Go Back   vb.org Archive > Community Discussions > Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid)
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:26 PM
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Google Adsense and Yahoo Publisher on same forum... How?

Hey. I noticed that on http://forums.digitalpoint.com/ - they're using both Adsense and YPN on the same pages - however, there's some type of rotation that changes the template so that ONLY one type is being used at a time. This keeps things legal by not having both types on the same page at the same time...

Does anyone here know how to accomplish that? I think it's a great idea to use both because both networks have different ads and it gives a forum more variety...

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:43 PM
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 4,438
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I would have a random number generator in the global start template. Then, in conditionals, I would check the value of that number. If it's even, I would show all google ads. If it's odd, I would show yahoo. That way, you control which type is shown throughout the page.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:50 PM
dilbert dilbert is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 251
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For those of us a little more programming challenged (me ) there's always phpAdsNew. I use it on my site, it's pretty easy to set up and works great.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2006, 01:40 PM
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amykhar
I would have a random number generator in the global start template. Then, in conditionals, I would check the value of that number. If it's even, I would show all google ads. If it's odd, I would show yahoo. That way, you control which type is shown throughout the page.
Would $25 to your PayPal account get me some code?

Was my offer bad?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2006, 10:59 PM
dilbert dilbert is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 251
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano
Would $25 to your PayPal account get me some code?

Was my offer bad?
I think it was fine, but not everyone wants to be hired.
Take a look at phpadsnew like I said, it's easy to use and will do exactly what you are looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2006, 11:38 PM
Adyum Adyum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 32
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You should use phpAdsnew you can set that it uses the same ad on the same page it is displayed. EX

If Yahoo is in 1 of the spots then it will go in all of the spots.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2007, 09:28 PM
GotVtec GotVtec is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 43
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have attempted to do this. I added the code to my global.php file:

Code:
$randomads = rand(1,2); //Display Google(1) or Yahoo (2)
Then I added this to my templates:
Code:
<if condition="$randomads == 1">
//Show Google Ads
<else />
//Show Yahoo Ads
</if>
But, I still get both displayed in my forums: http://www.v6performance.net/forums/

It seems as if the ones in under each forum, are always defaulted to 2.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:23 PM
Sal Collaziano Sal Collaziano is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Posts: 232
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

phpAdsNew2 (or now it's called OpenAds) is the best way to go. It's free and Very robust - though a bit complicated...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-17-2007, 10:50 PM
GotVtec GotVtec is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 43
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal Collaziano View Post
phpAdsNew2 (or now it's called OpenAds) is the best way to go. It's free and Very robust - though a bit complicated...
I am currently using the previous version. But I don't think that has options for Google Adsense and Yahoo Publisher.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.07584 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,244KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete