Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Using PHPadsnew 2 with Vbulletin 3.
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774

Employee of Digital Media Graphix of Knoxville TN, currently developing a new framework / CMS

Knoxville TN
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline 01-30-2005, 10:00 PM

The following are some tips on using these two programs together, based on my own experience. It's expected that you know how to use phpadsnew 2 to set up ads and generate invocation code.

PHP Invocation
The first tip is how to use php invocation code. Using javascript is possible, but not all browsers support javascript and, in my experience, using php is faster.

The php invocation code phpadsnew generates will look something like this...

PHP Code:
<?php
    
if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
        if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
        echo 
$phpAds_raw['html'];
    }
?>
Place it in your PHPINCLUDE_START template, but omit the final echo statement and the <?php ?> tags. It will look like this...

PHP Code:
    if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) {
        if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
    } 
Now, to place the add, put the variable $phpAds_raw[html] in any template that you want that ad to appear (usually your header). Remember to omit the '' marks when placing the variable in a normal template - therefore $phpAds_raw['html'] becomes $phpAds_raw[html]

If you have multiple zones, you can string these together. On EN World we have a zone that only appears on our vbadvanced news page. On those pages we call the view_raw function an additional time for the extra zone (view_raw is the function that actually calls up the ad - the rest of the code initializes phpadsnew). Here's our code, as an example of a 2 zone system.

PHP Code:
if (@include(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'/phpads/phpadsnew.inc.php')) 
{
    if (!isset(
$phpAds_context)) 
    {
        
$phpAds_context = array();
        
$phpAds_raw view_raw ('zone:2'0'''''0'$phpAds_context);
        if (
defined('VBA_PORTAL'))
        {
            
$phpAds_context2 = array();
            
$phpAds_raw2 view_raw ('zone:3'0'''''0'$phpAds_context2);
        }
    }

Running Maintenance.php from the scheduled task manager
Ads new's maintenance.php file needs to run on a regular basis for it to perform correctly. You can invoke it from your scheduled task manager if you wish. If you do, I'd advise applying the following mod to the code of the maintenance.php file.

Open it and go to the ending ?> mark. Right about it add this.

PHP Code:
log_cron_action('PHP Ads New Maintenance Complete'$nextitem); 
And you're done. The file can now log it's cron action with vbulletin's cron manager. Note that if you make this change you will be unable to call the maintenance.php file without vbulletin since it will trigger a fatal error (call to undefined function). Also, there's a glitch in phpadsnew - when vbulletin invokes maintenance.php it somehow forgets that it was ever invoked. The log files both in vbulletin and in phpadsnew itself speak differently, but phpadsnew continues to echo a message saying the maintenance.php script hasn't been ran which can be ignored.

Any other tips/comments/questions welcomed.

PHP Ads New 2 is at http://www.phpadsnew
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 01-24-2006, 01:33 PM
3dfusion 3dfusion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have the same problem. The error message is:

Code:
Datenbankfehler in vBulletin 3.5.1:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT pageid, title, name, parentid, userperms FROM vb3_adv_pages WHERE active = 1 ORDER BY displayorder;

MySQL-Fehler : Table '3df_adserv.vb3_adv_pages' doesn't exist
Fehler-Nr.   : 1146
Datum        : Tuesday, January 24th 2006 @ 04:32:31 PM
Skript       : http://3dfusion.de/
Referrer     : 
IP-Adresse   : 84.190.244.97
Benutzername : Boris
Klassenname  : vB_Database
And this one:

Code:
Datenbankfehler in vBulletin 3.5.1:

Invalid SQL:

					UPDATE vb3_session
					SET lastactivity = 1138116751, location = '/', inforum = 0, inthread = 0, incalendar = 0, badlocation = 0
					WHERE sessionhash = 'c716a84e4d16708bb047ada984f3ef92';

MySQL-Fehler : Table '3df_adserv.vb3_session' doesn't exist
Fehler-Nr.   : 1146
Datum        : Tuesday, January 24th 2006 @ 04:32:31 PM
Skript       : http://3dfusion.de/
Referrer     : 
IP-Adresse   : 84.190.244.97
Benutzername : Boris
Klassenname  : vB_Database
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 01-24-2006, 02:00 PM
tgmorris tgmorris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3dfusion
I have the same problem. The error message is:

Code:
Datenbankfehler in vBulletin 3.5.1:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT pageid, title, name, parentid, userperms FROM vb3_adv_pages WHERE active = 1 ORDER BY displayorder;

MySQL-Fehler : Table '3df_adserv.vb3_adv_pages' doesn't exist
Fehler-Nr.   : 1146
Datum        : Tuesday, January 24th 2006 @ 04:32:31 PM
Skript       : http://3dfusion.de/
Referrer     : 
IP-Adresse   : 84.190.244.97
Benutzername : Boris
Klassenname  : vB_Database
And this one:

Code:
Datenbankfehler in vBulletin 3.5.1:

Invalid SQL:

					UPDATE vb3_session
					SET lastactivity = 1138116751, location = '/', inforum = 0, inthread = 0, incalendar = 0, badlocation = 0
					WHERE sessionhash = 'c716a84e4d16708bb047ada984f3ef92';

MySQL-Fehler : Table '3df_adserv.vb3_session' doesn't exist
Fehler-Nr.   : 1146
Datum        : Tuesday, January 24th 2006 @ 04:32:31 PM
Skript       : http://3dfusion.de/
Referrer     : 
IP-Adresse   : 84.190.244.97
Benutzername : Boris
Klassenname  : vB_Database
Not sure if it will solve your problem or not but you might try turning on 'compatibility mode' in phpAdsNew.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 01-24-2006, 02:18 PM
3dfusion 3dfusion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes, great! With the 'compatibility mode (database)' it works flawlessly
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:55 PM
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 842
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Looking for help in setting up Phpadsnew with VB 3.5.4 so banners show in the header template.

Tried all ways and so far had no luck.

HELP
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:19 PM
marcopolo marcopolo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 119
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Realist
Looking for help in setting up Phpadsnew with VB 3.5.4 so banners show in the header template.

Tried all ways and so far had no luck.

HELP
I'm having exactly the same problem

I'm running locally to test and having no luck whatsoever. I'm also running 3.5.4
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-14-2006, 02:03 AM
Warlock40 Warlock40 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 46
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have my phpadsnew on a seperate database. None of the local code would work until I used remote jscript. Seems to be working at the moment.

Found that the manuals are not very specific to vb at all. I'm not sure if I'm going to keep using this or not.

I'm now having problems getting my header banner to center. It may not be worth all the trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:13 PM
kurtbarker kurtbarker is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kogarah, NSW
Posts: 304
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

k guyz, I got this working on 3.5.1 [woot]

I am using "$phpAds_raw" in my header template, what would I need to add to that code to have the banner centered, coz at the moment it is left aligned by default
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:27 PM
WhyDoesItMatter WhyDoesItMatter is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Brain fart here .. Where's the PHPINCLUDE_START template?... lol...
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 04-18-2006, 02:49 AM
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,440
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

There is no phpinclude_start template in vB 3.5
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 04-18-2006, 12:10 PM
WhyDoesItMatter WhyDoesItMatter is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That explains why I couldn't find it, hahaha.. Thanks Zachery.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06128 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,321KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete