trident 7.0). While the IE11 upload sessions WILL allow multiple attachments and work well otherwise, they fail to display the selected file counts and their dialog rendering looks a bit funky. It's not really a biggy but I'm wondering if anyone knows of a fix?


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05399 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,307KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete