Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »»
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 10-09-2005 Last Update: Never Installs: 237
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:

HTML Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0">
$spacer_open 
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px"> 

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center"> 
<tr> 
	<td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td> 
</tr> 
<tr> 
	<td class="alt1" align="center">

<!-- ad code goes here -->

	</td> 
</tr> 
</table> 

</div> 
$spacer_close 
</if>

Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:23 PM
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 95
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question, but nonetheless this hack only works in the PM's section with my site and nowhere else, and like you said it is messing up with the recipients name, it's adding an extra space and a ; to it.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:24 PM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
How can I get this to not show in the PM's???

For some reason it is screwing up the page formatting when viewing private messages.
Sorry this is one I didn't see as only guests on visordown.com have the ads turned on.

This problem can be fixed with a simple template change. I've adjusted the code listed above to include the additional condition: $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:25 PM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question
Awwwwww

Copy/paste the code you've put in your template and I'll try to help.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:28 PM
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 661
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've installed and no-one seems to care about my question, but nonetheless this hack only works in the PM's section with my site and nowhere else, and like you said it is messing up with the recipients name, it's adding an extra space and a ; to it.
Just a shot in the dark, however, do you have the correct postbit template changed? Appears you are using the postbit_legacy so did you change that template?? The code goes at the very end.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:32 PM
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 95
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
Just a shot in the dark, however, do you have the correct postbit template changed? Appears you are using the postbit_legacy so did you change that template?? The code goes at the very end.
I tried it both in Postbit and Postbit_legacy and it was all the same. It does not show up. I am using a test account I created and my normal admin account and the only place I see it is in PM's
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:32 PM
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 661
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Sorry this is one I didn't see as only guests on visordown.com have the ads turned on.

This problem can be fixed with a simple template change. I've adjusted the code listed above to include the additional condition: $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0
Hey man, sorry but that errors out...won't even let me save the template with the new code?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:33 PM
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kennesaw, GA
Posts: 95
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Awwwwww

Copy/paste the code you've put in your template and I'll try to help.

I've placed it at the end right after

<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if>
<!-- / post #$post[postid] -->

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount']">
$spacer_open 
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px"

<
table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]border="0" width="100%" align="center"
<
tr
    <
td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td
</
tr
<
tr
    <
td class="alt1" align="center">

<
script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client "removed for obvious reasons";
google_ad_width 728;
google_ad_height 90;
google_ad_format "728x90_as";
google_ad_type "text_image";
google_ad_channel ="";
google_color_border "191933";
google_color_bg "333366";
google_color_link "99CC33";
google_color_url "FFCC00";
google_color_text "FFFFFF";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
  
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</
script>

    </
td
</
tr
</
table

</
div
$spacer_close 
</if> 
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:41 PM
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 249
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtremeoff-road
Hey man, sorry but that errors out...won't even let me save the template with the new code?
Are you using the full conditional as per the template mod at the top of the page?

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0"
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:41 PM
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 661
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeperImage
I've placed it at the end right after

<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->

<if condition="$show['spacer']">
</div>
$spacer_close
</if>
<!-- / post #$post[postid] -->

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount']">
$spacer_open 
<div style="padding:0px 0px $stylevar[cellpadding]px 0px"

<
table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]border="0" width="100%" align="center"
<
tr
    <
td class="thead" align="left">Sponsored Links</td
</
tr
<
tr
    <
td class="alt1" align="center">

<
script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client "removed for obvious reasons";
google_ad_width 728;
google_ad_height 90;
google_ad_format "728x90_as";
google_ad_type "text_image";
google_ad_channel ="";
google_color_border "191933";
google_color_bg "333366";
google_color_link "99CC33";
google_color_url "FFCC00";
google_color_text "FFFFFF";
//--></script>
<script type="text/javascript"
  
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</
script>

    </
td
</
tr
</
table

</
div
$spacer_close 
</if> 
I wonder if that threaded view above your forums is messing it up? Looking at the code nothing really stood out as wrong??

You already installed the plugin right? Is it active?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 10-11-2005, 07:44 PM
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 661
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Are you using the full conditional as per the template mod at the top of the page?

PHP Code:
<if condition="$GLOBALS['adsense_position'] == $post['postcount'] && $GLOBALS['adsense_position'] > 0"
Hmmm ya I was...I reverted and replaced the code. All is good now

Appreciate it sir!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04992 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,351KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (10)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete