Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2008, 07:36 PM
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Too much memory used in PHP?

I made a parser which is using too much memory ( 38 megs ), how could I cut that down?

I must be doing something which is bad practice in PHP but I'm new to it.

PHP Code:
function fetch_bbcode_trigger_blocks(){
    return array(
        
'If (All Conditions Are True)',
        
'If - Conditions',
                ....
                
Continues for about 10
    
);
}
    
function 
fetch_bbcode_trigger_actions(){
    return array(
                       
'Set',
            
'---',    
            
'Skip Remaining Actions',
                         ....
                         
Continues for about 30  
    
); 
}
    
function 
fetch_bbcode_trigger_icons(){
    return array(
            
'If (All Conditions Are True)' => 'if',
            
'If - Conditions' => 'if',
                        ....
                        
Continues for about 40
    
);
}    

function 
NextLine($pos$code){
    
$nextl = ( strpos($code,'<br />',$pos) + );
    if ( 
$nextl ){
        return 
$next1;
    } else {
        return -
1;
    }
}

function 
IsBlockEnd($code$len){
    
$reglen strlen($code);
    
$newlen = ($reglen strlen(ltrim($code,"\t ")));
    return (
$newlen $len);
}

function 
IsBlock($code){
    
$type 0;
    
$blocks fetch_bbcode_trigger_blocks();
    foreach (
$blocks as $block){
        
$spos stripos($code,$block);
        if ( 
$spos ){
            return 
$block;
        }
    }
}

function 
IsAction($code){
    
$type 0;
    
$actions fetch_bbcode_trigger_actions();
    foreach (
$actions as $action){
        
$spos stripos($code,$action);
        if ( 
$spos ){
            return 
$action;
        }
    }
}

function 
IsUnknown($code){
    if ( 
IsBlock($code) ){
        return 
false;
    } elseif ( 
IsAction($code) ){
        return 
false;
    } elseif ( 
strpos($code'(') ){
        return 
false;
    }
    return 
true;
}

function 
handle_bbcode_trigger($code){
//v    global $vbulletin, $vbphrase, $stylevar, $show, $html_allowed;
        
$trig '';
        
// Define Images and HTML
        
$icons fetch_bbcode_trigger_icons();
        
$iempty '<img height=\"16\" width=\"16\" src=\"/imgs/jass/empty.gif\" alt=\"\"/>';
        
$iline '<img height=\"16\" width=\"16\" src=\"/imgs/jass/line.gif\" alt=\"\"/>';
        
$ijoin 'join';
        
$iblock '<div><a href=\'#top\' onclick=\'return ExpandCollapseNode(this,\"/imgs/jass/joinbottomplus.gif\",\"/imgs/jass/joinbottomminus.gif\")\'><img src=\'/imgs/jass/joinbottomminus.gif\' alt=\'Collapse\' border=\'0\' /></a><img src=\"/imgs/jass/join.gif\" alt=\"\" />';
        
$ibend '<img src=\"/imgs/jass/joinbottom.gif\" alt=\"\"/>';
        
// Start Predefines
        
$cur 0;
        
$setblock 0;
        
$blocklevel 0;
        
$lastlen 0;
        
$nextline NextLine(0,$code);
        
$action '';
        
$start '';
        
$end '';
        
$icon '';
        while ( 
$nextline != -|| $cur ){
            
$cur++;
            
$line substr($code$pos$nextline);
            
$pos $nextline;
            if ( 
$setblock != ){
                
$blocklevel = ($blocklevel $setblock);
                
$setblock 0;            
            }
            if ( 
$blocklevel == ){
                
// Is this a trigger name?
                
if (!$actiondefined){
                    if ( 
IsUnknown($line) ){
                        
// Yis!
                        
$setblock 1;
                        
$icon 'base';
                    }
                }
            } else {
                if ( 
IsBlockEnd($line,$lastlen) ){
                    
$setblock = -1;
                } elseif ( 
IsBlock($line) ){
                    
$setblock 1;
                    
$icon IsBlock($line);
                }
            }
            
$lastlen strlen($line);
            
// We can clean it now. IsBlockEnd requires whitespaces and tabs.
            
$line ltrim($line,"\t ");
            if ( 
$setblock <= ){
                
// Its a function...
                
$action IsAction($line);
                if ( 
$action != '' ){
                    
$icon $action;
                    if ( 
$blocklevel == ){
                        
$actiondefined 1;
                    }
                } else {
                    
$icon 'unknown';
                }
            }
            
$level $blocklevel;
            if ( 
$level ){
                while ( 
$level ){
                    if ( 
$blockhere[$level] == ){
                        
$start .= $iempty;
                    } else {
                        
$start .= $iline;
                    }
                    
$level--;
                }
                if ( 
$setblock ){
                    
$start .= $iblock;
                } elseif ( 
$setblock ){
                    
$start .= $ibend;
                } else {
                    
$start .= $ijoin;
                }
            } elseif ( 
$setblock ){
                
$start .= $iblock;
                
$start .= $ijoin;
            } 
            if ( 
$setblock ){
                
$end '</span></div>';
            } else {
                
$end '</span>';
            }
            
$start .= "<img height=\"16\" width=\"16\" src=\"/imgs/jass/" $icons[$icon] . ".gif\" alt=\"\" />',";
            
$start .= "<span>";
            
$line $start $line;
            
$line .= $end;
            
$trig .= $line;
            
$nextline NextLine($pos$code);
            
$action '';
            
$start '';
            
$end '';
            
$icon '';
        }
        
$code '';
        
$replace = array (
            
'<br>',
            
'<br />',
        );
        
$with = array (
            
'',
            
'',
        );
        
$trig str_replace($replace$with$trig);
    return 
$trig;

If it applies the error happens at "$trig .= $line;"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:10 PM
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Bump, I really can't fix this without input... I'm not asking for this to be understood but if anything which may cause the memory limit being reached is in use. I've made it so that loop will only run once but the memory limit is reached just the same.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:12 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What do you have your php_memory set at? Can you increase it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2008, 11:11 PM
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It dies at about 38 megs, I don't think the memory limit is the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:19 AM
cheesegrits's Avatar
cheesegrits cheesegrits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 500
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Have you tried putting in some var_dumps() to see what your various strings are getting set to? I'd try at least this:

var_dump($line,$start,$end);

... right before the $trig assignment where you say it usually bombs out.

What actual error are you getting when the script dies?

-- hugh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2008, 03:46 AM
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This might be important, to test it I have this code directly under the functions..

PHP Code:
$code 'Check Names
Events
Time - Elapsed game time is 300.00 seconds
Conditions
Actions
-------- 300 seconds is 5 minutes for the slow ones. --------
For each (Integer A) from 1 to 12, do (Actions)
Loop - Actions
If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
If - Conditions
Or - Any (Conditions) are true
Conditions
OriginalName[(Integer A)] Equal to mrapples
OriginalName[(Integer A)] Equal to anothernamehere
Clear[(Integer A)] Equal to False
Then - Actions
-------- It checks if a players name is equal to any of the names they shouldnt have. --------
-------- And then it checks if that player has been cleared by typing in the password. --------
-------- If he hasnt, then these actions are played. --------
Set OriginalName[(Integer A)] = SpoofingBadGuy
Set PlayerName[(Integer A)] = ((Substring(PlayerName[(Integer A)], 1, 10)) + (SpoofingBadGuy + |r))
Player - Set name of (Player((Integer A))) to SpoofingBadGuy
-------- This changes the OriginalName, CurrentName, and the Colored CurrentName to SpoofingBadGuy --------
-------- You can of course here punish that player here. Boot him, take his gold, whatever you want. --------
Else - Actions'
;
$code handle_bbcode_trigger($code);
echo 
$code
With the var_dump in place, the page showed 2 collapses, then a infinite number of string(##) join and the join.gif image.
Code:
string(331) "
Collapse\"\"join'," string(324) "
Collapse\"\"join'," string(7) "" string(82) "join'," string(75) "join'," string(7) "" string(82) "join'," string(75) "join'," string(7) "" string(82) "join'," string(75) "join'," string(7) "" string(82) "join'," string(75) "join'," string(7) ""....
It didn't actually time out with the var dump in place.


EDIT: This is starting too look like a bad PHP string parse, specifically with this line
PHP Code:
            $start .= "<img height=\"16\" width=\"16\" src=\"/imgs/jass/" $icons['$icon'] . ".gif\" alt=\"\" />'"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:05 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

PHP Code:
           $start .= "<img height=\"16\" width=\"16\" src=\"/imgs/jass/" $icons['$icon'] . ".gif\" alt=\"\" />'"
There is an ending single quote in that part that has no opening single-quote: alt=\"\" />'";
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:33 AM
Opserty Opserty is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,103
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Use single quotes around strings that contain lots of double quotes!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:47 PM
cheesegrits's Avatar
cheesegrits cheesegrits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 500
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

But I don't think that would be causing the runaway problem. That would just potentially screw up the HTML of any actual output.

Mr Apples - I suggest you look at using xdebug with something like Eclipse. It'll take a while to setup, and you'll need a test server which doesn't have the Zend Encoder loaded, but it's worth it. You'll wonder how the heck you managed before. With xdebug and a decent IDE like Eclipse or Komodo, you can just step through the code in real time, set breakpoints, watch variable values, etc. It makes debugging this kind of problem literally a zillion times easier. At least. Possibly a gazillion times.

The alternative is just to start putting in var_dumps every other line in the code, so you can start to see what is going on. Which may be quicker than the initial effort of setting up xdebug ... but it's like that "teach a man to fish" proverb ... it may take longer first time, but once you can fish and/or xdebug, you are set for life!

-- hugh
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2008, 08:17 PM
MrApples MrApples is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The source of the memory problem was a infinite loop, caused by my nubness when it comes to PHP string syntax ( clarified here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...42#post1440242 ), and that the || should have been a && to prevent the infinite loop.

It still doesn't work (of course), I'm getting impossible results, thats my problem though.

Thanks for the suggestion cheesegrits, I'll look into the xDebug thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04139 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,334KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete