Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2006, 12:22 PM
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Using <li> tags for vBulletin "Quick Links"?

I am currently in the process of revamping my forum skin, and have come over a small stumbling block with regards to the drop down menus for "Quick Links" within the navbar template. For some reason after the "Quick Links" link on the navbar, all the remaining links are forced to reside on the next line down. Can anyone help me out here, i am assuming that because i am using <li> tags to render the menus instead of tables that this is the main cause of the issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2006, 01:16 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

List tags add a new line.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2006, 02:13 PM
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 6,693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

List tags are BLOCK-LEVEL ELEMENTS.

You'll need to use CSS to change it's DISPLAY to "inline". It's a bit advanced coding so I don't recommend taking this route.

There are some tuturials and examples on how you can do this on the WEB.
The trick is to make it work on all browsers.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:25 PM
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Princeton
List tags are BLOCK-LEVEL ELEMENTS.

You'll need to use CSS to change it's DISPLAY to "inline". It's a bit advanced coding so I don't recommend taking this route.

There are some tuturials and examples on how you can do this on the WEB.
The trick is to make it work on all browsers.
As you can see in the provided link to my forums the rest of the items within the list are all on the same line. Except the Logout button, which follows the "Quick Links" button, therefore i was assuming that this had something to do with the dropdown effect.

Here is my master CSS file, browsing to the bottom will direct you to the #navigation definitions which are used to create the horizontal list.

I tried changing the display from block to inline but this created basically the same effect.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:39 PM
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 6,693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry, I don't see quick links.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:43 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What Link? I don't see it on your site. You know that <li> tags should be wrapped in <ol> or <ul> tags. If not then it's kind of like puting tr and td without table.

If your using images then the easiest thing to do is just code them in reverse order and float:right each one and they will fall in line.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:00 PM
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Princeton
Sorry, I don't see quick links.
Ah, sorry i forgot that they are hidden from guests. I guess i'll just extract the appropriate code;

HTML Code:
<div id="navigation">

		<ul id="submenu">
			<li><a href="arcade.php$session[sessionurl_q]">Arcade</a></li>

			<li><a href="memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></li>
<if condition="$show['member']">			
<li><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></li>
<else />
<li><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></li>
</if>
<li><a href="psistats.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[psistats_link]</a></li>
<li><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4">$vbphrase[search]</a></li>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['userid']">
			<li id="usercptools"><a href="$show[nojs_link]#usercptools">$vbphrase[quick_links]</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("usercptools"); </script></li>
</if>
<li><a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&amp;logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]"  onclick="return log_out()"><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[log_out]</phrase></a></li>
		</ul>

	</div>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:14 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

vb adds that little down arrow image. I wonder if that has an effect on the list structure.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2006, 12:29 PM
michaelbenson's Avatar
michaelbenson michaelbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 221
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JumpD
vb adds that little down arrow image. I wonder if that has an effect on the list structure.
I have no doubt that some aspect of the javascript for creating or executing the drop down menus is the cause of the issue. Do you know of any way to actually remove this generated "arrow image"?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2006, 01:30 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelbenson
I have no doubt that some aspect of the javascript for creating or executing the drop down menus is the cause of the issue. Do you know of any way to actually remove this generated "arrow image"?
No, but you might want to give up the whole <li> thing. Seems like a dead end here.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04446 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,264KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete