Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[vBulletin 4] Simple way of including an external PHP file
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 170

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Crimm Crimm is offline 05-12-2010, 10:00 PM

There are other articles out there on variables, templates, etc on vBulletin 4. This is a simple example of including an external PHP files like you used to be able to do here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...P-or-HTML-File

Thanks to this Blog post by David IB http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...s-to-templates and this article by cellarius https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078

I have figured out it's only a simple extra step.

Step 1: Create a new plugin
  • Hook Location: What area of the forums you want this variable to appear. Don't know where? Use global_start
  • Title: Give it a title
  • Execution order: Your choice
  • Plugin PHP Code:

    Code:
    ob_start();
      require_once('LOCATION OF EXTERNAL FILE');
      $php_include = ob_get_contents();
    ob_end_clean();
    vB_Template::preRegister('TEMPLATE YOU ARE USING',array('php_include' => $php_include));

Step 2: You will have to figure out these two entries for yourself: LOCATION OF EXTERNAL FILE & Hook Location

To give you an example of what you should use is that if you want to display your external PHP file on your Forum's Home. Then replace these two with these values:

Hook Location with forumhome_start
TEMPLATE YOU ARE USING with FORUMHOME

Keep in mind that global_start will still be acceptable, but it's extra loading time where it's not needed. Therefore choosing the optimum hook location is better for your performance overall.

Step 3: Visit the Style Manager -> TEMPLATE YOU ARE USING and place the variable in your style where you want it. You will have to use the new format.

Code:
{vb:raw php_include}
That's it - Pretty simple; see?

Notes, If you want to:

Include this PHP file in multiple templates then preRegister it for the multiple templates:

Code:
vB_Template::preRegister('TEMPLATE YOU ARE USING',array('php_include' => $php_include));
vB_Template::preRegister('TEMPLATE YOU ARE USING 2',array('php_include' => $php_include));
Thanks to David IB again.

I'm still learning as I go with vb4, but if I learn some more notes to add... I'll drop by here.

I hope that helps some one out there!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 03-05-2011, 06:43 PM
drjamescook drjamescook is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I am using this hack to include a few php pages as it is intended. Everything works great, other than I cannot get form submits to work. I get a "Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing."

I've looked around on the forum trying to find an answer, but I can't seem to find one. How can I correct this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 03-12-2011, 09:28 AM
Baylyns Baylyns is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hello,

I'm on 4.1.2 and I used the code mentioned above to vb 4

PHP Code:
ob_start();
   include(
'/var/www/eo/www/dix_dernieres.php');
   
$includedphp_main ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

$preRegister['includedphp_main'] = $includedphp_main;
 
vB_Template:: PreRegister('navbar'$preRegister); 
in the navbar template I added:

PHP Code:
{vb:raw includedphp_main
By activating the module, I get a blank page.
Or is the problem?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 03-14-2011, 05:47 PM
nick_h nick_h is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can i put a VB variable in that php file such as {vb:raw totalthreads} ? I tried but not sucess
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 03-14-2011, 06:48 PM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nick_h View Post
Can i put a VB variable in that php file such as {vb:raw totalthreads} ? I tried but not sucess
In a plugin or php file it would be $totalthreads. The {vb:raw ...} is only for use when displaying contents in a template.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03-28-2011, 10:23 AM
Muffin89 Muffin89 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I could also use some help on including php file into a template.

I have a template with an header, a navbar, the forum/content, footer and a fixed right bar. I wan't to insert this php code(for now) into the right bar:

userbox.php
PHP Code:
<?php
echo '<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]">Logga ut</a>';
?>
userbox plugin:
PHP Code:
ob_start();
include(
'userbox.php');
$userboxinsertob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
vB_Template::preRegister('footer',array('php_include' => $php_include)); 
Inside the footer template I have made a div that is fixed and I call the plugin with this code:
PHP Code:
{vb:raw userboxinsert
But it doesn't output my desired string.

The HOOK is parse_templates.

When i in the plugin write echo $userboxinsert; the userbox get's inserted but at the top of the screen, so the link works.

Would be very happy if someone could help me with this problem!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 04-07-2011, 06:20 AM
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 447
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Total programming n00b here... asking for help


I just came here find out how to get a php-script to run, and was really glad to see you guys already had a page on the issue.

My idea is fairly simple:

I picked up a rotator script (php) and will upload to it's own directory (/rotator). I intend to have several copies (e.g. games.php, religion.php, cars.php, gadgets.php) and each script points to a different sub-directory, e.g. /games, /religion, /cars, /gadgets, etc.)

From there, in the last post of every thread I want to call it but will use an IF THEN to dictate which version it calls.

(e.g. IF forum=12 then call cars.php, else if forum=15 then call gadgets.php)
<vb:if condition="$GLOBALS['forumid'] == 63 OR $GLOBALS['forumid'] == 54 OR $GLOBALS['forumid'] == 56">
[not sure what to put here in order to call 'games.php']
<vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$GLOBALS['forumid'] == 3">
[not sure what to put here to call 'cars.php']
<vb:if>

This in turn should then reflect relevant files for specific forum content.

I suspect the IF THEN will be placed in the template 'ad_thread_last_post_content' (or via the Advertising/Manage Ads script within ACP).

I'm uncertain what hook I could use for this (these would only show on SHOWTHREAD templates - or is postbit_legacy as it's only in the last post?). I will later be adding a similar function to the bottom of specific forums to show different rotator scripts (different sized affiliates).


Any chance of a bit advice for getting this off the ground?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04-07-2011, 10:17 AM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

When you say "call" do you mean "display"? Is cars.php a page you can view with content if you browse to it?

If so I think what you are looking for is an IFRAME... the basic syntax would be:

Code:
<IFRAME SRC="http://domain.com/rotator/cars/cars.php" WIDTH="100%" HEIGHT="50"></IFRAME>
That would embed the output from the php file into your existing page.

You can search google for more options on the IFRAME tag.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 04-07-2011, 11:20 AM
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 447
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Although an iframe would suffice (thanks, I hadn't even given it a thought), I was under the impression I could an external php file from within a template..?

I'd prefer to do it as a display/call than within an iframe (which would not show to some browsers).

In worst case scenario though, i'll go with an iframe.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 04-07-2011, 11:44 AM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I just don't know what you mean by "call" a php file then... You can't do that from a template. You could do it from a plugin but again you're not "calling" a file. You can call a function in a file, but if you want to display output from the php file in a specific location you need to make a template for that file.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 04-07-2011, 08:10 PM
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: England
Posts: 447
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I just don't know what you mean by "call" a php file then... You can't do that from a template. You could do it from a plugin but again you're not "calling" a file. You can call a function in a file, but if you want to display output from the php file in a specific location you need to make a template for that file.
I may be using wrong terminology when i say "call"... I'm thinking old BASIC programming when you would call a subroutine.

Anyway, my idea is to:
1) breakdown forum into separate categories (e.g. religion, cars, games, etc.)

2) in the last post, 'refer to' a specific script.
2a) e.g. religion forum would refer to a script renamed as 'religion.php'
2b) cars forum would refer to a script renamed as 'cars.php'

3) the scripts within each above file would be the same, but refer to different text files.

4) the cars forum & script would then extract data from the text file for cars, which would ultimately show to the end-user as a affiliate image/link specific to cars.
4b) exactly the same as 4) but with religion context instead, so 'christian stuff' would show up in the religion forum (and other religions too).

so when a guest comes to my forum and visits the car section, they'll see links and/or images in the final post which will be pertinent to cars... if they swap over to the religion forum (or games or anything else) they will see the last post giving links/images relevant to those forums too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05318 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,342KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete