Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
cellarius cellarius is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

Introduction

Starting with vB4, templates no longer get output using eval:
PHP Code:
eval('$mytemplate = "' fetch_template('mytemplate') . '";'); 
is outdated.
What's more: Variables and arrays from plugins that are executed on a page no longer can automatically be accessed in the templates of that page. They need to be registered first.
.
Basic functionality to render templates and register all variables/arrays you want to use inside

PHP Code:
/* Some Code, setting variables, (multidimensional) array */
$my_var "abc";
$my_array = array(
        
'key1' => 'value1',
        
'key2' => array(
                '
key21' => 'value21',
                '
key22' => 'value22'
        '
)
    );

/* render template and register variables */
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templater->render(); 
  • The first line provides the template that is to be rendered, using the new vB_Template class (vB_Template::create). The method gets passed the name of the template as an argument.
  • The following two lines register a variable and an array that we want to use in our template. Arguments passed are 1. the name you want to use to access the variable, and 2. the variable from the code you want to register. You can register as many variables/arrays as you want. Just remember you have to register every variable and array that you want to use in your custom template in this way. If you don't register them, they will not be available.
  • The fourth line renders the template ($templater->render()).
In the template you know will be able to use the registered variables/arrays in this way:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_var}
{vb:raw my_array.key1}
{vb:raw my_array.key2.key21}
Note the last one: multidimensional arrays are perfectly possible.
.
.
.
Now, with the result of the rendering we can do several things:
.
Output template directly - custom pages


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
print_output($templater->render()); 
This immediatly outputs the template. Use this if you have created your own page, for example.
Note the second line, which is special for this type of use:
PHP Code:
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
This auto-registers the page level templates header, footer and headinclude that you will use in the template of your custom page.
.
Use a template hook


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2] .= $templater->render(); 
The template will be shown using the choosen template hook (for example: $template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2]). See the dot before the = in the last line? The hook may be used by other modifications, too, so we don't want to overwrite it, but rather append our code to it, conserving everything that might already be there.
.
Save into a variable for later use in custom template
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$mytemplate_rendered $templater->render(); 
Now we have saved the rendered template into a variable. This variable in turn we can later on register in another template, if we want:
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('my_other_template');
     
$templater->register('my_template_rendered'$my_template_rendered);
 
print_output($templater->render()); 
Again, inside my_other_template we now could call
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_template_rendered}
If you're running the first template call inside a loop, you may want to use .= instead of = in the last line, so that the results of every loop get added instead of overwriting the existing. But that depends, of course.
.
Save into an array and preregister to use in an existing/stock template

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templatevalues['my_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME'$templatevalues); 
  • This is another, more flexible method to save the rendered template into a variable for future use in an already existing template. In this example, we want to show our own rendered template on forumhome.
  • Problem is: We have no direct way to register variables for already existing templates like FORUMHOME. It's created and rendered in the files, and we don't want to mess there.
  • To help with this, a new method was created for vB_Template class, called preRegister. Using this, we can pass our data to FORUMHOME before it is rendered. Note that the data needs to be saved into an array ($templatevalues['my_insertvar']), a simple variable will throw an error. In the last line the array is preregistered; you need to pass as arguments 1. the name of the existing template and 2. the array that contains the data. Again, this can be done for as many arrays as needed.
  • Of course, the preRegister functionality can be used for any kind of variables or arrays, no matter whether you have saved a rendered template (like in our example) into it or it contains just a simple boolean true/false statement.
To access the data inside the template it was preregistered for use:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_insertvar}
Note: it is not {vb:raw templatevalues.my_insertvar}!

Essentially the same as what I put for preRegister would be the following two lines. They could replace the last two lines in the above php codebox:
PHP Code:
$my_insertvar $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME',array('my_insertvar ' => $my_insertvar)); 
Of course you could add further pairs to that array if you need to preregister more than one variable.
.
.
Bonus track: ...whatever you do, cache your templates!

Now you know how to get your templates on screen - once you succeeded in doing that, make sure to do it in a fast and ressource saving manner: make use of vB's template cache. To see whether your templates are cached or not, activate debug mode by adding $config['Misc']['debug'] = true;to your config.php (don't ever use that on your live site!). Among the debug info is a list of all templates called, and non-cached templates will show up in red.

To cache your templates, add a plugin at hook cache_templates with the following code:
PHP Code:
// for a single template
$cache[] = 'mytemplate'

// for more than one templates in one step
$cache array_merge((array)$cache,array(
    
'mytemplate',
    
'myothertemplate',
    
'mythirdtemplate'
)); 
.
.
Hope this helps!
-cel

----
Addendum - There are now two blog posts on vb.com related to this topic:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...in-4-templates
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...-4-based-files
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 04-04-2012, 06:25 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, obviously $statar is an array. I have no idea how you set it up, but just as you can't do echo $array in PHP, you can't just use {vb:raw array}. In PHP you would do echo $array['key'] to output the value. In the template you need to use {vb:raw array.key} accordingly.

Just as described in the first chapter of the article.
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 04-05-2012, 03:20 PM
Preech Preech is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Campbell
Posts: 325
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Appreciate it Cellarius.
I looked through some of the other vbulletin, so I had to do something like.

while yada yada
{ something = something['']}

And everything started working. Mental error on my part. The only thing now is trying to complete a new mod for vbulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 04-22-2012, 06:12 PM
Merriweather Merriweather is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If anyone is able to guide me, I am trying to hack the Post Thanks Plugin so I can pass a variable to a template as a conditional.

Here is the function I need to create a conditional for:

PHP Code:
function can_thank_this_post($postinfo = array(), $threadisdeleted 0$check_security false$securitytoken '')
{
    global 
$vbulletin;

    (
$hook vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start')) ? eval($hook) : false;

    if (
$postinfo['postid'] == || $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == || $postinfo['isdeleted'] || $threadisdeleted || (!($vbulletin->options['post_thanks_poster_button']) && $postinfo['userid'] == $vbulletin->userinfo['userid']))
    {
        return 
false;
    }

    if (
post_thanks_in_array($vbulletin->userinfo['usergroupid'], $vbulletin->options['post_thanks_usergroup_using']) || post_thanks_in_array($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'], $vbulletin->options['post_thanks_user_useing']))
    {
        return 
false;
    }

    if (
$vbulletin->userinfo['posts'] < $vbulletin->options['post_thanks_post_count_needed'])
    {
        return 
false;
    }

    if (
$vbulletin->options['post_thanks_max_per_day'])
    {
        global 
$count_thanks_so_far_totay;

        if (
$count_thanks_so_far_totay === null)
        {
            
$count_thanks_so_far_totay $vbulletin->db->query_first("SELECT COUNT(*) AS total FROM " .TABLE_PREFIX"post_thanks WHERE userid = " $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] . " AND date > " . (TIMENOW - (60 60 24)) . "");
        }

        if (
$vbulletin->options['post_thanks_max_per_day'] <= $count_thanks_so_far_totay['total'])
        {
            return 
false;
        }
    }

    if (
$vbulletin->options['post_thanks_days_old'])
    {
        if (
TIMENOW > (($vbulletin->options['post_thanks_days_old'] * 60 60 24) + $postinfo['dateline']))
        {
            return 
false;
        }
    }

    if (
$vbulletin->options['post_groans_integrate'])
    {
        require_once(
DIR '/includes/functions_post_groans.php');
        if (
groaned_already($postinfo))
        {
            return 
false;
        }
    }

    if (
$check_security && function_exists(verify_security_token))
    {
        if (!
verify_security_token($securitytoken$vbulletin->userinfo['securitytoken_raw']))
        {
            return 
false;
        }
    }

    (
$hook vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_end')) ? eval($hook) : false;

    return 
true;

And I want to be able to use:

HTML Code:
<vb:if condition="$post['can_thank_post']">Button code here</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 04-24-2012, 10:37 PM
anupam_luv anupam_luv is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 31
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

LW (linkworth ) has given me a php file to include in the navigation bar. It will show rotating ads via rss feed. How can I include that file

I wrote the following code in global_start

PHP Code:

ob_start
();
  include(
'rss_reader.php');
  
$linkmura ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$linkmura);

$templatevalues['linkmura1'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('navbar'$templatevalues); 
And using {vb:raw linkmura1} to show that. But nothing is been shown (on navbar http://www.dstreetdirect.com )

Also the code in the rss_reader.php is :

PHP Code:

<?php
$insideitem 
false;
$tag "";
$title "";
$description "";
$link ""

function 
startElement($parser$name$attrs)
{
    global 
$insideitem$tag$title$description$link;

    if(
$insideitem)
    {
        
$tag $name;
    }
    elseif(
$name == "ITEM")
    {
        
$insideitem true;
    }
}

function 
endElement($parser$name)
{
    global 
$insideitem$tag$title$description$link;
   
    if (
$name == "ITEM")
    {
        
printf("<dt><b><a href='%s' title='%s'>%s</a></b></dt>",
        
trim($link),htmlspecialchars(trim($description)),htmlspecialchars(trim($title)));
        
printf("<dt>%s</dt><br/><br/>",htmlspecialchars(trim($description)));

        
$title "";
        
$description "";
        
$link "";
        
$insideitem false;
    }
}

function 
characterData($parser$data)
{
    global 
$insideitem$tag$title$description$link;

    if(
$insideitem)
    {
        switch(
$tag)
        {
            case 
"TITLE":
                
$title .= $data;
                break;
            case 
"LINK":
                
$link .= $data;
                break;
            case 
"DESCRIPTION";
                
$description .= $data;
                break;
        }
    }
}

$xml_parser xml_parser_create();
xml_set_element_handler($xml_parser"startElement""endElement");
xml_set_character_data_handler($xml_parser"characterData");

//====================================================================
//====================================================================
//====================================================================
// ENTER YOUR UNIQUE RSS URL BELOW WHERE YOU SEE THE XXXX's
//====================================================================
//====================================================================
//====================================================================
$fp fopen("XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX""r")
   or die(
"Error reading RSS data.");


while (
$data fread($fp4096))
   
xml_parse($xml_parser$datafeof($fp))
      or die(
sprintf("XML error: %s at line %d",
         
xml_error_string(xml_get_error_code($xml_parser)),
         
xml_get_current_line_number($xml_parser)));
fclose($fp);
xml_parser_free($xml_parser);

?>
Please smbdy help and tell me easiest way to do that....
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 04-25-2012, 12:33 AM
Dax IX Dax IX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm just curious if registering the navbar is always necessary if you're creating a template for your own vB page, and if so, should the first post be updated to illustrate this?

And where the hell is the documentation on things like this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Try this in the parse_templates hook:

Code:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_template_parser.php');
$parser = new vB_TemplateParser('<div id="toplinks" class="toplinks">');
$parser->dom_doc = new vB_DomDocument($parser->fetch_dom_compatible());
$find = trim($parser->_parse_nodes($parser->dom_doc->childNodes()));

$parser = new vB_TemplateParser('<div style="float:right; margin: 5px -12px 5px 10px;">{vb:raw mycode}</div>');
$parser->dom_doc = new vB_DomDocument($parser->fetch_dom_compatible());
$replace = trim($parser->_parse_nodes($parser->dom_doc->childNodes()));

$vbulletin->templatecache['header'] = str_replace($find, $find . $replace, $vbulletin->templatecache['header']);
unset($find, $replace);
Or do you have to go through all the various files yourself to learn all of the functions and hope you stumble on what you're looking for?
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 04-25-2012, 02:14 PM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You won't stumble on to that anywhere in the files.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 04-28-2012, 08:26 AM
Easy5s.net Easy5s.net is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 201
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Pls help me
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=282142
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 05-14-2012, 10:52 PM
Seductor Seductor is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If I have this:
PHP Code:
$my_array = array(1,2); 
How can I render my template in order to show it? I don't know which key it is being used. If I do this:
Code:
{vb:raw my_array}
It is rendered like:
Code:
Array
PS: By the way, do you know any tutorial about how to send queries to the database from vBulletin?
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 05-15-2012, 12:41 AM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

{vb:raw my_array.0} = 1
{vb:raw my_array.1} = 2
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 05-15-2012, 05:11 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seductor View Post
If I have this:
PHP Code:
$my_array = array(1,2); 
How can I render my template in order to show it? I don't know which key it is being used. If I do this:
Code:
{vb:raw my_array}
It is rendered like:
Code:
Array
See the article:
PHP Code:
{vb:raw my_var}
{
vb:raw my_array.key1
Quote:
PS: By the way, do you know any tutorial about how to send queries to the database from vBulletin?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=119350
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06121 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,438KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_html
  • (16)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (17)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete