Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Forum Intro 1.0.3 Details »»
Forum Intro 1.0.3
Version: 1.0.4, by jaks jaks is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Display Enhancements - Version: 3.6.8 Rating:
Released: 12-05-2006 Last Update: 11-22-2007 Installs: 50
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

Again this being such a simple mod there is no updates needed for 3.7beta3 either so for so good. I will keep posting the compatibility as I upgrade my site.

I should also mention that I was approach by a member that wants to produce a souped up version of this hack for 3.7 with additional doodads and what have you. I will also keep you informed of that as soon as I findout. I'll jump this mod up to 3.7 today sometime but like I said there are no changes.

There is no changes in the code from 1.0.1 to 1.0.3 I just added to the readme and updated the version number in the xml file.

*** Please do not update to version 1.0.4 if you have an earlier version because you will get a duplicate entry error.***

***Version 1.0.4 only adds a header in Admin so updating is not required***

This is my first real addon and was inspired by Adrian's forum sponsors hack.

What does it do?
It just puts a forum specific table on any forum you choose where you can add more forum info, a larger description, rules specific, links or whatever else you want.

It adds 4 new fields when editing a forum in admincp>>>Forums & Moderators>>>Any forum you want to add the Forum Intro to, near the bottom of the page you will find the following fields.
1. Radio Buttons - Turn on and off Forum Intro
2. Text field - Intro Title
3. Text Area - Some sort of content like a description, forum intro, links, ads etc..
4. Text field - Optional image URL. It uses the title as the image alt and when used creates a separate cell between the content and it.

You can change the template to suit your needs. I didn't do much to it so if anyone wants to post some templates for it please do.

Install: (Should work on VB3.6.x tested on VB3.6.3 - VB3.6.8p2-VB3.7beta3)
1. Import product_forum_info.xml
2. Add the code below to the forumdisplay template below $navbar is a good place to put it. ( Found in the readme as well)
Updated the template below to match the readme. Hopefully this fixes the error when adding the template edit when copying from the browser. If not, just use the code from the readme as it is the same.
Code:
<!-- Begin Forum Intro  -->
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumintroonoff'] == 1">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
 
    
      <tr>
        <td  class="tcat" border="1" valign="top" colspan="2"><div align="center">$foruminfo[forumintroname]</div></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td class="alt1" valign="top"><if condition="$foruminfo['forumintroimage']"><img src="$foruminfo[forumintroimage]" alt="$foruminfo[forumintroname]" border="0" align="left"></td><td class="alt1" valign="top"></if><div align="left">$foruminfo[forumintrodescr]</div></td>
      </tr>

</table>
<br>
</if>
<!-- / End Forum Intro  -->
Anyway this is a pretty basic hack, addon whatever you want to call it. Did this to see if I can get the rank up for individual forums on my site.

FORUMHOME or Forum wide(Both need to be manually edited with your HTML)
Below is an example template that you would add below $navbar in the Forumhome template. (This would only show on the forum index page.)
For Forum wide add to the bottom of the Navbar template. (This will be on all pages where the Navbar Template is used. NOT RECOMMENDED)

Code:
<!-- Begin ForumHome Intro  -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
 
    
      <tr>
        <td  class="tcat" border="1" valign="top" colspan="2"><div align="center">Put The Block Title here</div></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td class="alt1" valign="top">
<img src="Put Image URL Here" alt="Put Image Title Here" border="0" align="left"></td>
<td class="alt1" valign="top"><div align="left">Put your Content Here using HTML</div></td>
      </tr>

</table>
<br>
<!-- / End ForumHome Intro  -->
Obviously it would look the same as in the forums but below is an example from my site.


enjoy

Hopefully I posted this right. Be gentle if I didn't, I'm fragile.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #42  
Old 11-16-2007, 04:13 AM
Breathex Breathex is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 117
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaks View Post
Sorry people I haven't been around for a while. I got screw by Registerfly and my host at the same time so I lost a buttload of sites and files.




This was not designed for that but you should be able to do that manually by editting your forumhome template at the very top without this hack.
Thanks for the answer jacks, it would be very nice if you put an option for forumhome in the next version.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-17-2007, 07:43 PM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gforce75 View Post
Does this appear always? I mean there are better hacks if this does. Good concept though.
Not sure what you mean. Please explain. Are you talking about per usergroups, only the first forum page or something else?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-17-2007, 07:56 PM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breathex View Post
Thanks for the answer jacks, it would be very nice if you put an option for forumhome in the next version.
Like I said, this hack is not designed to do that on Forum Home but you can do it manually very easily. Below is an example template that you would add below $navbar in the Forumhome template. It was just a matter of removing the if statements and adding the info you need manually.

Code:
<!-- Begin ForumHome Intro  -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px">
 
    
      <tr>
        <td  class="tcat" border="1" valign="top" colspan="2"><div align="center">Put The Block Title here</div></td>
      </tr>
      <tr>
        <td class="alt1" valign="top">
<img src="Put Image URL Here" alt="Put Image Title Here" border="0" align="left"></td>
<td class="alt1" valign="top"><div align="left">Put your Content Here using HTML</div></td>
      </tr>

</table>
<br>
<!-- / End ForumHome Intro  -->
Obviously it would look the same as in the forums but below is an example from my site.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:25 AM
John3971 John3971 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 258
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i love this mod. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-21-2007, 12:57 PM
rpainter rpainter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 140
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great MOD!!!!

I did add a couple of things though (hope it's OK). Because the AdminCP stuff seemed to be getting lost under some other settings, I edited the xml file with the following code:

Starting at line 22, the first plugin looks like this:

PHP Code:
        <plugin active="1" executionorder="5">
            <
title>Forum Intro</title>
            <
hookname>forumadmin_edit_form</hookname>
    <
phpcode><![CDATA[print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['forumintroonoff'], 'forum[forumintroonoff]'$forum['forumintroonoff']);
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroname'], 'forum[forumintroname]'$forum['forumintroname']); 
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['forumintrodescr'], 'forum[forumintrodescr]'$forum['forumintrodescr']);]]>
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroimage'], 'forum[forumintroimage]'$forum['forumintroimage']);
</
phpcode>
 </
plugin
I changed it just a little to add a Header for the options. Here is the new code:

PHP Code:
        <plugin active="1" executionorder="5">
            <
title>Forum Intro</title>
            <
hookname>forumadmin_edit_form</hookname>
            <
phpcode><![CDATA[print_table_header($vbphrase['intro_forum_title']);
print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['forumintroonoff'], 'forum[forumintroonoff]'$forum['forumintroonoff']);
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroname'], 'forum[forumintroname]'$forum['forumintroname']); 
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['forumintrodescr'], 'forum[forumintrodescr]'$forum['forumintrodescr']);]]>
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroimage'], 'forum[forumintroimage]'$forum['forumintroimage']);
</
phpcode>
 </
plugin
Notice that in the "new" code, there is a new phrase (intro_forum_title). I added this code under the "Forum-Related" phrase type section (under the "Intro_Title" phrase).

PHP Code:
            <phrase name="intro_forum_title" date="1165422620" username="BigPig" version="1.0.3"><![CDATA[Forum Intro]]></phrase
Here is a screenshot of what it looks like:


This is not a major addition, but it does help me sort out all the stuff, and find it easily. If any of you find this useful, feel free to use it.

Again, I hope this is OK with you jaks. If it is not, let me know and I will remove this post.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 11-21-2007, 02:55 PM
periphrastic periphrastic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

trying to insert the template modification below navbar in forum display...it's just not showing up/"processing" - i open the template after adding the code, and the code is still gone - it's not being recognized
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 11-21-2007, 05:04 PM
rpainter rpainter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 140
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by periphrastic View Post
trying to insert the template modification below navbar in forum display...it's just not showing up/"processing" - i open the template after adding the code, and the code is still gone - it's not being recognized
Have you turned it "On" in the forum (AdminCP>Forums & Moderators>Forum Manager>Whatever Forum You Want)?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 11-21-2007, 06:54 PM
periphrastic periphrastic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

yep i have turned it on

the thing is, when i insert the code into the template and click "save" - i get a blank screen (well, actually, a blank blue screen, that is - which is the color of my forum) - there is no indication the changes have been saved

when i search in my templates for that particular code, it's not even there

so i input it again - click "save" - get the blank screen (with no indication it's been saved) - look for the code in my templates to see if it's there, anyway, and it's not there

i'm inputting the code in the correct template and attempting to save it, but it's not even saving it ?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 11-22-2007, 11:47 PM
nectons nectons is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: GREECE
Posts: 81
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It is not working or it is unuseless. My opinion is to add a feauture for anyone to try to enter the whole forum without to have to setting it for every single forum. Just my opinion. I clicked install btw.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 11-23-2007, 05:51 AM
jaks jaks is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 147
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpainter View Post
Great MOD!!!!

I did add a couple of things though (hope it's OK). Because the AdminCP stuff seemed to be getting lost under some other settings, I edited the xml file with the following code:

Starting at line 22, the first plugin looks like this:

PHP Code:
        <plugin active="1" executionorder="5">
            <
title>Forum Intro</title>
            <
hookname>forumadmin_edit_form</hookname>
    <
phpcode><![CDATA[print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['forumintroonoff'], 'forum[forumintroonoff]'$forum['forumintroonoff']);
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroname'], 'forum[forumintroname]'$forum['forumintroname']); 
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['forumintrodescr'], 'forum[forumintrodescr]'$forum['forumintrodescr']);]]>
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroimage'], 'forum[forumintroimage]'$forum['forumintroimage']);
</
phpcode>
 </
plugin
I changed it just a little to add a Header for the options. Here is the new code:

PHP Code:
        <plugin active="1" executionorder="5">
            <
title>Forum Intro</title>
            <
hookname>forumadmin_edit_form</hookname>
            <
phpcode><![CDATA[print_table_header($vbphrase['intro_forum_title']);
print_yes_no_row($vbphrase['forumintroonoff'], 'forum[forumintroonoff]'$forum['forumintroonoff']);
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroname'], 'forum[forumintroname]'$forum['forumintroname']); 
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['forumintrodescr'], 'forum[forumintrodescr]'$forum['forumintrodescr']);]]>
print_input_row($vbphrase['forumintroimage'], 'forum[forumintroimage]'$forum['forumintroimage']);
</
phpcode>
 </
plugin
Notice that in the "new" code, there is a new phrase (intro_forum_title). I added this code under the "Forum-Related" phrase type section (under the "Intro_Title" phrase).

PHP Code:
            <phrase name="intro_forum_title" date="1165422620" username="BigPig" version="1.0.3"><![CDATA[Forum Intro]]></phrase
Here is a screenshot of what it looks like:


This is not a major addition, but it does help me sort out all the stuff, and find it easily. If any of you find this useful, feel free to use it.

Again, I hope this is OK with you jaks. If it is not, let me know and I will remove this post.
rpainter, I'm not one of those uptight idiots that doesn't except help..lol Great addition. I will add it to the next release and put your name as a contributor. I think I'll fix up field #4 so people are clear that the image URL goes there.

Anyone else wish to contribute, please feel free.

Jon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07558 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,368KB
  • Queries Executed 27 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (3)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete