Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin Details »»
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin
Version: 0.8.5, by phpxcache phpxcache is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Board Optimization - Version: 3.6.5 Rating:
Released: 03-02-2007 Last Update: 03-03-2007 Installs: 142
Code Changes Additional Files  
No support by the author.


(note: do not apply this patch on vBulletin 3.7 as it's included already)
This patch allow you to use XCache as a datastore cache in vBulletin. This is definitely your choice if you have installed and enabled XCache on you server already.

Take care that this is a beta version and was not heavily tested. And i'm not familiar with vBulletin source code as i just started reading it today, but i don't have any difficulty reading it thanks to my years of php skill

Take aware that some vB plugin is not compatible with vB_datastore_*, not just vB_datastore_XCache. So, in case you find vB_datastore_XCache won't work, you'd better try datastore to file or memcache. If one of the others works but not vB_datastore_XCache, do report it to me so i can fix it.

Pre-requirement
Install the modification
for those of you who can't run "patch", u may patch the file manually
  • download Attachment 61372 (class_datastore_xcache.php)
  • save the file as vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php
  • open vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore.php in your favor editor
  • add a line in class_datastore.php (see below)
  • update upload/includes/config.php to enable it (see below)

example class_datastore.php after modification:
PHP Code:
        }
        return 
true;
    }
}

// add class_datastore_xcache, enable it in config.php
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php');

/*======================================================================*\
|| ####################################################################
|| # Downloaded: 12:33, Fri Mar 2nd 2007
|| # CVS: $RCSfile$ - $Revision: 15474 $
|| ####################################################################
\*======================================================================*/ 
example config.php after modification:
PHP Code:

    
// vB_Datastore_Filecache  - for using a cache file
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';
    
// vB_Datastore_Memcached - for using a Memcache server
    // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on 
Trouble Shooting
q. i have multiple vBulletin instance installed, the seems to mix data after install this plugin
a. this applies to apc too because, if you wanna fix it, try
open class_core.php, look for:
$this->prefix =& $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'];
and modify to:
$this->prefix = $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'] . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']; // or HTTP_HOST

q. Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in $a.php on line $b
a. upgrade your plugin/hack that $a.php belongs to, e.g. vbjournal/vbgallery etc. OR open $a.php and locate at line $b, remove unserialize call, e.g.:
replace $var = unserialize($this->data);
with $var = $this->data;
be careful do not remove the whole line, just the unseralize( and )

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #222  
Old 03-06-2008, 12:35 AM
Amenadiel's Avatar
Amenadiel Amenadiel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 171
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ok recompiled xcache and still no datastore vars are going into it.

Here's my phpinfo by the way

http://www.chilehardware.com/info.php
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 03-06-2008, 03:18 AM
Icy Icy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

IrPr - Make sure the OOMs disappear.

Amenadiel - Double check that you have proparly uploaded the class_datastore_xcache.php & edited correctly class_datastore.php & config.php
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 03-15-2008, 12:29 AM
Amenadiel's Avatar
Amenadiel Amenadiel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 171
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Already did. Perhaps it's a problem of file permisions... perhaps I should set datastore_xcache as an exception in lighty in order to avoid being redirected by vbseo?

where is class_datastore.php being called? I can't see an entry in config.php, just

$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';

must I enable datastore caching somewhere in config or admin panel?

Anyway, why not install memcached or file based datastore?
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 03-16-2008, 07:40 PM
eido eido is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 58
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

how do i know what value do i put for xcache.size and xcache.var.size ? whats the best values?
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 03-23-2008, 10:10 PM
tfw2005 tfw2005 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 58
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hey guys,

I have xcache installed on the server as a whole, and it sped up my forums greatly. Page loads went from 5-8 seconds to under 2 for the vbulletin areas.

Would installing this hack (Im on pre 3.6.X) for the datastore, provide an even greater increase to speed, load, etc?

I have a pretty busy forum with some heavy scripts running along side (multiple G2 galleries, etc etc). So if I can reduce further the forum needs, those other scripts might speed up too.

Just wondering if applying this to datastore is worth it if it is already kicking ass on a PHP level.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 04-01-2008, 07:07 PM
frantorm frantorm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Before upgrading to 3.6.9 vb had in this mod version 3.6.8 installed and my vbulletin was very fast now after upgrading will not let me install this mod and is very slow

that I can do?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 04-01-2008, 09:02 PM
GTX2 GTX2 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i have no idea how to install xcache on the server... i run a centOS server and i've tried either using rpm and yum install....

any idea?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 04-07-2008, 06:22 PM
hydn hydn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tfw2005 View Post
Hey guys,

I have xcache installed on the server as a whole, and it sped up my forums greatly. Page loads went from 5-8 seconds to under 2 for the vbulletin areas.

Would installing this hack (Im on pre 3.6.X) for the datastore, provide an even greater increase to speed, load, etc?

I have a pretty busy forum with some heavy scripts running along side (multiple G2 galleries, etc etc). So if I can reduce further the forum needs, those other scripts might speed up too.

Just wondering if applying this to datastore is worth it if it is already kicking ass on a PHP level.

Thanks!
Same question here
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:21 AM
sturdy sturdy is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 67
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How to install the X-Cache under Windows?

I just found this INSTALL File with this text in it:

Quote:
# vim:ts=4:sw=4
Installtion:

$ phpize --clean && phpize
$ ./configure --help
$ CFLAGS='your cflags' ./configure --enable-xcache --enable...
$ make
$ su
# make install
(update php.ini, restart php)

Reinstall:

$ mv config.nice conf
$ make distclean && phpize --clean && phpize
$ mv conf config.nice
$ ./config.nice
$ make
$ su
# make install
(update php.ini, restart php)

Update php.ini:
$ su
# cat xcache.ini >> /etc/php.ini
# $EDITOR /etc/php.ini
I cant explain what to do
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 04-11-2008, 02:37 PM
Fenriz Fenriz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 126
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Please somebody help me with 3 questions:

I have 512Mb on my dedicated. Is it right to make:
xcache.size = 64M
xcache.var_size = 64M
?
I have a Template Cache 0.0.4 installed and not sure about the size of xcache.

Do I need to enable xcache.optimizer? Default it is in Off state. Do I need to make
xcache.optimizer = On
?

I have a Fedora 7 installed on my server.
Is it better to make xcache.so in xcache.ini installed as a zend_extension or php extension? I have "extension = xcache.so" uncommented.

By the way, here is my phpinfo http://www.ulver.com/info.php
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04658 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,313KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete