Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Forum Intro 1.0.3 Details »»
Forum Intro 1.0.3
Version: 1.0.4, by jaks jaks is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Display Enhancements - Version: 3.6.8 Rating:
Released: 12-05-2006 Last Update: 11-22-2007 Installs: 50
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

Again this being such a simple mod there is no updates needed for 3.7beta3 either so for so good. I will keep posting the compatibility as I upgrade my site.

I should also mention that I was approach by a member that wants to produce a souped up version of this hack for 3.7 with additional doodads and what have you. I will also keep you informed of that as soon as I findout. I'll jump this mod up to 3.7 today sometime but like I said there are no changes.

There is no changes in the code from 1.0.1 to 1.0.3 I just added to the readme and updated the version number in the xml file.

*** Please do not update to version 1.0.4 if you have an earlier version because you will get a duplicate entry error.***

***Version 1.0.4 only adds a header in Admin so updating is not required***

This is my first real addon and was inspired by Adrian's forum sponsors hack.

What does it do?
It just puts a forum specific table on any forum you choose where you can add more forum info, a larger description, rules specific, links or whatever else you want.

It adds 4 new fields when editing a forum in admincp>>>Forums & Moderators>>>Any forum you want to add the Forum Intro to, near the bottom of the page you will find the following fields.
1. Radio Buttons - Turn on and off Forum Intro
2. Text field - Intro Title
3. Text Area - Some sort of content like a description, forum intro, links, ads etc..
4. Text field - Optional image URL. It uses the title as the image alt and when used creates a separate cell between the content and it.

You can change the template to suit your needs. I didn't do much to it so if anyone wants to post some templates for it please do.

Install: (Should work on VB3.6.x tested on VB3.6.3 - VB3.6.8p2-VB3.7beta3)
1. Import product_forum_info.xml
2. Add the code below to the forumdisplay template below $navbar is a good place to put it. ( Found in the readme as well)
Updated the template below to match the readme. Hopefully this fixes the error when adding the template edit when copying from the browser. If not, just use the code from the readme as it is the same.
Code:
<!-- Begin Forum Intro  -->
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumintroonoff'] == 1">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
 
    
      <tr>
        <td  class="tcat" border="1" valign="top" colspan="2"><div align="center">$foruminfo[forumintroname]</div></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td class="alt1" valign="top"><if condition="$foruminfo['forumintroimage']"><img src="$foruminfo[forumintroimage]" alt="$foruminfo[forumintroname]" border="0" align="left"></td><td class="alt1" valign="top"></if><div align="left">$foruminfo[forumintrodescr]</div></td>
      </tr>

</table>
<br>
</if>
<!-- / End Forum Intro  -->
Anyway this is a pretty basic hack, addon whatever you want to call it. Did this to see if I can get the rank up for individual forums on my site.

FORUMHOME or Forum wide(Both need to be manually edited with your HTML)
Below is an example template that you would add below $navbar in the Forumhome template. (This would only show on the forum index page.)
For Forum wide add to the bottom of the Navbar template. (This will be on all pages where the Navbar Template is used. NOT RECOMMENDED)

Code:
<!-- Begin ForumHome Intro  -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
 
    
      <tr>
        <td  class="tcat" border="1" valign="top" colspan="2"><div align="center">Put The Block Title here</div></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td class="alt1" valign="top">
<img src="Put Image URL Here" alt="Put Image Title Here" border="0" align="left"></td>
<td class="alt1" valign="top"><div align="left">Put your Content Here using HTML</div></td>
      </tr>

</table>
<br>
<!-- / End ForumHome Intro  -->
Obviously it would look the same as in the forums but below is an example from my site.


enjoy

Hopefully I posted this right. Be gentle if I didn't, I'm fragile.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #12  
Old 12-07-2006, 05:46 AM
Slash_ Slash_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-07-2006, 07:03 AM
Magnetism Magnetism is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 12
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shana View Post
I can't find the admin part o_O

Did you look in vboptions? It's usually towards the bottom however I have not installed this mod so I don't know for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:08 AM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shana View Post
I can't find the admin part o_O
I added this to post #1 of this thread aswell to be a little clearer.

It adds 4 new fields when editting a forum in admincp>>>Forums & Moderators>>>Any forum you want to add the Forum Intro to. The new fields are near the bottom of the page.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-07-2006, 11:08 AM
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I installed version 1.0.2 but its showing 1.0.1 in my "Plugin & Products System"
Quote:
Forum Intro 1.0.1 Add an intro to specific forums.
Also i think you have missed something in templates because.. take a look at my forumdisplay page:

Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:27 PM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pehchaan View Post
I installed version 1.0.2 but its showing 1.0.1 in my "Plugin & Products System"


Also i think you have missed something in templates because.. take a look at my forumdisplay page:

I forgot to update the version number in 1.0.2. I'll do that now.

The border issue is a little strange. As you see by the screenshot the border is not missing on my site. You'll have to change the table style in the template edit to match your style because you obviously use a custom theme. My theme is based on the default style.

You could try changing this below in the table.
Code:
style="border-bottom-width:0px"
to
Code:
style="border-bottom-width:1px"
or remove that part altogether.

My table looks fine in both firefox and IE7. You can always make a template for it that fits better.

Edit: Ended up changing it to Version 1.0.3 to avoid confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:07 PM
TGR TGR is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great stuff, needed this. many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:14 PM
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Template problem solved but
When i upgrade the new product, i got database error:

Quote:
Database error in vBulletin 3.6.0:

Invalid SQL:
ALTER TABLE vb_forum ADD
(forumintroname text not null, forumintrodescr text not null, forumintroimage text not null, forumintroonoff int not null
);

MySQL Error : Duplicate column name 'forumintroname'
Error Number : 1060
Date : Thursday, December 7th 2006 @ 12:11:48 PM
Script : http://www.site.com/admincp/plugin.php?do=productimport
Referrer : http://www.site.com/admincp/plugin.php?do=productadd
IP Address :
Username :
Classname : vb_database
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:31 PM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Did you overwrite the product? Looks like you forgot that. There is really no need to update since there is no code change. It's just a change in the readme and version number.

Anyway let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:40 PM
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I checked again with overwrite but again same database error.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 12-07-2006, 03:44 PM
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I know there is nothing changed and hack is working fine at my site,
but you please make sure to fix this error in product, because i think this hack is better then others
So make it very clean!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09467 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,312KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete