Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
  #1  
Old 03-22-2006, 02:16 AM
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 938
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Writing First Plug In

I am trying to write a plug in the reads a Single-Selection Menu from the profile fields. I have a scrolling marquee on my forumhome template and want to allow users to disable it. I am using the forumhome_complete hook and the plug in looks like this:
PHP Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<plugins>
    <plugin active="1">
        <title>User Forumhome Template Selection</title>
        <hookname>forumhome_complete</hookname>
        <phpcode><![CDATA[global $vbulletin;
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field15'] == 'View Announcement Marquee')
    $this->templatename = 'FORUMHOME';
else if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field15'] == 'Do NOT View Announcement Marquee')
    $this->templatename = 'FORUMHOME2';]]></phpcode>
    </plugin>
</plugins>
I coppied my forumhome template and made a custom template named forumhome2 that does nto contain the marquee.
Can some one tell me where I went wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:30 AM
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 2,575
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xplorer4x4
I am trying to write a plug in the reads a Single-Selection Menu from the profile fields. I have a scrolling marquee on my forumhome template and want to allow users to disable it. I am using the forumhome_complete hook and the plug in looks like this:
PHP Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>

<plugins>
    <plugin active="1">
        <title>User Forumhome Template Selection</title>
        <hookname>forumhome_complete</hookname>
        <phpcode><![CDATA[global $vbulletin;
if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field15'] == 'View Announcement Marquee')
    $this->templatename = 'FORUMHOME';
else if ($vbulletin->userinfo['field15'] == 'Do NOT View Announcement Marquee')
    $this->templatename = 'FORUMHOME2';]]></phpcode>
    </plugin>
</plugins>
I coppied my forumhome template and made a custom template named forumhome2 that does nto contain the marquee.
Can some one tell me where I went wrong?
The values of drop down fields are usually numbers as appose to text.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-22-2006, 03:26 PM
Carnage Carnage is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 760
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

can't you just do this in the templates by using something like <if condition="whatever"> show marquee </if>

Would be a hell of a lot easier to do...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2006, 04:12 PM
ericgtr's Avatar
ericgtr ericgtr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,407
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnage-
can't you just do this in the templates by using something like <if condition="whatever"> show marquee </if>

Would be a hell of a lot easier to do...
Agreed, something like this would be much easier:

Setup your profile field and just add something like this to your postbit somewhere.
Code:
<if condition="$post['field15']">
<FONT SIZE="4" FACE="courier" COLOR=white><MARQUEE BEHAVIOR=
SCROLL HEIGHT=25 WIDTH=80 BGColor=black>$post[field15]</MARQUEE></FONT>
</if>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2006, 09:29 PM
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 938
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

But a plug in would not require any template edits.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericgtr
Agreed, something like this would be much easier:

Setup your profile field and just add something like this to your postbit somewhere.
Code:
<if condition="$post['field15']">
<FONT SIZE="4" FACE="courier" COLOR=white><MARQUEE BEHAVIOR=
SCROLL HEIGHT=25 WIDTH=80 BGColor=black>$post[field15]</MARQUEE></FONT>
</if>
First off I already said this was on FORUMHOME.

Secondly the profile field is only there to be able to turn this on or off. That would just make prifle field 15 show up as an announcment wouldnt it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2006, 02:34 AM
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 938
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry if this is to n00b of a topics to go in here, but I seen the exact same thing work for the postbit switcher hack, which is what I mostly based this off of.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08749 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,215KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete