Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2013, 11:01 AM
Jon12345 Jon12345 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Choose 1 of 3 alternatives

I have 3 bits of code, but I only want to run one at any one time. So, I figured I could do something like this:

Code:
choice=2

If choice=1 then 
<run this code>

Else If choice=2 then
<run this code>

Else If choice=3 then
<run this code>

End If
I would just change the value assigned to the choice variable.

I can do this in visual basic but not sure how to do it in a vbulletin template. Any help from someone here?

I know I would have to login and edit the template each time I wanted to alter which bit of code ran. Is there any easier way that could avoid this time sapping login and search for template?

Thanks,

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2013, 12:07 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In vb templates you can do this:
Code:
<if condition="$choice == 1">
Choice 1
<else /><if condition="$choice == 2">
Choice 2
<else /><if condition="$choice == 3">
Choice 3
</if></if></if>

But what you can't really do is assign a value to $choice. Well, OK, you can but it's cheating. If you do this:
Code:
<if condition="$choice = 2"></if>

It has no effect on the template output but has a side effect of assigning the value.


As far as getting around the logging in an searching - maybe the easiest thing to do would be to create an admincp option for it. If you put your forum in debug mode (if you're not familiar with that, this article might be useful: www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=265999), then some links will appear on the admincp options pages that let you add new option groups and options (the link actually says "Add Setting"). If you create a new option with varname "my_choice" for example, then your template code can check the value by using $vboptions['my_choice'].
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2013, 11:45 AM
Jon12345 Jon12345 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you for that rather excellent reply. I am hopeful this might provide the solution I seek. I test different ad networks and often have to switch between them. Its a pain having to keep adding and deleting <!-- ---> all the time.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09183 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,178KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (3)post_thanks_box
  • (3)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (3)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (3)postbit
  • (3)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (3)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete