Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Google Adsense / Adbrite Ads Based on Length of First Post Details »»
Google Adsense / Adbrite Ads Based on Length of First Post
Version: 1.00, by Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Show Thread Enhancements - Version: 3.6.2 Rating:
Released: 10-12-2006 Last Update: Never Installs: 32
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Google Adsense / Adbrite Based on Length of First Post
This should work on all versions of vbulletin 3.5.x and above.

Keywords: google, adsense, adbrite, yahoo publisher, earn, income, showthread, first post, thread, topic

Google Policy on showing competitive advertisements at end of this post:

Context: Time to make some neat money on google adsense. Well, this is a cute little plugin which enables an admin to show variable adsense or adbrite code on the first post of the thread/topic based on the length of the message. This helps in keeping in shape the demographics of the forum by keeping the things neat and tidy. You can visit my forums on my website and surf through some threads/topics to get a clear picture of what i am saying.

Installation Instructions:

Code:
Go to Plugin Manager > Add new Plugin

 Product: vbulletin
 Hook Location: postbit_display_complete
 Title: Google Adsense in Postbits Based on the Length of Message
 Execution Order: 5
 Plugin PHP code: $post['text_length'] = strlen($post['message']);

Now edit Template posbit or postbit_legacy

Find: 
<div>$post[icqicon] $post[aimicon] $post[msnicon] $post[yahooicon] $post[skypeicon]</div>
            </div>

Add Below: (Put the following code where ever you feel like adding.)
Quote:
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'"> <if condition="$post['text_length'] < 1200"> <br> Google Adsense/Adbrite/Publisher Code # 1 Here <else /> <br> Google Adsense/adbrite/Publisher Code # 2 Here </if> </if>
Here, 1200 is variable to adjust the length of message to change your adsense accordingly.
You are done! You can play with this thing to add your own advertising banners or adbrite code as well.

Demo: http://www.sikhphilosophy.net

Google Policy on showing competitive advertisements:
Code:
Thank you for your email. Google AdSense program policy does not permit Google ads to be published on the same web page as other
contextually-targeted ads. More broadly, our policy does not permit Google
ads to be displayed on the same website as ads that mimic or attempt to be
associated with Google ads. According to these program policies, AdBrite
may be displayed on the same page as Google ads on your site. We do allow
affiliate or limited-text links. However, other contextually-targeted ads
may not be used.

For publishers participating in AdSense for search, please note that we do
not allow other search services or query-targeted ads to be displayed on
the same site as AdSense for search.

Our intent with this policy is to be as fair to our advertisers as
possible and to maintain the integrity of the AdWords and AdSense
programs.

We appreciate your cooperation and look forward to your continued
participation in AdSense.

For additional questions, I'd encourage you to visit the AdSense Help
Center (http://www.google.com/adsense_help), our complete resource center
for all AdSense topics. Alternatively, feel free to post your question on
the forum just for AdSense publishers: the AdSense Help Group
(http://groups.google.com/group/adsense-help).
Please do click install if you like it.

Enjoy!!

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:31 AM
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sikh Philosophy Network
Posts: 545
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tansu
well, now is it against or not? (TOS)
And how can I use it to show only visitors, not members?
thanks in advance
Use the following code in the postbit.
Code:
<if condition="($show['guest'])">
	<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">
        <if condition="$post['text_length'] < 1200">
        <br>
        Google Adsense or Adbrite or Publisher Code # 1 Here
        <else />
        <br>
        Google Adsense or adbrite  or Publisher Code # 2 Here
        </if>
        </if>
</if>

Enjoy!!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:46 AM
KuRnAz KuRnAz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neutral Singh
Use the following code in the postbit.
Code:
<if condition="($show['guest'])">
	<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">
        <if condition="$post['text_length'] < 1200">
        <br>
        Google Adsense or Adbrite or Publisher Code # 1 Here
        <else />
        <br>
        Google Adsense or adbrite  or Publisher Code # 2 Here
        </if>
        </if>
</if>

Enjoy!!
And what is the wrong thing with me
Ads aren't in messega they are on posbit ..
Just copied the code you give...
Look The Pic ...
What must I do...
Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-16-2006, 01:18 PM
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sikh Philosophy Network
Posts: 545
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I said you can play with this thing and put links whereever you feel nice.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-16-2006, 02:22 PM
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sikh Philosophy Network
Posts: 545
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok Find
<!-- message -->

Till

<!-- / message -->

Replace all with the following code:

Code:
<!-- message -->
<div id="post_message_$post[postid]">

<table id="post$post[postid]" class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" valign="top">
<tr><td valign="top">
$post[message]
</td>
<td width="160" align="middle" valign="top">
        <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread'">
        <if condition="$post['text_length'] < 1200">
        <br>
        $vbphrase[Google_Postbit_Skyscraper_120x240]
        <else />
        <br>
        $vbphrase[Google_Postbit_Skyscraper_160x600]
       </if>
       </if>
</td>
<td width="160" align="middle" valign="top">

</td>
</table>
</div>
		<!-- / message -->
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-17-2006, 03:15 PM
Neutral Singh's Avatar
Neutral Singh Neutral Singh is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sikh Philosophy Network
Posts: 545
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Throtex
Competitive Ads and Services
We do not permit Google ads or search boxes accessing Google search services to be published on web pages that also contain what could be considered competing ads or services. If you have elected to receive contextually-targeted Google ads, this would include all other contextually-targeted ads or links on the same page as Google ads. This would also include ads throughout the site that mimic Google ads or otherwise appear to be associated with Google on your site. Although you may sell ads directly on your site, it is your responsibility to ensure these ads do not mimic Google ads. If you have elected to receive Google search services, this would include other search services on the same site and non-Google query-targeted ads. We do allow affiliate or limited-text links.


Not that this has anything to do with the hack itself ... hack itself looks good.

Hello All

Just now i got a clear cut reply from google:
Code:
Thank you for your email. Google AdSense program policy does not permit
Google ads to be published on the same web page as other
contextually-targeted ads. More broadly, our policy does not permit Google
ads to be displayed on the same website as ads that mimic or attempt to be
associated with Google ads. According to these program policies, AdBrite
may be displayed on the same page as Google ads on your site. We do allow
affiliate or limited-text links. However, other contextually-targeted ads
may not be used.

For publishers participating in AdSense for search, please note that we do
not allow other search services or query-targeted ads to be displayed on
the same site as AdSense for search.

Our intent with this policy is to be as fair to our advertisers as
possible and to maintain the integrity of the AdWords and AdSense
programs.

We appreciate your cooperation and look forward to your continued
participation in AdSense.

For additional questions, I'd encourage you to visit the AdSense Help
Center (http://www.google.com/adsense_help), our complete resource center
for all AdSense topics. Alternatively, feel free to post your question on
the forum just for AdSense publishers: the AdSense Help Group
(http://groups.google.com/group/adsense-help).
So, we can show adbrite along with google if not yahoo publisher hence i have change the topic accordingly... :rambo:
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-18-2006, 03:39 AM
Cueball Cueball is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great hack! I have it installed and it works well. Just one change I would like to see in any updates. If there is a way to exclude certain forums from grabing the google ads. that would be a big plus !

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-19-2006, 01:47 PM
Cueball Cueball is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cueball
Great hack! I have it installed and it works well. Just one change I would like to see in any updates. If there is a way to exclude certain forums from grabing the google ads. that would be a big plus !

Thanks again

Is there a way to do this ?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10-19-2006, 04:46 PM
Cueball Cueball is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 23
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have uninstalled this since there is little to no support for it. Maybe there is another similar hack out there? Anyone see a similar hack? Thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10-19-2006, 05:12 PM
Frapegliko Frapegliko is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: GR
Posts: 100
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

is there any way to show ads only on first post?

i use postbit_legacy
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 10-21-2006, 09:42 AM
tanyeri24 tanyeri24 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frapegliko
is there any way to show ads only on first post?

i use postbit_legacy
yeah only first post would be good :cry:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04671 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,319KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete