Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-10-2005, 12:59 PM
Mr Blunt Mr Blunt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 133
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Adding TABLE_PREFIX in a manual query

I don't know if it's a vbulletin bug or maybe me telling people to do something that's incorrect and I seek advise here as I don't wish to report it as a bug until someone with more knowledge tells me they think the same.

In my "whodownloaded this attachment" hack....
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91390
.... I require adding one new field to vb's existing "user" table.

Post#13 shows C.Birch with a 1064 error when running my query.
Quote:
Query
ALTER TABLE " . TABLE_PREFIX . " user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL

vBulletin Message
An error occurred while attempting to execute your query. The following information was returned.
error number: 1064
error desc: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '" . TABLE_PREFIX . " user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL' a
Now please note his error shows a space between the quote mark and the word "user". My query does not have a space there, and since that user IS a coder here, I suspect he did not cut n paste my query incorrectly (but possible since I didn't ask him to confirm).


1) Is this a vbulletin bug and it's adding a space when it shouldn't?
2) Is the query I ask people to run incorrect?

Why am I now thinking that the " marks should be '
Hmmm
HELP?

For now I asked my installers to manually edit the query with their prefix if they use one but I'd rather not leave it like that if possible.

Crap, I'm sorry I asked a question in here.
I didn't mean that.

Can someone move this please?
(or answer it and it will then be a "how-to", LOL)
Again, I am truely sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:09 PM
Cloudrunner's Avatar
Cloudrunner Cloudrunner is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Butte, MT
Posts: 635
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Blunt
I don't know if it's a vbulletin bug or maybe me telling people to do something that's incorrect and I seek advise here as I don't wish to report it as a bug until someone with more knowledge tells me they think the same.

In my "whodownloaded this attachment" hack....
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91390
.... I require adding one new field to vb's existing "user" table.

Post#13 shows C.Birch with a 1064 error when running my query.


Now please note his error shows a space between the quote mark and the word "user". My query does not have a space there, and since that user IS a coder here, I suspect he did not cut n paste my query incorrectly (but possible since I didn't ask him to confirm).


1) Is this a vbulletin bug and it's adding a space when it shouldn't?
2) Is the query I ask people to run incorrect?

Why am I now thinking that the " marks should be '
Hmmm
HELP?

For now I asked my installers to manually edit the query with their prefix if they use one but I'd rather not leave it like that if possible.

Crap, I'm sorry I asked a question in here.
I didn't mean that.

Can someone move this please?
(or answer it and it will then be a "how-to", LOL)
Again, I am truely sorry.
if you are telling them to do a manual query and then tell them to cut and paste exactly the following query
PHP Code:
ALTER TABLE ".TABLE_PREFIX."user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL 
this will not work if they do a true cut and paste. The term 'TABLE_PREFIX' is a php definition from within vBulletin's resident filesystem. Unless they are using that query from within a php script that has called vBulletin's global.php, this term will not be defined, and MySQL does not know what that means.

I would tell the users to do the manual query
PHP Code:
ALTER TABLE *YourTablePrefix*user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL 
and to make sure that they replace the *YourTablePrefix* with what they have assigned the table prefix as, if any.

To explain better with your query, if the user who is running the query has a table prefix of "vb3_", then the query should be
PHP Code:
ALTER TABLE vb3_user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL 
for a manual run. Whereas a user that is not using a table prefix the query would look like this
PHP Code:
ALTER TABLE user ADD COLUMN downloads TEXT NOT NULL 
This is most likely where your problem has occured. The user will be required to replace the TABLE_PREFIX with what their system is using, otherwise MySQL will be looking for a table that is nonexistant.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:21 PM
Mr Blunt Mr Blunt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 133
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Your fix is basically what I told my other thread (meaning I concurr with you about solution).

But if they run the query from WITHIN the admincp, wouldn't globals be loaded?
I suppose it's possible he ran it from phpmyadmin, but why would he have?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:26 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It won't work from within the admincp either, the query is just passed straight to mysql (as is) - mysql will trip over the table prefix just the same.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:42 PM
Mr Blunt Mr Blunt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 133
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks guys!!

On a related note, I notice Cloudrunner has no semicolon at the end.

Should there be a semicolon at end of query?
Or not?
Or does it not matter either way?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2005, 03:39 PM
Christine's Avatar
Christine Christine is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 472
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Only if you are running multiple queries, which you can't do from the AdminCP.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:33 PM
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,972
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Since when do you add columns by ADD COLUMN? When you add columns in phpmyadmin, it will show the column addition as just "ADD" without any "COLUMN" afterwards.

EDIT: This tutorial confirms what I just said. So you might wanna replace ADD COLUMN with ADD.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:49 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

'ADD COLUMN' is the official syntax. You can however leave the 'COLUMN' out. Just the 'ADD' will be enough for MySQL to understand what you want.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-10-2005, 08:52 PM
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,972
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
'ADD COLUMN' is the official syntax. You can however leave the 'COLUMN' out. Just the 'ADD' will be enough for MySQL to understand what you want.
I see, thanks. However, if there is a short way to write something, and that way is compatible with every system regardless of its version and/or configuration, then I suppose you should use the shorter way to preserve space.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-10-2005, 09:08 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you want to be compatible with every system/configuration, you should stick to ANSI SQL, and use ADD COLUMN. There are no garantuees that i would work in future versions, and if vB would sometime support other database system (Oracle for example), you would be in more problems with only a ADD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04202 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,261KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete