Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-11-2009, 02:20 PM
MarkFoster MarkFoster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tipoboy View Post
i think i know what your trying to achieve, you want the navbar links part to have the image before and after, is this the same image that your navbar uses as its background?
No, I believe my background is a color.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2009, 02:34 PM
tipoboy's Avatar
tipoboy tipoboy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFoster View Post
No, I believe my background is a color.
i think you would have to create a new navbar table to allow the new pics to be added in there seeing as i'm going offline for a while i cant do it the now, but if you want feel free to pm me and i'll have a look
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2009, 03:21 PM
MarkFoster MarkFoster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tipoboy View Post
i think you would have to create a new navbar table to allow the new pics to be added in there seeing as i'm going offline for a while i cant do it the now, but if you want feel free to pm me and i'll have a look
Yeah that might be it.

Otherwise I have another idea.
how about you make this the background for the navbar place? http://www.rarewarecentral.com/forums/images/linebg.png
I wont be able to do that so if anybody who can add it where it should be in the code is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-11-2009, 03:46 PM
tipoboy's Avatar
tipoboy tipoboy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: scotland
Posts: 693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFoster View Post
Yeah that might be it.

Otherwise I have another idea.
how about you make this the background for the navbar place? http://www.rarewarecentral.com/forums/images/linebg.png
I wont be able to do that so if anybody who can add it where it should be in the code is appreciated.
to do that you'd have to to modify your css too
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-11-2009, 04:00 PM
MarkFoster MarkFoster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tipoboy View Post
to do that you'd have to to modify your css too
Yeah. If you'd give me a code and tell me where to add it I could do that.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-11-2009, 04:17 PM
TigerC10's Avatar
TigerC10 TigerC10 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 616
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFoster View Post
I've tried several times now. Trying to do things around, apparently it didn't work out.

Would you be able to place the image in the code where I need it instead?
The image is a waste, you should just resize what you already have in place.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-11-2009, 04:23 PM
Mr-Moo Mr-Moo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 130
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Your issue is in no relation to an image. What you need to do is modify your <TD> settings in your CSS.

If you locate:
Code:
    <td height="15" bgcolor="#0d150f">
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-top-width:0px">
The above code is the source of your issues (in red). I would recommend adding a new class in your CSS, possibly called .td1 or something on those lines and put in padding. However you will continue to run into a conflict with the original TD.

So in an essence you need to find a happy-medium between the TD and the table-data posted above. What is happening is the CSS table-data is superseding anything you place manually into the code.

Please let me know if I was able to be of any assistance!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-11-2009, 04:58 PM
MarkFoster MarkFoster is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 305
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Moo View Post
Your issue is in no relation to an image. What you need to do is modify your <TD> settings in your CSS.

If you locate:
Code:
    <td height="15" bgcolor="#0d150f">
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<div class="tborder" style="padding:1px; border-top-width:0px">
The above code is the source of your issues (in red). I would recommend adding a new class in your CSS, possibly called .td1 or something on those lines and put in padding. However you will continue to run into a conflict with the original TD.

So in an essence you need to find a happy-medium between the TD and the table-data posted above. What is happening is the CSS table-data is superseding anything you place manually into the code.

Please let me know if I was able to be of any assistance!
But I want the image there.
I really don't understand why there should be so many complications.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-11-2009, 05:25 PM
TigerC10's Avatar
TigerC10 TigerC10 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 616
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFoster View Post
But I want the image there.
I really don't understand why there should be so many complications.
Because the image is a much larger waste of bandwith and doesn't make the code any less complicated. In fact, putting the image there makes it less likely to be understood properly by all browsers.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-11-2009, 05:29 PM
Mr-Moo Mr-Moo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 130
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

TigerC10 is correct,

There is no reason to place an image there the same color of the background. You make it harder for spiders to run through, harder on the end-user PCs to render the page, wasting bandwidth, messy code, and a whole slew of other things (to my knowledge).

The best way is to size the table properly and have your coding validated by the CSS standards.

If you are truly bent on putting images there, place another table to create a separate CSS class with those variables there. But I can tell you right now, after reviewing your code, it is extremely messy and needs a lot of cleaning up.

However it looks very sharp
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04105 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,259KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete