Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > Graphics Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How To Expand Custom Image Header
miner's Avatar
miner
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 594

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
miner miner is offline 01-23-2007, 10:00 PM

We hear it many times...
"How can I make my header image expandable to screen width?"

This tutorial will help you accomplish this task.

Requirements:
  • A bit of html knowledge;
  • photo editor;
  • and, photo editing.
Let's Get Started!

Let's start with a 780px header image ... you can use the example image below...




Then Crop the leftside (your logo part):





And save it as head_left.gif







Second crop the right side of the header image as shown below:



And save as head_right.gif





Next select background image -just 1 or 2px width like shown below:



Crop the selected part and save it as headbg.gif:




Now load all the three images to the misc folder of images...

Next goto admincp> styles&templates> style manager> all style options>

scroll down to header




Delete the existing code complete and insert the follow there:

Code:
<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<center>
<table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/headbg.gif)">
<tr>

<td align="left" valign="top"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_left.gif"  border="0" alt=""/></a></td>
<td align="right" valign="bottom"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_right.jpg" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>

<!-- /logo -->
<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output
Updated the code above and just change the gif/jpg name you are using...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-15-2008, 07:04 PM
rooban12 rooban12 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 159
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tazB.ca View Post
Okay I'm really confused sorry...

When I add that code into my HEADER... I end up losing both the header and the navbar?...


I got the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:49 AM
thompson thompson is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 155
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

super tutorial.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-25-2008, 04:01 AM
Valyx Valyx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i got this working on my forum.
www.talk-games.net
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-03-2009, 03:06 PM
MTGDarkness MTGDarkness is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 270
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does anyone know how to get a matching sidebar on that?
http://forums.mtgdarkness.com/index.php?styleid=1
I tried that... The code I'm using right now is this:
Code:
<table border="0" width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" >
<tr style="background-image:url(http://forums.mtgdarkness.com/images/misc/headbg.png)">

<td align="left" valign="top"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_left.png"  border="0" alt=""/></a></td>
<td align="right" valign="bottom"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_right.png" alt="" /></td>
</tr><tr>
<td> <ul class="mtgdmenu">  <li class="mtgdmenu"><p class="mtext"><a href="http://www.mtgdarkness.com" class="menulink">Home</a></p></li>
   <li class="mtgdmenu"><p class="mtext"><a href="http://forums.mtgdarkness.com" class="menulink">Forums</a></p></li>
   <li class="mtgdmenu"><p class="mtext"><a href="http://www.mtgdarkness.com/?page_id=35" class="menulink">Articles</a></p></li>
   <li class="mtgdmenu"><p class="mtext"><a href="http://forums.mtgdarkness.com/chat/index.php" class="menulink" target="_blank">Chat</a></p></li> 
    <li class="mtgdmenu"><p class="mtext"><a href="http://www.mtgdarkness.com/?page_id=19" class="menulink">Associates</a></p></li></ul> </td>
</tr>
</table>
But I don't know how to get the stupid navbar to extend with the banner. It doesn't want to work...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:54 PM
bijju bijju is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-26-2009, 08:45 PM
Vaupell's Avatar
Vaupell Vaupell is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Esbjerg, Denmark
Posts: 1,036
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charged View Post
I just did this on my site, though I've used css rather than a table for those who would rather here is how I did it. Save images the same as explained above then in the header put

Code:
<div style="width:100%; background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/headbg.gif); background-repeat:repeat-x;">
<div style="float:left;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_left.jpg"  border="0" alt=""/></div>
<div style="float:left; position:absolute; right:0px;"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/head_right.jpg" alt="" /></div>
</div>

nice and all, just not working on my firefox fully updated.
it does not repeat spacer, only on ie and chrome does it repeat.
swithing to tables.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:27 AM
PJSkiboy PJSkiboy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 139
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OMG, I spent the better part of last Sunday afternoon trying to do this on my own (which I finally figured out with some help from a buddy) with a lot of head scratching. Ugh.

If only I had checked here sooner, lol.

Hindsight is 20/20.

Great thread.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-30-2009, 03:53 PM
RedHotChili's Avatar
RedHotChili RedHotChili is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Excellent! :up:

I was looking for this.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-31-2009, 06:35 PM
supersy supersy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks alot I will try this out
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 04-19-2009, 07:46 PM
Mike08 Mike08 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 47
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaoren View Post
One thing I'd like to do and I don't know if this is the place to post this, is add a few tab buttons on the banner for navigation. I've seen it done on other forums and well I have it on the banner but I'll be honest I need to some help in figuring out the coding and laying it out right. As is just now it's only two separate images since I was just trying to get the code on here to work for me.

The other thing is how can I get my banner to be attached to the forum so it all runs together smoothly instead of it separated.

Attachment 79563

Any help is really appreciated
I'm interesting too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04874 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,320KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete