Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Modifications > vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System Details »»
UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.8.1 Rating:
Released: 02-06-2009 Last Update: 02-07-2009 Installs: 16
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

UKBL ~ Easy Vertical Menu System


Well you wanted Dropdowns and you got them, Now you want Vertical Menu's, Here they are


DEMO : http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/vertical.html

Default VB Colors DEMO: http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/vbull_vert.html

Following on from the Easy Menu Tabs and the Quality Dropdowns, this is a new style of menu for sites that use side columns or even VBa

Done in a plain Neutral color scheme to compliment most sites you can change the color scheme by simply changing the hex color codes in the CSS part of the code.

This is suitable for ALL browser types



This example has sub menus within sub menus so you can see how to edit them to add more for your site



So if your happy with that, Lets begin.............

Firstly we need to Download the zip file, This has the code to edit plus related graphics, so you've downloaded the code, lets start

Open the code in your fave Text Editor (Notepad is ideal for this )

Find in the code

Code:
/*"""""""" Custom Rule""""""""*/	
	ul#qm0 li .qmparent	
	{	
		background-image:url(http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/cssalt1_arrow_right.gif);
		background-repeat:no-repeat;
		background-position:97% 50%;
you will see referance to a gif, change the URL of the gif to where you are going to install your gif, Be it in your forums image directory or even photobucket, the choice is yours.

then find the other gif url here

Code:
/*"""""""" Custom Rule""""""""*/	
	ul#qm0 li:hover > a.qmparent	
	{	
		background-image:url(http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/cssalt1_arrow_right_hover.gif);
		text-decoration:underline;
	}
and do the same as the one above, change my url to yours

Then find....

Code:
<!-- Add-On Settings -->
	<script type="text/JavaScript">

		/*******  Menu 0 Add-On Settings *******/
		var a = qmad.qm0 = new Object();

		// Item Bullets Add On
		a.ibullets_apply_to = "parent";
		a.ibullets_main_image = "http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_main_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_main_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_main_position_x = -16;
		a.ibullets_main_position_y = -4;
		a.ibullets_main_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_main_align_y = "middle";
		a.ibullets_sub_image = "http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_sub_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_sub_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_x = -12;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_y = -2;
		a.ibullets_sub_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_sub_align_y = "middle";
and change the gif url to where you will upload your gifs

Then all you need to do next is upload the gifs from the zip file to the url that you made in the steps above

So thats the CSS part done, Next we need to edit our menu links, I've set the default to my forum but its easy enough to change them for yours or even if you want to add extra items, So lets start changing our menu links

First Find..

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="My Control Panel">My Control Panel</a>

		<ul>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editavatar" title="Edit Avatar">Edit Avatar</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editsignature" title="Edit Signature">Edit Signature</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editoptions" title="Edit Options">Edit Options</a></li>
		<li><span class="qmdivider qmdividerx" ></span></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/subscription.php?do=viewsubscription" title="List Subscriptions">List Subscriptions</a></li>
		</ul></li>
Thats our first block called "My Control Panel" all you need to do is edit these menu links to an url of your forum

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/profile.php?do=editavatar" title="Edit Avatar">Edit Avatar</a></li>
Don't forget once you've changed the URL, you can change the description, which you can find right at the end ">Edit Avatar</a></li>

Do that for all the links and by then you'll have your own Vertical Menu Tabs.

To see how the menu from a sub menu works, you need to find the Calendar Link in the Code


It starts like this

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Calendar">Calendar</a>
and then the menu links off from that, are similar to the menu links above, all together they look like this, showing the parent menu "Todays Post"

Code:
<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Todays Post">Todays Post</a>

		<ul>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/search.php?searchid=167" title="Todays Post">Todays Post</a></li>
		<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/search.php?do=getnew" title="New Post">New Post</a></li>
		<li><span class="qmdivider qmdividerx" ></span></li>
		<li><a class="qmparent" href="javascript:void(0)" title="Calendar">Calendar</a>

			<ul>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php" title="Calendar">Calendar</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&type=single&c=1" title="Add Single Event">Add Single Event</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&c=1" title="Ranged Event">Ranged Event</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&type=recur&c=1" title="Recurring Event">Recurring Event</a></li>
			</ul></li>
Thats its folks, Just save your code and upload it to the header or other section (side Colummns) of your forum or website

Please note as i don't use side columns or VBa, I cannot provide support in these areas.


To change the colors of the menu to suit your site, simply change the hex color code at the begining of the CSS part of the code, I like using this hex editor for this http://www.2createawebsite.com/build/hex-colors.html

Please click installed, for 100% support

UPDATE 08.02.09

You can now download the VBulletin Default Color Menu, This is exactly the same as the original except that the colors have been edited to Match the VBulletin Default theme



Enjoy

Download Now

File Type: zip Vertical Menu.zip (22.0 KB, 96 views)
File Type: zip vbull_vert.zip (22.1 KB, 64 views)

Screenshots

File Type: png vertical menu.png (12.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png vertical menu1.png (7.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png vbull_vert.png (17.7 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:13 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan View Post
Do you have demo please ?
Hi Allan,

Will be doing that for you in a moment, bear with me

here you go Allan http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/vertical.html

Check out the menu from the sub menu, on "Todays Post" "Calendar"

just going to add this to the first Post also
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-08-2009, 09:12 AM
Allan's Avatar
Allan Allan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: France
Posts: 1,513
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:53 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forum Lover View Post
UK, can we have it designed on vb's default style please? Thanks on credit.
You mean something like this



Just made the vertical menus the same Default Color as VBulletin, for all you guys using the default VBulletin theme

Just going to Install the zip file to the first post
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-08-2009, 05:00 PM
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi Uk...

I'm half way through editing. How do I get rid of the yellow box with text when you hover link?

thx
Attached Images
File Type: jpg links.jpg (54.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-08-2009, 05:35 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Hi Uk...


I'm half way through editing. How do I get rid of the yellow box with text when you hover link?



thx
LOL, thats the Tool Tip to delete it just remove this part of the code where you have your menu links (in Red)

Code:
<li><a href="http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/calendar.php?do=add&c=1" title="Ranged Event" >Ranged Event</a></li>
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:13 PM
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yeah I know its early here.... trying to stay awake listening and keeping tabs on the bushfires here in victoria , australia

thanks uk
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:19 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AURFSCAN View Post
Yeah I know its early here.... trying to stay awake listening and keeping tabs on the bushfires here in victoria , australia

thanks uk
No problems buddy, You make sure you have a hose pipe handy

Its pretty hot down there, i take it??
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:30 PM
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

43 degrees Celsius - 110 Fahrenheit

bit cooler now

I have one last drama if you could help that would be great.

In firefox its all good, in ie the arrows are on the left out of the container, problably my fault
I'm trying to track it down but works perfect in ff

thx again
Attached Images
File Type: jpg links.jpg (30.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-08-2009, 06:40 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to make sure that the code in the "Custom Rule" sections are not altered except to change the URL of your arrows, Just check both of them, one is directly below the other.

Code:
/*"""""""" Custom Rule""""""""*/	
	ul#qm0 li .qmparent	
	{	
		background-image:url(http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/cssalt1_arrow_right.gif);
		background-repeat:no-repeat;
		background-position:97% 50%;
also the "Add on Core"

Code:
// Item Bullets Add On
		a.ibullets_apply_to = "parent";
		a.ibullets_main_image = "http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_main_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_main_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_main_position_x = -16;
		a.ibullets_main_position_y = -4;
		a.ibullets_main_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_main_align_y = "middle";
		a.ibullets_sub_image = "http://ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum/images/qtbordercaps_arrow_right_gray.gif";
		a.ibullets_sub_image_width = 6;
		a.ibullets_sub_image_height = 8;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_x = -12;
		a.ibullets_sub_position_y = -2;
		a.ibullets_sub_align_x = "right";
		a.ibullets_sub_align_y = "middle";
Just make sure you havn't changed any of the setting in there.

Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-08-2009, 08:35 PM
AURFSCAN AURFSCAN is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 328
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks uk for the great support.


I tried the code in a html page within vbulletin (easy pages and Logician's WebTemplates) in ie and it works fine..
so the problem lies within the vbadvanced module.

Since I'm going to use your VMS in ultimate side colums , there wont be a problem in ie.

Any idea as to why VMS wont display properly in a vbadvanced block in ie for me ?

thankyou
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08043 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,366KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (7)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete