Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System Details »»
UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.8.1 Rating:
Released: 02-06-2009 Last Update: 02-07-2009 Installs: 16
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System


Well you wanted Dropdowns and you got them, Now you want Vertical Menu's, Here they are


DEMO : http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/vertical.html

Default VB Colors DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/vbull_vert.html

Following on from the Easy Menu Tabs and the Quality Dropdowns, this is a new style of menu for sites that use side columns or even VBa

Done in a plain Neutral color scheme to compliment most sites you can change the color scheme by simply changing the hex color codes in the CSS part of the code.

This is suitable for ALL browser types



This example has sub menus within sub menus so you can see how to edit them to add more for your site



So if your happy with that, Lets begin.............

Firstly we need to Download the zip file, This has the code to edit plus related graphics, so you've downloaded the code, lets start

Open the code in your fave Text Editor (Notepad is ideal for this )

Find in the code

Code:
/*"""""""" Custom Rule""""""""*/	
	ul#qm0 li .qmparent	
	{	
		background-image:url(http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/cssalt1_arrow_right.gif);
		background-repeat:no-repeat;
		background-position:97% 50%;
you will see referance to a gif, change the URL of the gif to where you are going to install your gif, Be it in your forums image directory or even photobucket, the choice is yours.

then find the other gif url here

Code:
/*"""""""" Custom Rule""""""""*/	
	ul#qm0 li:hover > a.qmparent	
	{	
		background-image:url(http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/cssalt1_arrow_right_hover.gif);
		text-decoration:underline;
	}
and do the same as the one above, change my url to yours

Then find....

Code:
<!-- Add-On Settings -->
	<script type="text/JavaScript">

		/*******  Menu 0 Add-On Settings *******/
		var a = qmad.qm0 = new Object();

		// Item Bullets Add On
		a.ibullets_apply_to = "parent";
		a.ibullets_main_image = "http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_main_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_main_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_main_position_x = -16;
		a.ibullets_main_position_y = -4;
		a.ibullets_main_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_main_align_y = "middle";
		a.ibullets_sub_image = "http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_sub_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_sub_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_x = -12;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_y = -2;
		a.ibullets_sub_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_sub_align_y = "middle";
and change the gif url to where you will upload your gifs

Then all you need to do next is upload the gifs from the zip file to the url that you made in the steps above

So thats the CSS part done, Next we need to edit our menu links, I've set the default to my forum but its easy enough to change them for yours or even if you want to add extra items, So lets start changing our menu links

First Find..

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="My Control Panel">My Control Panel</a>

		<ul>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editavatar" title="Edit Avatar">Edit Avatar</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editsignature" title="Edit Signature">Edit Signature</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editoptions" title="Edit Options">Edit Options</a></li>
		<li><span class="qmdivider qmdividerx" ></span></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/subscription.php?do=viewsubscription" title="List Subscriptions">List Subscriptions</a></li>
		</ul></li>
Thats our first block called "My Control Panel" all you need to do is edit these menu links to an url of your forum

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editavatar" title="Edit Avatar">Edit Avatar</a></li>
Don't forget once you've changed the URL, you can change the description, which you can find right at the end ">Edit Avatar</a></li>

Do that for all the links and by then you'll have your own Vertical Menu Tabs.

To see how the menu from a sub menu works, you need to find the Calendar Link in the Code


It starts like this

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Calendar">Calendar</a>
and then the menu links off from that, are similar to the menu links above, all together they look like this, showing the parent menu "Todays Post"

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Todays Post">Todays Post</a>

		<ul>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/search.php?searchid=167" title="Todays Post">Todays Post</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/search.php?do=getnew" title="New Post">New Post</a></li>
		<li><span class="qmdivider qmdividerx" ></span></li>
		<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Calendar">Calendar</a>

			<ul>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php" title="Calendar">Calendar</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&type=single&c=1" title="Add Single Event">Add Single Event</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&c=1" title="Ranged Event">Ranged Event</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&type=recur&c=1" title="Recurring Event">Recurring Event</a></li>
			</ul></li>
Thats its folks, Just save your code and upload it to the header or other section (side Colummns) of your forum or website

Please note as i don't use side columns or VBa, I cannot provide support in these areas.


To change the colors of the menu to suit your site, simply change the hex color code at the begining of the CSS part of the code, I like using this hex editor for this http://www.2createawebsite.com/build/hex-colors.html

Please click installed, for 100% support

UPDATE 08.02.09

You can now download the VBulletin Default Color Menu, This is exactly the same as the original except that the colors have been edited to Match the VBulletin Default theme



Enjoy

Download Now

File Type: zip Vertical Menu.zip (22.0 KB, 96 views)
File Type: zip vbull_vert.zip (22.1 KB, 64 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png vertical menu.png (12.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png vertical menu1.png (7.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png vbull_vert.png (17.7 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 02-08-2009, 09:19 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Thanks uk for the great support.


I tried the code in a html page within vbulletin (easy pages and Logician's WebTemplates) in ie and it works fine..
so the problem lies within the vbadvanced module.

Since I'm going to use your VMS in ultimate side colums , there wont be a problem in ie.

Any idea as to why VMS wont display properly in a vbadvanced block in ie for me ?

thankyou
You may need to separate the CSS and the HTML, Place the CSS part of the code into the "Additional CSS Definitions " in your style manager and the HTML where you'd normally add your code, Be it the header or some other template for VBa

I had this problem with My Easy Menu Tabs, So it should work.

Just seen the bushfires in Victoria on the news here in the UK, Be careful mate
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-08-2009, 09:28 PM
dvbusuario's Avatar
dvbusuario dvbusuario is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

to add a module of vbadvanced only copy the code in a new module template and the begin of code add <td> and the final of code add </td>

Attachment 94435


Install!!!

Thank You!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-08-2009, 09:29 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dvbusuario View Post
to add a module of vbadvanced only copy the code in a new module template and the begin of code add <td> and the final of code add </td>



Install!!!

Thank You!
Wow thanks for that

Menu looks Great :up::up:
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-11-2009, 10:30 PM
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Have it working perfect now.

To fix my arrows from being outside of the container. I did this

In the code remove

Code:
<!-- Add-On Core Code (Remove when not using any add-on's) -->
<style type="text/css">.qmfv{visibility:visible !important;}.qmfh{visibility:hidden !important;}</style><script type="text/javascript">if (!window.qmad){qmad=new Object();qmad.binit="";qmad.bvis="";qmad.bhide="";}</script>
and change

Code:
<!-- Create Menu Settings: (Menu ID, Is Vertical, Show Timer, Hide Timer, On Click (options: 'all' * 'all-always-open' * 'main' * 'lev2'), Right to Left, Horizontal Subs, Flush Left, Flush Top) -->
<script type="text/javascript">qm_create(0,true,0,500,false,false,false,false,false);</script>
to

Code:
<!-- Create Menu Settings: (Menu ID, Is Vertical, Show Timer, Hide Timer, On Click (options: 'all' * 'all-always-open' * 'main' * 'lev2'), Right to Left, Horizontal Subs, Flush Left, Flush Top) -->
<script type="text/javascript">qm_create(0,true,0,500,true,false,false,false,false);</script>

thanks for a great mod uk :up:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg links.jpg (41.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:18 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Have it working perfect now.

To fix my arrows from being outside of the container. I did this

In the code remove

Code:
<!-- Add-On Core Code (Remove when not using any add-on's) -->
<style type="text/css">.qmfv{visibility:visible !important;}.qmfh{visibility:hidden !important;}</style><script type="text/javascript">if (!window.qmad){qmad=new Object();qmad.binit="";qmad.bvis="";qmad.bhide="";}</script>
and change

Code:
<!-- Create Menu Settings: (Menu ID, Is Vertical, Show Timer, Hide Timer, On Click (options: 'all' * 'all-always-open' * 'main' * 'lev2'), Right to Left, Horizontal Subs, Flush Left, Flush Top) -->
<script type="text/javascript">qm_create(0,true,0,500,false,false,false,false,false);</script>
to

Code:
<!-- Create Menu Settings: (Menu ID, Is Vertical, Show Timer, Hide Timer, On Click (options: 'all' * 'all-always-open' * 'main' * 'lev2'), Right to Left, Horizontal Subs, Flush Left, Flush Top) -->
<script type="text/javascript">qm_create(0,true,0,500,true,false,false,false,false);</script>

thanks for a great mod uk :up:
Thanks for the Update and fix :up:

(Hope all is well your end )
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-12-2009, 05:35 AM
KrU$ty's Avatar
KrU$ty KrU$ty is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hmm, from looking at the css code, you have used the same css titles in this mod as you did in your other menu mod, and its playing havoc with my display when in use.

I think it might be a good idea to use different css identifiers in this mod compared to your other menu mod to avoid issues.

Just a suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:11 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KrU$ty View Post
Hmm, from looking at the css code, you have used the same css titles in this mod as you did in your other menu mod, and its playing havoc with my display when in use.

I think it might be a good idea to use different css identifiers in this mod compared to your other menu mod to avoid issues.

Just a suggestion.
Are you using the vertical menus as well as the dropdown menu ???
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-13-2009, 09:05 AM
KrU$ty's Avatar
KrU$ty KrU$ty is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Are you using the vertical menus as well as the dropdown menu ???
Yep. The dropdown menu css has been added to the additional css, however because both mods have the same css, the drop down menu inherits items from the vertical making the dropdown also become vertical as well as including the arrows etc.

Hope that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-15-2009, 02:00 PM
luan7749's Avatar
luan7749 luan7749 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 69
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

WoW, I like It, Thank my friend !
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-15-2009, 02:04 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan7749 View Post
WoW, I like It, Thank my friend !
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04494 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,367KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (13)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (6)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete