Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-27-2004, 08:42 AM
Brad Brad is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,765
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclical
what about assigning a specific banner depending on what style you have chosen?

i.e. I have a light style and a dark style each with their own background color.
You will first need to find the style id's of the styles you wish to have banners on, for this block im asuming your dark style is id 1 and your light style is id 2.

Stick this in the phpinclude_start template:

PHP Code:
// if to find style id, probbly better as a switch but we are only using two styles in this case
if ($style['styleid'] == 1// light style
{
    
// run switch for banners
    
switch(intval(time() / 2) % 3)
    {
        case 
0:
        
$banner 'img1.jpg';
        
$banner_url 'www.mysite.com';
        break;
        case 
1:
        
$banner 'img2.jpg';
        
$banner_url 'www.mysite2.com';
        break;
        case 
2:
        
$banner 'img3.jpg';
        
$banner_url 'www.mysite3.com';
        break;
    }
}
else
{
    if (
$style['styleid'] == 2)
    {
            
// run switch for banners
            
switch(intval(time() / 2) % 3)
            {
                case 
0:
                
$banner 'img1.jpg';
                
$banner_url 'www.mysite.com';
                break;
                case 
1:
                
$banner 'img2.jpg';
                
$banner_url 'www.mysite2.com';
                break;
                case 
2:
                
$banner 'img3.jpg';
                
$banner_url 'www.mysite3.com';
                break;
            }
    }

Make sure to chage the urls/image names to the ones you want to use in the switch statement's.

Then use the same html I posted above in your templates.

Also this is a bit dirty but it will get the job done just as good as anything else will.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2004, 09:59 AM
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: England
Posts: 9,071
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In the meantime, let's move this out modifications hints and tips
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-28-2004, 02:00 AM
johnnyb johnnyb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 40
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Also, remember to change the:

Quote:
% 3)
To however many banners you choose to rotate!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-26-2004, 02:45 AM
DoKoK DoKoK is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How can I get a flash banner using this method?

As of now it doesn't work because it takes it as an image.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-26-2004, 09:50 PM
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 12,878
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the method is pretty much the same, you just have to assign html code into a variable which is switched in phpinclude_start and then use it in your header template.

it's not important what code is in your variable, the way itself will work on flash banners as well.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-27-2004, 09:07 PM
DoKoK DoKoK is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im not really sure how to do it...
I tried something but didnt work.

Can you give me an example?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-28-2004, 09:11 PM
DoKoK DoKoK is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I just need one of the 3 banners to be FLASH.

How would I change the code to fit that?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-12-2004, 01:15 AM
DoKoK DoKoK is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 36
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-21-2005, 01:55 PM
ChrisBaktis ChrisBaktis is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 409
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If support isnt dead on this tip - is there a way to use a banner that is hosted from an outside source? for example - If I try to use the following code it doesnt work.

<img src='https://hobbyclix.com/pm/gadserv.php?APID=00&affID=0000000' border='0'></a>

But If i copy and past this banner and put it on my server I can use it...

Any idea if this can be done?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-21-2005, 02:02 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,863
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, just put in the URL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04900 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,261KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete