Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41,180

 

California/Idaho
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lynne Lynne is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

This is an updated article on how to create your own vbulletin powered page. It's only for use with vB4.

This is NOT my work. I'm posting this from another thread where vB Style took the time to write this out. And his work is based on the article by Gary King here - How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)

Instructions to Create your Own Page:


1. Create the php page:
- Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
- Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show - WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!):
Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test');
define('CSRF_PROTECTION', true);  
// change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
// if your page is outside of your normal vb forums directory, you should change directories by uncommenting the next line
// chdir ('/path/to/your/forums');
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page'));
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE #####
$pagetitle = 'My Page Title';

// ###### NOW YOUR TEMPLATE IS BEING RENDERED ######

$templater = vB_Template::create('TEST');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar', $navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle', $pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());

?>
- Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!), and change 'test' to the filename or a unique name for the page. Also, change 'Test Page' and 'My Page Title' to whatever you want to show in the navbits, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

2. Create the Template:
- If you are in debug mode, create the template in your MASTER STYLE so it shows up in all your styles, otherwise make sure you create the template in the style you are using. If following the page above, call the template TEST (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!) with the following content:
HTML Code:
{vb:stylevar htmldoctype}
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{vb:stylevar textdirection}" lang="{vb:stylevar languagecode}" id="vbulletin_html">
  <head>
    <title>{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw pagetitle}</title>
    {vb:raw headinclude}
    {vb:raw headinclude_bottom}
  </head>
  <body>
    
    {vb:raw header}
    
    {vb:raw navbar}
    
    <div id="pagetitle">
      <h1>{vb:raw pagetitle}</h1>
    </div>
    
    <h2 class="blockhead">Title</h2>
    <div class="blockbody">
      <div class="blockrow">
        Text
      </div>
    </div>
    
    {vb:raw footer}
  </body>
</html>
.
Instructions to Add your Page to the Who's Online List (WOL):
Create two plugins using the following hooks. Replace mypage and similar with your information.

1. hook location - online_location_process:
Code:
switch ($filename)
{
    case 'test.php':
        $userinfo['activity'] = 'mypage';
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
2. hook location online_location_unknown:
Code:
switch ($userinfo['activity'])
{
    case 'mypage':
        $userinfo['where'] = '<a href="test.php?'.$vbulletin->session->vars[sessionurl].'">My Page</a>';
        $userinfo['action'] = "Viewing My Page";
        $handled = true;
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
The colored part in the code above shows what you need to change in the plugins (both reds should be the same and both blues should be the same, whereas green can be whatever you want).


Please see this article for help with rendering templates - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-18-2009, 05:58 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Ok next question, I am reusing the same variable for different pages so I am not having a cluster of different variables within conditional statements. Right now it seems that is confusing me or its the meds, either way is it safe to say I can keep doing that or should I change it?

PHP Code:
$templater->register('display'$display); 
That var is what I am reusing for each page load of do=cat or do=file, etc. Do I need to change it to print_output or what?
You should be able to use the same variable name on different pages - vb does that alot.

If you are wanting to register that variable on each page for use in the template, you need to put that line inbetween the $templater = vB_Template::create('whatever_template') and the $templater->render() lines.

edit: Or actually, you may be able to just preregister it at the top of you page for the template. See the article I link to in my first post to find out about preregistering variables.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-18-2009, 06:06 PM
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 224
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Replace the line:
require_one ./gobal

With:
PHP Code:
$curdir getcwd ();
chdir('/yourpath/to/site/public_html/forum');
require_once(
'/yourpath/to/site/public_html/global.php');
chdir ($curdir); 
Will allow you to put the php files anywhere on the site (i.e. mydomain.com/pages/)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:02 AM
LoveStream LoveStream is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 77
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragtek View Post
Be sure that there's nothing before <?php
Yes, I double checked it but it still remains. I suspect that affected by server programs. When I logged there is no problem. It is only just for guest than member logged.

I create new my.php file. and do define this scripts refer to template files.

Regards.

--------------- Added [DATE]1258599895[/DATE] at [TIME]1258599895[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by cory_booth View Post
Replace the line:
require_one ./gobal

With:
PHP Code:
$curdir getcwd ();
chdir('/yourpath/to/site/public_html/forum');
require_once(
'/yourpath/to/site/public_html/global.php');
chdir ($curdir); 
Will allow you to put the php files anywhere on the site (i.e. mydomain.com/pages/)
Thanks. I do put it the same path with vB. When I trial as logged it's run very well.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:10 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cory_booth View Post
Replace the line:
require_one ./gobal

With:
PHP Code:
$curdir getcwd ();
chdir('/yourpath/to/site/public_html/forum');
require_once(
'/yourpath/to/site/public_html/global.php');
chdir ($curdir); 
Will allow you to put the php files anywhere on the site (i.e. mydomain.com/pages/)
Actually, if you chdir, you don't want to then put the whole path to the global.php file. You would just go:
PHP Code:
$curdir getcwd ();
chdir('/yourpath/to/site/public_html/forum');
require_once(
'./global.php');
chdir ($curdir); 
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-19-2009, 02:52 AM
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Booneville, AR, USA
Posts: 1,428
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
You should be able to use the same variable name on different pages - vb does that alot.

If you are wanting to register that variable on each page for use in the template, you need to put that line inbetween the $templater = vB_Template::create('whatever_template') and the $templater->render() lines.

edit: Or actually, you may be able to just preregister it at the top of you page for the template. See the article I link to in my first post to find out about preregistering variables.
Good point, I will look into doing that tomorrow. Need sleep first.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-19-2009, 09:14 AM
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Posts: 1,630
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What's with
PHP Code:
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_bootstrap_framework.php');
vB_Bootstrap_Framework::init(); 
Do we need it?
Some files in vB4 have it^^
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-19-2009, 01:41 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You may need to add those lines depending on what you do in your code. But, every page doesn't need those lines. I *think*, but I'm not positive, that if you have hooks in your page, you will want to include those lines. But, since usually there aren't any hooks added into a custom page, then those lines aren't needed.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-21-2009, 12:14 PM
EidolonAH EidolonAH is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: London, England
Posts: 178
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Brilliant, thank you Lynne.:up:
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-21-2009, 04:05 PM
Anseur's Avatar
Anseur Anseur is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK.
Posts: 50
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've set this up on my test site, and it works OK while i'm logged in, but when I'm not logged in, and I visit this custom page, I just get a plain white screen.

looking at a source of this plain white pages shows me:
Code:
<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: dkp_template -->
 
<!-- END TEMPLATE: dkp_template -->
Here is the code currently used in the template for this custom .php page:

Code:
{vb:stylevar htmldoctype}
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{vb:stylevar textdirection}" lang="{vb:stylevar languagecode}" id="vbulletin_html">
  <head>
    <title>{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle}</title>
    {vb:raw headinclude}
  </head>
  <body>
    
    {vb:raw header}
    
    {vb:raw navbar}
    
    <div id="pagetitle">
      <h1>{vb:raw pagetitle}</h1>
    </div>
  <li class="popupmenu">
    <h2 class="blockhead">The MCO DKP System</h2>
    <h2 class="blocksubhead"> <vb:if condition="$show['modcplink']">
                                <a href="javascript://" class="popupctrl">Administration</a>
                                <ul class="popupbody popuphover">
                                        <li><a href="/25manwrathplus/admin/" target=”dkp_frame”>Admin Index</a></li>
                                        <li><a href="sublink2.php">SubLink 2</a></li>
                                        <li><a href="sublink3.php">SubLink 3</a></li>
                                </ul>
                            </li>
</vb:if> </h2>
                          
    <div class="blockbody">
      <div {height:auto;}>

<iframe name="dkp_frame" width=100% height=1700px SCROLLING=no FRAMEBORDER=0 src="/25manwrathplus">dkp_frame</iframe>
		
      </div>
    </div>
    
    {vb:raw footer}
  </body>
</html>
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-21-2009, 04:34 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anseur View Post
I've set this up on my test site, and it works OK while i'm logged in, but when I'm not logged in, and I visit this custom page, I just get a plain white screen.

looking at a source of this plain white pages shows me:
[code]
<!-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: dkp_template -->

<!-- END TEMPLATE: dkp_template -->
What is in your error_logs? (If you don't know where they are, ask your host.) What is in your php page that you created?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06976 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,385KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (58)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete