Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Spell checker: PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode Details »»
Spell checker: PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode
Version: 1.00, by tamarian tamarian is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 05-31-2004 Last Update: Never Installs: 78
 
No support by the author.

PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode

Intro: PHPSpell uses a MySQL based disctionary and requires no additional tools than your standard PHP/MySQL setup. One draw back to this hack is that while it works with vBulletin in WYSIWYG mode, the popup window will still display html and vBCode tags. But the advantages are numerous, such as the "learn" capability and the admin tool.

There is another hack https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=65737 for PungoSpell that supports WYSIWYG mode disply on the spell check popup window. It has less features than PHPSpell, but it supports WYSIWYG display. Check it out, and compare which one is best for your forum.

Credit PHPSpell Was written for PHPBB, and then expanded to work for all major forum software, including vB2 and vB3. Due to vB3's WYSIWYG mode, PHPSpell only supports standard mode. This hack will allow it to work for both standard and WYSIWYG.

If you like this software, please click the PayPal button on the Author's site, so they'll add more features. Their future plans so far include:

Quote:
* PHPBB Template integration
* Other Languages (Currently supports English & Russian)
* Finish Language support so that hardcoded output is stored in language files
* Ability to delete Learned Words for the end user
* Ability for Admin to View/Edit/Delete words in installed dictionaries
* Ability for Admin to export Dictionaries
* Ability for end user to choose which Dictionary/Thesaurus Site to use
* Ability for end user to be able to change which Language to use
* Ability for end user to change # of words to find.
* Ability for Integrated Dictionary/Thesaurus
* Other Program Integration
Demo: http://www.master-technology.com/demos/spell/index.php

What this hack does This hack modifies the PHPSpell software package from PHPSpell to allow spell checking on vBulletin for both modes, WYSIWYG and standard mode.

Note: You will see tags like <br> and others in WYSIWYG and BBCode in standard mode. Edit the config file to ignore them. This happens in both WYSIWYG mode, and in standard mode. It will show the tags, but it will not spell check them. This hack does not add new features to the spell checker, it just makes it work, as designed, for vB3 in both WYSIWYG and standard mode.

Instructions

1. Download the attached file, and unpack into a new directory called "spelling" below your forum directory.

2. Edit the config file "spell_config.php" and enter your forum database username and password.

3. Find a dictionary and upload it to the "spelling" directory. A copy is provided in the zip file. PHPSpell's site has a couple of dictionaries for download: http://www.master-technology.com/dem...l/download.php

4. Run "spell_admin.php" from your browser (URL/spelling/spell_admin.php) to create the dictionary datanbase table. When done, delete this file and the dictionary file.

5. You might want to modify the css files to have the look and feel of your forum and colours.

6. The rest is template edits for each template where you'd like to have the spell checker. For example:

newreply template

Find

Code:
</head>
Add above

Code:
<script language='javascript' src='spelling/spellmessage.js'></script>
Find the submit and preview buttons:

Code:
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="sbutton" value="$vbphrase[submit_reply]" accesskey="s" tabindex="1" />
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="preview" value="$vbphrase[preview_post]" accesskey="p" tabindex="1" />
Add below:
Code:
<if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('1');"/>
<else />
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="2" />
	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('2');"/>
</if>
And repeat the same steps for other templates like newthread etc.


Optional: Other Templates that contain edit boxes are:
USERCP_SHELL just add the first change here in above the </head section. Required for pm_newpm and modifysignature.
editpost
Calendar Templates: calendar_edit
New Posting Templates: newreply, newthread
Modify User Options Templates: modifysignature (add the the first change in USERCP_SHELL)
Private Message Templates: pm_newpm (add the the first change in USERCP_SHELL)

I may have missed a few, so let me know.

7. If it doesn't work, run the file "spell_diags.php" from your browser, it will test your setup and report any problems.

Enjoy

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #62  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:09 PM
David G. Rigg's Avatar
David G. Rigg David G. Rigg is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Mandalay Shores, Californ
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Installing ENGLISH.DIC (English)...
Unable to create dictionary database table: Code: 1226
Message: User 'ladyelle_admin' has exceeded the 'max_questions' resource (current value: 50000)Result: Link: Resource id #5
DB: ladyelle_forum User: ladyelle_admin Server: localhostUnable to perform spell check at this time.
:ermm:

Crashes everytime at 12% during the dictionary words import. Had the ISP raise my limit from 10k to 50k. Obviously not enough. How much should I ask for? They claim 50k is to prevent abuse????

TIA

DR
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-19-2004, 05:10 PM
Craigr's Avatar
Craigr Craigr is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ayr, Scotland
Posts: 194
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flow Fusion
Great hack now how do I add this to the quick reply box?
Open template: showthread

Find:
</head>

Add Above:
<script language='javascript' src='spelling/spellmessage.js'></script>


Save

Open template: showthread_quickreply

Find:
<input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go_advanced]" accesskey="x" title="(Alt + X)" name="preview" tabindex="3" id="qr_preview" onclick="this.form.clickedelm.value = this.value" />

Add Below:
<if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('1');"/>
<else />
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="2" />
<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('2');"/>
</if>

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 09-02-2004, 08:50 PM
dsmcd01 dsmcd01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Very nice. Tweaked the phpSpell window to remove Learn (at my managers' request) and changed the "All" buttons to "Correct All" and "Ignore All" and so had to also increase their width and the table's width. Also removed "Suggest" since I was never able to get anything meaningful out of it.

Clicked install. I thank you, and my users thank you. (Well, my users aren't actually thanking you, but they would if they could. )

Thx,
D.

PS...In IE, the gap between the Preview button and the Spellcheck button is wider than the gap between the Submit button and the Preview button. (See attached image.). This extra gap is caused by:
HTML Code:
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
To get the two gaps the same I added this between the Submit button and the Preview button:
HTML Code:
<input type="hidden" name="foobar" value="null" />
Odd that IE would adjust the display for a hidden object. Firefox and Opera do not do this.

FWIW,
D.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 09-04-2004, 07:27 PM
speedracer68 speedracer68 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 148
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Please see my diagnotics.

http://66.70.234.198/forum/spelling/spell_diags.php

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 09-04-2004, 09:14 PM
welo welo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 172
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Methinks your directory path is set incorrectly. Grab the attached file and upload it to the directory where your files are, then point your browser to it (yoursite.com/forum/spelling/dirpath.php) and see what it says.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09-04-2004, 09:32 PM
speedracer68 speedracer68 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 148
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks! Here is what is says

Server Path: /home/virtual/site3/fst/var/www/html/forum/spelling/
HTTP Path: http://66.70.234.198/forum/spelling
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 09-04-2004, 10:57 PM
welo welo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 172
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hmm. Have you uncommented line 37 of spell_config.php? It must say:

Code:
$Spell_Config['DB_Type'] = 'vBulletin';
(with no preceding //)

[edit]
Also uncertain why your spell_config.php file has 197 lines. I only see 170.
[/edit]
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:02 PM
dsmcd01 dsmcd01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I was playing around this weekend, trying to get the Learn button to appear only for specific users.

It was easy enough to get the userid to the openspell function in spellmessage.js by adding $bbuserinfo[userid] to the template code, but I can't seem to get the userid from there to spelling.js where it'd do some good.

No big deal, and I understand I'm using the hack and phpSpell in a non-standard way. But, has anyone gotten this to work?

TIA,
D.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 09-09-2004, 06:54 PM
speedracer68 speedracer68 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: California
Posts: 148
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Welo, I think I removed the comments. I have attatched my config file if you or anybody could look at it.

Thanks!!

p.s. The buttons show up in the edit box but it does not work.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 09-16-2004, 07:35 PM
rex_b rex_b is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 271
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

installed. works nicely.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05869 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,322KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_html
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete