Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Text Typer BBCode Details »»
Text Typer BBCode
Version: 1.00, by Thelonius Beck Thelonius Beck is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: BB Code Enhancements - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 03-20-2011 Last Update: 03-22-2011 Installs: 14
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files  
No support by the author.

The Text Typer BB Code For vBulletin
by Thelonius Beck

***NOTE: Though I've indicated vB Version 3.8.x, there is no reason that this should not work in ANY vB version.***

For this fun and simple BB Code, you need only upload one (1) file, make a single template edit, and add a single CSS definition.
Let's get started.
  1. First we upload the 'js' file to our forum root directory. For me, this is the 'public_html' directory, but yours may well be 'public_html/forum' or 'public_html/forums'.
  2. Now we open our Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > All Style Options (making sure to choose the correct style)
    Add to the bottom of your 'headinclude' template:
    Code:
    <!-- Text Typer -->
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="js/TypingText.js">>
    /****************************************************
    * Typing Text script- By Twey @ Dynamic Drive Forums
    * Visit Dynamic Drive for this script and more: http://www.dynamicdrive.com
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    ****************************************************/
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    jQuery(function($){
        var typrs = $('.typer'), typng = [], tl = typrs.length, typr = 0;
        typrs.each(function(i){
            typng[i] = [$(this), new TypingText(this, 100, '_', delayType)];
        });
        function typeThem(){
            typrs.hide();
            typng[typr = typr % tl][0].show();
            typng[typr++][1].run();
        }
        function delayType(){
            setTimeout(typeThem, 3000);
        }
        typeThem();
    });
    </script>
    <!--/Text Typer -->
  3. If you like, you can preformat the Text Typer by adding code to your 'Additional CSS Definitions'. It's not required, but I think it adds to the effect.

    I was going for an "80's Sci Fi thinking computer" look with mine. Looks great on my black background. You do what looks best for your style(s).
    Code:
    /* ***** Text Typer ***** */
    
    .typer{
         font-family: lucida console;
         font-weight: bold;
         color: #00ff00;
    }
    *Click Save* (NOTE: If you use multiple styles, you will need to repeat steps 2 & 3 for each style you use.)
  4. Now, for the final step, we go Admin CP > Custom BB Codes > Add New BB Code.
    • Title:
      Code:
      Text Typer
    • BB Code Tag Name:
      Code:
      typer
    • Replacement:
      Code:
      <span class="typer">{param}</span>
    • Example:
      Code:
      [typer]Your Text Here...[/typer]
    • Description:
      Code:
      Self typing text effect.
    • Use {option}:
      Code:
      No
    • Button Image (Optional):
      Code:
      I Really Have No Idea What A 'Text Typer' Button Should Look Like, So Suggestions Are Welcome
    • Remove Tag If Empty:
      Code:
      Yes
    • Disable BB Code Within This BB Code:
      Code:
      Yes
    • Disable Smilies Within This BB Code:
      Code:
      Yes
    • Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code:
      Code:
      No
    *Click Save* and we're done.
Now for the 'important' bit.
This code is specifically designed to show one(1) instance of the text typer effect at a time. Meaning that if more than one post on a page contains the [typer] code, they will take turns displaying it. Also, being Java based, the effect will not show on 'Quick Reply' until the page is refreshed.

Please Note: I did not write the Text Typer script. I merely made it work as a vBulletin BB Code.
The Typing Text script utilized for this BB Code was written by 'Twey' at Dynamic Drive, and is available for download HERE. He has attached a notice of authorship to the code, and I have to ask that you DO NOT REMOVE IT.
The jQuery functions were done by 'jscheuer1', also at Dynamic Drive. You can find the original code posted HERE.

For a preview of the functioning BBCode go HERE

Download Now

File Type: zip Text Typer BBCode.zip (4.2 KB, 65 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:12 PM
Thelonius Beck's Avatar
Thelonius Beck Thelonius Beck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornstar View Post
As I feared, it's your BBCode name itself.

Your post shows you posting [typer]word word[/typer], but you BBCode list shows the BBCode to be [Text Typer].

To fix this, just go:

AdminCP> Custom BB Codes > BB Code Manager > Text Typer

Then change the second input field, 'BB Code Tag Name:', from ( Text Typer ) to ( typer ). All will be resolved.

*Parenthesis are for clarity only, of course, don't put them into the input field.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:47 PM
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,469
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelonius Beck View Post
As I feared, it's your BBCode name itself.

Your post shows you posting [typer]word word[/typer], but you BBCode list shows the BBCode to be [Text Typer].

To fix this, just go:

AdminCP> Custom BB Codes > BB Code Manager > Text Typer

Then change the second input field, 'BB Code Tag Name:', from ( Text Typer ) to ( typer ). All will be resolved.

*Parenthesis are for clarity only, of course, don't put them into the input field.
Thanks, I must be going blind. Don't know how I missed that. I must not have pressed copy for that second one.

So is this working correctly: http://www.gamerzneeds.net/forums/sp...ml#post1659611


I thought on yours it started typing straight away, but on mine it appears to show you the whole text, and than start typing, and than it just keeps repeating. (I might have to check out your demo again).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-23-2011, 09:21 PM
Thelonius Beck's Avatar
Thelonius Beck Thelonius Beck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Not a problem.

Yes, everything looks to be working A-OK there. I think what you're seeing as it showing you the full text first is a byproduct of load time. I've noticed it before too, but I really just think that the script reached the end of the sentence before the page was done loading as I've also seen it "start" mid sentence.

It all makes more sense once you get a couple posts in a row using that code, as you start to see the cycle it runs in. It repeats (as you noted), but only after it has run each instance of code on the page.

ie.

Post #1 runs code-clears
then post #2 runs code-clears etc.

then it starts over with post #1 again.

I dunno, I'm rambling now. I keep feeling like I can't properly explain it. lol
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-23-2011, 10:48 PM
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,537
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelonius Beck View Post
That's a really great idea. I'll look into it.

EDIT: Do you already have a news ticker installed?
Yes, I have the vbnews ticker installed.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-23-2011, 11:02 PM
Thelonius Beck's Avatar
Thelonius Beck Thelonius Beck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
Yes, I have the vbnews ticker installed.
OK, I was just checking to see what kind of features you wanted out of a News Ticker.

I've looked at the code for that one, and there's no good way to integrate a typed effect with it, so I'll see if I can come up with a scratch build that does all vbnews ticker does.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:17 AM
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,537
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelonius Beck View Post
I've looked at the code for that one, and there's no good way to integrate a typed effect with it, so I'll see if I can come up with a scratch build that does all vbnews ticker does.
That would be awesome.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-25-2011, 09:05 PM
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,469
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I was wondering, is there any modification that can make certain BBCode like this one, only work in certain forums?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03-26-2011, 08:53 PM
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 770
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This looks very promising... I think with more tweaks and all.. it will be really awesome!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-27-2011, 02:19 PM
Thelonius Beck's Avatar
Thelonius Beck Thelonius Beck is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hornstar View Post
I was wondering, is there any modification that can make certain BBCode like this one, only work in certain forums?
I dunno. Once I recover a bit from Friday's shoulder surgery, I'll do a search. It sounds usefull.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreshFroot View Post
This looks very promising... I think with more tweaks and all.. it will be really awesome!

What type of tweaks were you thinking about?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 03-28-2011, 02:57 AM
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 770
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thelonius Beck View Post
I dunno. Once I recover a bit from Friday's shoulder surgery, I'll do a search. It sounds usefull.




What type of tweaks were you thinking about?
Well the only problem I have is that you have to wait for each message as you mentioned. So if I was going to a thread to view the last post.

I am stuck waiting mins for the last post to show up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04536 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,345KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (13)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete