Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Proportionally Auto Resize User Avatar Details »»
Proportionally Auto Resize User Avatar
Version: 1.02, by toolblast toolblast is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2019 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.4 Rating:
Released: 04-17-2006 Last Update: 04-18-2006 Installs: 24
Uses Plugins
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

PROPORTIONALLY AUTO RESIZE USER AVATAR PLUGIN

Last updated: April 18th - newest file is 'PluginFiles.zip'

What does this plugin do?
It will allow you to place the logged in user's avatar in your forum header or navbar and then set a predefined maximum width and height that the user's avatar can go in. Then, using PHP, an automatic resize will occur that will NOT stretch the image.

Update: this hack doesn't work everywhere like previously stated in earlier versions. Some templates in vbulletin do not render global variables making the plugin not show the avatar. One of these templates is the postbit template. If you put '$useravatar' in that template nothing will happen. Why? I'm not sure, and if anyone knows how to make it work please share!

What is the point of this plugin?
If you want the user to be able to upload a large avatar that will appear on the postbit, but in the forum login info part in the header you want to show their avatar, but at a smaller size than the original (without editing the original uploaded file and without stretching it). This is for you.

Installation:
Extremely simple. Simply upload plugin from the plugin manager area of your VBulletin Admin (for those who don't know, go to Plugin System > Download/Upload Plugin > Browse for the file and upload it). Then, you simply upload the imageresize.php file into your main forum folder.

Instructions:
To place the user's avatar in the template, edit one of your vbtemplates (header template preferrably), and then insert this code where you want the image to appear:

Quote:
$useravatar
If you want their avatar to link to their profile insert:
Quote:
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editavatar">$useravatar</a>
To change the max height and width dimentions for the avatar, edit the plugin and change the following line of code:

Quote:
//SET MAX RESTRAINTS
$maxheight=40;
$maxwidth=50;
Note: Upload both photoresize.php and noavatar.gif to your forum HOME directory. You can change the noavatar.gif image to whatever you want. Make sure you have your vbulletin homepage url set in your general vbulletin options area otherwise the script wont know the url of your forum!


Credits:
The "Avatar in Navbar" plugin by sabret00the [click here]
NPL Solution's script from Webmaster-Talk [click here]
DONT FORGET TO CLICK INSTALL!

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 04-19-2006, 02:25 AM
toolblast's Avatar
toolblast toolblast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 266
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Don't forget, the variable is now '$useravatar' if you just downloaded the latest zip file (which I uploaded a second ago). Then $useravatar is the variable you can use in any template to show your resized avatar of the current logged in user.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:20 AM
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 763
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolblast
Don't forget, the variable is now '$useravatar' if you just downloaded the latest zip file (which I uploaded a second ago). Then $useravatar is the variable you can use in any template to show your resized avatar of the current logged in user.
I'll try this in a few and report back soon, but what if I already use the "no avatar selected" hack?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:36 AM
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 763
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kihon Kata
I'll try this in a few and report back soon, but what if I already use the "no avatar selected" hack?
Ok, this STILL isn't working for me.

I uploaded the php file into the forum root, imported the plugin in the acp and I than went to my header template and addedd:
  • <a href="$vboptions[bburl]/profile.php?do=editavatar">$useravatar
    </a>
  • I also try to add just "$useravatar"
Internet Explorer is showing a RED X as my avatar and Firefox shows nothing


WHo knows.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-19-2006, 04:53 AM
toolblast's Avatar
toolblast toolblast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 266
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, right-click on the red x'd image and look at the properties of the image. Copy and paste that into this thread. Thanks

As for the 'no avatar image' hack, I'm not sure exactly what will happen because I dont have it installed on my test board. I would assume that the no avatar image hack either a) gives all users a default avatar, so they have an avatar at all times, just the one they get is your default one. This case, this plugin would just shrink and display the default avatar. b) it dynamically places a 'noavatar' image everywhere that the user's avatar is displayed and dynamically does it. Thus, the user sees 'do not use avatar' checked off in their usercp, but it shows the default image anyways. In this case Im not sure what would happen.

Is the 'no avatar image' hack, that is separate to this one, a plugin? If so, try turning that plugin off and seeing if this one works.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:04 AM
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 763
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

RED X url:
Code:
http://www.MYSITEHERE.com/forums/imageresize.php?image_name=http://www.MYSITEHERE.com/forums/image.php?u=4&dateline=1139443346&image_height=40&image_width=50
yes, the default avatar is a plugin
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-19-2006, 05:50 PM
toolblast's Avatar
toolblast toolblast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 266
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Check with your host, you might not have the GD graphics library enabled on your server. Maybe if you want i'll put together a php file that will do a test to see if you have the requirements that php needs to generate the thumbnail.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:21 PM
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 763
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toolblast
Check with your host, you might not have the GD graphics library enabled on your server. Maybe if you want i'll put together a php file that will do a test to see if you have the requirements that php needs to generate the thumbnail.
lol, I am my own host LOL. I run my own decidated webserver in a datacenter in NYC.

Running Linux Fedora ...this server also has GD 2 installed
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 04-19-2006, 09:43 PM
toolblast's Avatar
toolblast toolblast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 266
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hmm. Well Kihon, I really dont know what to say lol. If you're running vb 3.5.4 and you're logged in as a user who has uploaded a custom avatar, and you are still seeing an X or nothing in firefox, then something is setup incorrectly on your server or your vbulletin forum.

If you'd like i'll PM you the URL to a test board I have running the plugin with nothing else installed and it works just fine.

Have you tried taking off the 'default avatar' hack you had installed?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 04-19-2006, 10:24 PM
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 763
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yep, running a pretty successfull 3.5.4 with almost 400,000 posts

What if I let you come in as an admin and you can fool with it? PM me if interested
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 04-24-2006, 02:21 AM
cannabis-world cannabis-world is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi toolblast, do you know how I might use the imageresize.php to remove exif data from attachments as they are uploaded. I was told that if I can reduce the uploaded files color depth that it would remove the exif data. I was also told that if I resize it was also remove exif data, but I don't really want to resize attachments.
thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04150 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,312KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete