Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
v3 Arcade Lights Out Mode Details »»
v3 Arcade Lights Out Mode
Version: 1.0.2, by Gemma Gemma is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 4.x.x Rating:
Released: 10-24-2011 Last Update: 11-10-2011 Installs: 14
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files  
No support by the author.

I did this a long time ago, so I'd advise you to back up your v3ARCADE_PLAY template before you do anything else, just incase I've forgotten something

I released a simplified version of this to Premium Members on v3arcade.com, now here is the more advanced version.

What Does This Do?
Basically, when you turn lights down, the entire page darkens and let you play the game in the 'dark' which cuts out distractions.

I've also added a section of code which will show a game description (if one is available) above the game instructions.

Open your headinclude template and add:
Code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://code.jquery.com/jquery-latest.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/lights.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
</vb:if>
Save the template.

In your v3ARCADE_PLAY template and find:
Code:
<!-- main -->
            <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw flashcode}</div>
            <vb:if condition="$game['instructions']">
                <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw game.instructions}</div>
            </vb:if>
            <!-- /main -->
        </td>

        <td valign="top" style="width: 200px; padding-left: 10px;">
            <!-- right area -->
Replace that with:
Code:
<!-- main -->
<div id="acontainer">
          <div id="header">   
            <div id="command"><a class="lightSwitcher" href="javascript:foo();">Turn off the lights</a></div>
        </div>
        <div id="movie">
            <div class="blockrow">{vb:raw flashcode}</div>
                        
            <!-- /main -->

<table width="700" border="0">
 <vb:if condition="$game['description']">
  <tr>
   <th scope="row"><span><b>Description:</b> {vb:raw game.description}<br/><br/></span></th>
    </tr>
    </vb:if>
<vb:if condition="$game['instructions']">
  <tr>
    <th scope="col"><span><b>Instructions:</b> {vb:raw game.instructions}</span></th>
    </tr>
    </vb:if>  
</table>
</td>
        <td valign="top" style="width: 200px; padding-left: 10px;">
            <!-- right area -->
Still in v3ARCADE_PLAY find:
Code:
{vb:raw footer}
Below that add:
Code:
</div>
    </div>
    <div id="shadow"></div>
Save the template.

Upload the contents of the zip file to your server using your FTP

css/lights.css
js/lights.js
images/arcade/light_bulb.png
images/arcade/light_bulb_off.png
images/arcade/shade5x5.png

You can see a live demo in our arcade, play a game and click on 'Turn The Lights Off'.

To upgrade from version 1.0.1 to version 1.0.2, unpack the archive and upload the files. No need to re-edit any templates

Version History
1.0.1 - Initial release on vB.org
1.0.2 - Added new lights.css file

If anyone wants to further develop any of my addons, you are free to do so.

Download Now

File Type: zip v3 Arcade Lights Out 1.0.2.zip (6.4 KB, 57 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpg lights.jpg (80.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg lights_out.jpg (27.2 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:00 AM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woffie View Post
Well, the link for turning on and off the lights is right above the game. I click on it and it changes status but does not actually turn off the lights.
I've updated this version. Sorry about that.

To upgrade from version 1.0.1 to version 1.0.2, unpack the archive and upload the files. No need to re-edit any templates(unless you've removed the edits ofcourse).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-11-2011, 04:59 PM
woffie's Avatar
woffie woffie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Kewl, hope the new version works for me. My members are gonna love this. I have some serious gamers on my site.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-11-2011, 09:39 PM
woffie's Avatar
woffie woffie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You do mean the headinclude for the forum not the arcade_headinclude right?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-11-2011, 10:07 PM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woffie View Post
You do mean the headinclude for the forum not the arcade_headinclude right?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-12-2011, 12:38 AM
woffie's Avatar
woffie woffie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 264
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Still not working for me.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-12-2011, 12:52 AM
Mooff Mooff is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 301
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

check whether you are already using a jquery file on your server and if you do include it above the code Gemma provided. Loading multiple jquery files on the same site does break the jquery functionality in many cases.

You could try to remove the jquery line and try this codeblock instead:
Code:
<vb:if condition="THIS_SCRIPT == 'arcade'">
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/lights.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="css/lights.css"/>
</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-12-2011, 08:03 AM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woffie View Post
Still not working for me.
Can you try following the instructions in post #7
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-12-2011, 08:56 AM
ofir24 ofir24 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 162
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

how do i translate it to heb? i try to translate the words in js file but it didn't show good.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-12-2011, 11:34 AM
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,229
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofir24 View Post
how do i translate it to heb? i try to translate the words in js file but it didn't show good.
No sure to be honest, the only wording that would need changed is the bits in red.

in the v3Arcade_PLAY template edit
Code:
<div id="command"><a class="lightSwitcher" href="javascript:foo();">Turn off the lights</a></div>
And in the lights.js file
Code:
$(this).html("Turn off the lights").removeClass("turnedOff");
        else
            $(this).html("Turn on the lights").addClass("turnedOff");
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-12-2011, 11:37 AM
ofir24 ofir24 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 162
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemma View Post
No sure to be honest, the only wording that would need changed is the bits in red.

in the v3Arcade_PLAY template edit
Code:
<div id="command"><a class="lightSwitcher" href="javascript:foo();">Turn off the lights</a></div>
And in the lights.js file
Code:
$(this).html("Turn off the lights").removeClass("turnedOff");
        else
            $(this).html("Turn on the lights").addClass("turnedOff");
that's exactly what i did, it translate it not good, how can i defined the coding langauge in js?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05004 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,347KB
  • Queries Executed 28 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (3)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete