Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
cellarius cellarius is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

Introduction

Starting with vB4, templates no longer get output using eval:
PHP Code:
eval('$mytemplate = "' fetch_template('mytemplate') . '";'); 
is outdated.
What's more: Variables and arrays from plugins that are executed on a page no longer can automatically be accessed in the templates of that page. They need to be registered first.
.
Basic functionality to render templates and register all variables/arrays you want to use inside

PHP Code:
/* Some Code, setting variables, (multidimensional) array */
$my_var "abc";
$my_array = array(
        
'key1' => 'value1',
        
'key2' => array(
                '
key21' => 'value21',
                '
key22' => 'value22'
        '
)
    );

/* render template and register variables */
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templater->render(); 
  • The first line provides the template that is to be rendered, using the new vB_Template class (vB_Template::create). The method gets passed the name of the template as an argument.
  • The following two lines register a variable and an array that we want to use in our template. Arguments passed are 1. the name you want to use to access the variable, and 2. the variable from the code you want to register. You can register as many variables/arrays as you want. Just remember you have to register every variable and array that you want to use in your custom template in this way. If you don't register them, they will not be available.
  • The fourth line renders the template ($templater->render()).
In the template you know will be able to use the registered variables/arrays in this way:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_var}
{vb:raw my_array.key1}
{vb:raw my_array.key2.key21}
Note the last one: multidimensional arrays are perfectly possible.
.
.
.
Now, with the result of the rendering we can do several things:
.
Output template directly - custom pages


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
print_output($templater->render()); 
This immediatly outputs the template. Use this if you have created your own page, for example.
Note the second line, which is special for this type of use:
PHP Code:
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
This auto-registers the page level templates header, footer and headinclude that you will use in the template of your custom page.
.
Use a template hook


PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2] .= $templater->render(); 
The template will be shown using the choosen template hook (for example: $template_hook[forumhome_wgo_pos2]). See the dot before the = in the last line? The hook may be used by other modifications, too, so we don't want to overwrite it, but rather append our code to it, conserving everything that might already be there.
.
Save into a variable for later use in custom template
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$mytemplate_rendered $templater->render(); 
Now we have saved the rendered template into a variable. This variable in turn we can later on register in another template, if we want:
PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('my_other_template');
     
$templater->register('my_template_rendered'$my_template_rendered);
 
print_output($templater->render()); 
Again, inside my_other_template we now could call
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_template_rendered}
If you're running the first template call inside a loop, you may want to use .= instead of = in the last line, so that the results of every loop get added instead of overwriting the existing. But that depends, of course.
.
Save into an array and preregister to use in an existing/stock template

PHP Code:
$templater vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
    
$templater->register('my_var'$my_var);
    
$templater->register('my_array'$my_array);
$templatevalues['my_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME'$templatevalues); 
  • This is another, more flexible method to save the rendered template into a variable for future use in an already existing template. In this example, we want to show our own rendered template on forumhome.
  • Problem is: We have no direct way to register variables for already existing templates like FORUMHOME. It's created and rendered in the files, and we don't want to mess there.
  • To help with this, a new method was created for vB_Template class, called preRegister. Using this, we can pass our data to FORUMHOME before it is rendered. Note that the data needs to be saved into an array ($templatevalues['my_insertvar']), a simple variable will throw an error. In the last line the array is preregistered; you need to pass as arguments 1. the name of the existing template and 2. the array that contains the data. Again, this can be done for as many arrays as needed.
  • Of course, the preRegister functionality can be used for any kind of variables or arrays, no matter whether you have saved a rendered template (like in our example) into it or it contains just a simple boolean true/false statement.
To access the data inside the template it was preregistered for use:
HTML Code:
{vb:raw my_insertvar}
Note: it is not {vb:raw templatevalues.my_insertvar}!

Essentially the same as what I put for preRegister would be the following two lines. They could replace the last two lines in the above php codebox:
PHP Code:
$my_insertvar $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME',array('my_insertvar ' => $my_insertvar)); 
Of course you could add further pairs to that array if you need to preregister more than one variable.
.
.
Bonus track: ...whatever you do, cache your templates!

Now you know how to get your templates on screen - once you succeeded in doing that, make sure to do it in a fast and ressource saving manner: make use of vB's template cache. To see whether your templates are cached or not, activate debug mode by adding $config['Misc']['debug'] = true;to your config.php (don't ever use that on your live site!). Among the debug info is a list of all templates called, and non-cached templates will show up in red.

To cache your templates, add a plugin at hook cache_templates with the following code:
PHP Code:
// for a single template
$cache[] = 'mytemplate'

// for more than one templates in one step
$cache array_merge((array)$cache,array(
    
'mytemplate',
    
'myothertemplate',
    
'mythirdtemplate'
)); 
.
.
Hope this helps!
-cel

----
Addendum - There are now two blog posts on vb.com related to this topic:
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...in-4-templates
http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/entry...-4-based-files
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-28-2009, 05:46 PM
CypherSTL CypherSTL is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: St. Charles, MO
Posts: 306
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I still cannot figure out how in the heck to work this new template system.

Code:
eval('$awarduserslist .= ", ' . fetch_template('awards_awardusers_bit') . '";');
Works flawlessly. No errors.

However
Code:
$displayTemplate = vB_Template::create('awards_awardusers_bit');
$awarduserslist .= $displayTemplate->render();
Displays absolutely NOTHING.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-29-2009, 10:46 AM
scarex scarex is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 25
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for this guide, at the beginning I was totally confused about this new system.

On the other hand, is there a system to preregister a var in all templates with a single call?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-29-2009, 11:51 PM
IR15H IR15H is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: England
Posts: 161
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for the guide
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:52 PM
rbc's Avatar
rbc rbc is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 58
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
Introduction
~snip~
@ cellarius

Absolutly a great introduction how things now working on VB4.
It answere`s many questions to me now.

I just wanne thank you cellarius for this.

btw. many thanks to Lynne who also allways help out.

i`m absolutly new to stuff like "vb" or "php" but with your "helping
hand`s" alot of work is possible to do for me too.

Sorry about my englisch, its not "my one"

Thanks again an enjoy the hollydays ...... if there some ........
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-06-2010, 12:32 AM
NLP-er's Avatar
NLP-er NLP-er is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wrocław
Posts: 1,353
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have question:
How to change content of existing template inside of plugin?

I'm remaking my mod for vB4. I'm adding there flags to header of footer. In vB3 version I simply change insides of template using templatecache. I.e.:
PHP Code:
$vbulletin->templatecache['footer'] .= 'ADDITIONAL TEXT IN FOOTER'
I was using it in global_start hook, but it doesn't work anymore - $vbulletin->templatecache['footer'] is empty and have no impact on footer.

How to change this line of code to make it working in vB4?

EDIT:
Ok - I already found it here Now check if its working :P

--------------- Added [DATE]1262746169[/DATE] at [TIME]1262746169[/TIME] ---------------

Other question:
In vB3 my mod have possibility to put additional data in custom place - so user just manually adds variable into required template and he has flags where he put it. How to do this in vB4 where variables have to be preregistered????...

--------------- Added [DATE]1262746545[/DATE] at [TIME]1262746545[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by testebr View Post
I figure out how to solve it:

hook: process_templates_complete

code: $footer .= 'text added to footer';

No idea if was the best solution, but that worked very well.
This will work only for few templates. The question is how to make it work for any template like with $vbulletin->templatecache solution in vB3.

Also this solution is working on already parsed template - I need fresh one, not parsed yet. Anyone have idea how to do that?

EDIT
Ok I have it need to use hook parse_templates
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01-07-2010, 05:22 PM
Sarcoth Sarcoth is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Huntsville
Posts: 521
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Awesome guide. It has helped me move forward a bit, but I still don't have it all down yet. If anyone has this down pat, I'd be interested in some more tutorials that show old 3.x code and then below shows the 4.x code. This way I can test myself and see how well I have it down.

In the meantime though, is the new rendering needed for redirects? For example:
Code:
$vbulletin->url = "misc.php?do=editform&fid=$fid";
eval(print_standard_redirect('redirect_insertform', true));
I tried the following:
Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('redirect_insertform');
	$templater->register_page_templates();
	$templater->register('redirect', $vbulletin->url);
print_standard_redirect($templater->render());
That didn't work though, it seems to be cutting off everything after misc.php. Maybe I need to register the $fid?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01-07-2010, 07:28 PM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No, standard redirects and errors still work the old way. If you want to know something like that, just look one up in the original vB4 php files.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 01-12-2010, 06:26 AM
Abe Babe's Avatar
Abe Babe Abe Babe is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have a template that I need to insert into multiple pre-existing templates (I add some additional graphics/formatting to the header and footer of most tables ... and my CSS skills aren't good enough to achieve what I'm trying to do through CSS alone, so I need to add old HTML table coding). I do it this way so that if I want to make changes, I don't have to change lots of different templates. After a bit of struggling, I have managed to get the following code running.

Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('layout_start');
    $templater->register('my_var', $my_var);
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME', $templatevalues);

I have two questions. Is there any way to preRegister for more than one pre-existing template (or a global registration), or do I have to create Plugins for every page I want to add this to (*groan*)? And what is the best hook to have this on. I am currently using 'parse_templates'.

The other unusual thing I'm finding happening is if I include my template in postbit_legacy, it will show on the first post, but not on the posts after that.

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 01-13-2010, 01:16 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abe Babe View Post
Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('layout_start');
    $templater->register('my_var', $my_var);
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME', $templatevalues);
I have two questions. Is there any way to preRegister for more than one pre-existing template (or a global registration), or do I have to create Plugins for every page I want to add this to (*groan*)?
Just calling the preregister method as often as you need it might not work in this case, since the method clears the variable. So trying to simply preregister it again might not be feasible. Anyway, try this:
Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('layout_start');
    $templater->register('my_var', $my_var);
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $templater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME', $templatevalues);
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', $templatevalues);
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMDISPLAY', $templatevalues);
If this does not work, try something like this:
Code:
$templater = vB_Template::create('layout_start');
    $templater->register('my_var', $my_var);
$start_insertvar = $templater->render();
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $start_insertvar;
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMHOME', $templatevalues);
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $start_insertvar;
vB_Template::preRegister('SHOWTHREAD', $templatevalues);
$templatevalues['start_insertvar'] = $start_insertvar;
vB_Template::preRegister('FORUMDISPLAY', $templatevalues);
Of course, if you have really many templates, it might be more elegant to solve this with an array an a nice loop.
Quote:
And what is the best hook to have this on. I am currently using 'parse_templates'.
Seems fine to me.
Reply With Quote
  #61  
Old 01-16-2010, 05:19 PM
Ted S Ted S is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,954
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04956 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,387KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_html
  • (11)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (17)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete