Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin Details »»
datastore cache to XCache - boost your vBulletin
Version: 0.8.5, by phpxcache phpxcache is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Board Optimization - Version: 3.6.5 Rating:
Released: 03-02-2007 Last Update: 03-03-2007 Installs: 142
Code Changes Additional Files  
No support by the author.


(note: do not apply this patch on vBulletin 3.7 as it's included already)
This patch allow you to use XCache as a datastore cache in vBulletin. This is definitely your choice if you have installed and enabled XCache on you server already.

Take care that this is a beta version and was not heavily tested. And i'm not familiar with vBulletin source code as i just started reading it today, but i don't have any difficulty reading it thanks to my years of php skill

Take aware that some vB plugin is not compatible with vB_datastore_*, not just vB_datastore_XCache. So, in case you find vB_datastore_XCache won't work, you'd better try datastore to file or memcache. If one of the others works but not vB_datastore_XCache, do report it to me so i can fix it.

Pre-requirement
Install the modification
for those of you who can't run "patch", u may patch the file manually
  • download Attachment 61372 (class_datastore_xcache.php)
  • save the file as vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php
  • open vBulletin.3.6/upload/includes/class_datastore.php in your favor editor
  • add a line in class_datastore.php (see below)
  • update upload/includes/config.php to enable it (see below)

example class_datastore.php after modification:
PHP Code:
        }
        return 
true;
    }
}

// add class_datastore_xcache, enable it in config.php
require_once(DIR '/includes/class_datastore_xcache.php');

/*======================================================================*\
|| ####################################################################
|| # Downloaded: 12:33, Fri Mar 2nd 2007
|| # CVS: $RCSfile$ - $Revision: 15474 $
|| ####################################################################
\*======================================================================*/ 
example config.php after modification:
PHP Code:

    
// vB_Datastore_Filecache  - for using a cache file
// $config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_Filecache';
$config['Datastore']['class'] = 'vB_Datastore_XCache';
    
// vB_Datastore_Memcached - for using a Memcache server
    // It is also necessary to specify the hostname or IP address and the port the server is listening on 
Trouble Shooting
q. i have multiple vBulletin instance installed, the seems to mix data after install this plugin
a. this applies to apc too because, if you wanna fix it, try
open class_core.php, look for:
$this->prefix =& $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'];
and modify to:
$this->prefix = $this->registry->config['Datastore']['prefix'] . $_SERVER['SERVER_NAME']; // or HTTP_HOST

q. Warning: unserialize() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in $a.php on line $b
a. upgrade your plugin/hack that $a.php belongs to, e.g. vbjournal/vbgallery etc. OR open $a.php and locate at line $b, remove unserialize call, e.g.:
replace $var = unserialize($this->data);
with $var = $this->data;
be careful do not remove the whole line, just the unseralize( and )

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #142  
Old 10-09-2007, 06:37 PM
rwilkins108's Avatar
rwilkins108 rwilkins108 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 77
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hmm, I got xCache 1.2.1 working, but for some reason the Clogs keep on going up and up, much faster than anything else, plus it is always compiling... Searching on line other people have had the same problem, but doesn't look like there is a solution. My setup win2003 - Apache v2.2.3 - php5.2.4


PHP Code:
        Slots    Size    Avail     %  Compiling  Hits  Misses  Clogs  OOMs  Protected  Cached  Deleted  GC 
php
#0  8.00 K  64.00 M  62.06 M         yes       0      10    5,111   0        no        9       0 
[xcache]
xcache.shm_scheme = "mmap"
xcache.size = 64M
xcache.count = 1
xcache.slots = 8k
xcache.ttl = 0
xcache.gc_interval = 0

; same as aboves but for variable cache
xcache.var_size = 64M
xcache.var_count = 1
xcache.var_slots = 8K

xcache.var_ttl = 0
xcache.var_maxttl = 0
xcache.var_gc_interval = 300

xcache.test = Off
xcache.readonly_protection = Off
xcache.mmap_path = "/dev/zero"

Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 10-12-2007, 01:59 AM
hilfe-forum hilfe-forum is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Posts: 198
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Love it...
Board index Loading Time goes to 15 sec (before 22 sec)
THX for this hack!
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 10-12-2007, 06:21 AM
lazytown lazytown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 503
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there any way to disable this for certain mods or modify them to work with the xcache datastore?

If the datastore won't work, is there still some benefit to the filestore? I noticed that works with all my mods and Xcache actually caches it as a php file.

-vissa
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 10-12-2007, 06:22 AM
lazytown lazytown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 503
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hilfe-forum View Post
Love it...
Board index Loading Time goes to 15 sec (before 22 sec)
THX for this hack!
Wow, but that's still a horrendously long load time!
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 10-12-2007, 01:22 PM
hilfe-forum hilfe-forum is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Posts: 198
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vissa View Post
Wow, but that's still a horrendously long load time!
Not realy
Its only a dual Xenon with 2 Gig RAM an 3 Medium Boards:

http://forum.hilfe-forum.eu/
http://www.hilfe-forum.eu/hilfe-forum/
http://musik.hilfe-forum.eu/

the biggest Board ( http://www.hilfe-forum.eu/hilfe-forum/ ) have a Million Post and ca. 80 Hacks...

So 15 sec loading Time is very god

now i optimize the xcache seting now loading Time is 10 sec.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 10-12-2007, 04:29 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

15 seconds is not very good, it's poor.

vb.org has over a million posts, so does Cable Forum - it either of them took that long to load up i'd be worried.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 10-12-2007, 04:38 PM
hilfe-forum hilfe-forum is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Posts: 198
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
15 seconds is not very good, it's poor.

vb.org has over a million posts, so does Cable Forum - it either of them took that long to load up i'd be worried.
But vb.org is 1 Board.
I have 3 Boards on 1 Dual Xenon with 2 Gig RAM
1. Board 900.000 Post 20 Hacks 600 Sub-Foren
2. Board 950.000 Post 80 Hacks 600-Sub Foren
3. Board 200.000 Post 1200 Sub-Foren (near 50.000 Post per Day per RSS Feed)

Thats not the same like vb.org
So i think for this is 15 sec. is very very good

(sorry for my bad english)

But back to Topik...
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 10-13-2007, 04:50 AM
lazytown lazytown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 503
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Are you talking 15 seconds as reported by vbMicroStats or some other method? I have 3 large VB forums (almost 3mil posts together) on 1 dual xeon and have load times of less than a second on the forum home. Plus the server runs about 10 other busy sites, an online learning center, some old UBB forums, etc.. Of course I do have 4GB and scsi raid 5. Still, your server/vb must not be optimized.

-vissa
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 10-13-2007, 08:36 AM
hilfe-forum hilfe-forum is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Posts: 198
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

vbMicroStats reported 1-8 sec...
But real loading Time (DSL 12000) = ~10 sec.
My Server has only one IDE HDD
Most Time need the Hacks and RSS-Feeds
Showtread have 132 queries...
Page generated in 1,25929 seconds with 132 queries [Server Loads: 3.20 2.87 : 3.52]

Can any mod Post 145-149 move to here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=197
THX
Reply With Quote
  #151  
Old 10-13-2007, 12:33 PM
Deriel Deriel is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Curitiba/PR - Brazil
Posts: 54
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

132 queries? Way too much Showthread is 12 queries in my board

Anyway, this is a really good MOD =] Thanks and congratulations!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05255 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,321KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete