Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Spell Checker: PungoSpell for vBulletin3 Standard and WYSIWYG modes Details »»
Spell Checker: PungoSpell for vBulletin3 Standard and WYSIWYG modes
Version: 1.6, by tamarian tamarian is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 06-01-2004 Last Update: 12-25-2005 Installs: 68
Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

There's also a vB 3.5 version: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=83258

PungoSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode

Intro: PungoSpell supports WYSIWYG mode disply using DHTML on the spell check popup window. It uses PHP's buitin PSPELL module. Many have this already compiled in, but if not, it's easy to add.

What this hack does This hack modifies the PungoSpell software package from PungoSpell to allow spell checking on vBulletin for both modes, WYSIWYG and standard mode.

Change Log:

v1.6 December 25, 2005: Security fix for cases where you allow HTML posts and they contain malicious code (Credit goes to Brendan Donahue for finding the issue and alerting TechGuy, and to TechGuy for alerting me to it)

v1.5. Minor bug fixes

v1.4
1. Fixed scrolling, so the spelling window will scroll to the next mis-spelled word.
2. Changed config defaults to allow the most common configuration. The "Learn" function is turned of by default. Make sure you test it before tunrning it on.
3. Re-worded comments on config options, hopefully they will now make sense.

v1.3
1. Created a new config file (pungo-spell-config.php) to avoid the need to edit checkspelling.php, which is a bit tricky with end of line characters.
2. Added an option to disable the learn feature. This may be needed if your aspell setup does not allow, or not properly setup, for personal wordlists.
3. The language is now defined in the config file as well.

v1.1:
1. Added a "Learn" button. This allows users to add words into the dictionary.
2. Restricted access to members only, with allowed usergroups definable in config file
3. Restrict user groups allowed to use the "Learn" feature. Configurable option.
3. Options to ignore quote blocks, code bloacks, and PHP blocks
4. Added buttons (Thesarus and Lookup) with links to Merriam Webster's online thesarus and dictionary links with the suggestion for misspelled words.
5. Added Quit and Done buttons. One to quite without saving, and one to save without going through the whole post for suggestions.
6. Fixed extra lines added for WYSIWYG paragraphs
7. Made it skip vBCode tags, so it won't spell check URL's

v1.0:
Initial version, . Identical to PungoSpell functionality, but adapted to handle vBulletins's WYSIWYG and standard mode.


Note:
There's another hack for spell checker for vBulletin3 using PHPSpell. You might want to compare both to decide which one you like best.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=65723

PHPSpell has a "learn" button, to allow adding new words to the dictionary, PungoSpell does not. PungoSpell has a better WYSIWYG display, while PHPSpell does not hide HTML and vBCode tags. So each one has it's advantages and disadvantages.

In a future release, I'll try to add a "learn" functionality to PungoSpell. (done)

Credit PungoSpell Is a free software using the MIT license. By default, it will work fine in standard mode. This hack will allow it to work for both standard and WYSIWYG.

Requirements: You will need to have PSPELL compiled into your PHP setup. Many have this by default. To find out if you already have it, check your PHP info from the vBulletin Admin Panel: Import & Maintenance > View PHP Info. Search for "pspell". If it's there, you're fine. If not, you can recompile PHP with the "--with-pspell" paramater.

From the readme file:

Quote:
What does it require?
---------------------

PHP 4.3.1 (http://www.php.net) or greater with Pspell support enabled.
If your system doesn't have pspell/aspell installed, see the pspell source page at
http://pspell.sourceforge.net to download it.

What browsers does it work with?
-------------------------------

Only "modern" browsers that support DOM level 2 (http://www.w3.org/TR/DOM-Level-2-Core/) are supported. MSIE 5.5+, Opera 7.2+, NS 6+ should work fine for you. Your milage may vary.
Demo: http://frigate.clemson.edu/local/pun...l/example.html

Bugs: Scrolling down to the misspelled word is not yet working.

Instructions

1. Download the attached file, and unpack into your main forum directory. Make sure the file "custom.pws" is writable by apache, otherwise the "Learn" function will not work.

2. It has English setup by default. If you want it to use any other language, it's easy. Just edit the config file "pungo-spell-config.php".

Change this line:

$my_lang = "en";

"en" stands for English. Change it to the code of the language you want. Like "fr" for French, for example. Make sure your system has the required dictionary. You see the dictionary config by typing "aspell config" at the command line, to see which dictionaries you have.

Also, in the file custom.pws, the first line reads something like:

personal_ws-1.1 en 0

You will need to change en to the language you use, like fr

3. Edit the config section in checkspelling.php to suit your needs:
[code]
// Config section
$my_lang = "en"; // set the language you want, make sure you have the correct aspell dictionary on your system

// Access restriction options
$allow_guests = 0; // Change to 1 if you allow guests to post and use the spell checker
$restrict_groups = 0; // Change to 1 to enable access restriction by group id
$allowd_groups = array (2, 5, 6); // usergroups who can access the spell checker

// Learn function options
$customwordlist = "custom.pws"; // make sure this file is readable by your apache user
$learn_enabled = 0; // set to 1 to enable the learn feature. Make sure you test first, to ensure your server setup allows this.
$restrict_learn_function = 0; // set to 1 if you want to restrict which usergroup id may add words to your dictionary.
$word_list_maintainers = array (2, 5, 6); // usergroups that are allowed to use the "Learn" feature
//

// Ignore options
$ignore_quotes = 1; // 1 means ignore the [QUOTE] block, 0 means spell check within quotes
$ignore_code = 1; // Same but for the
Code:
 tag
 $ignore_php = 1; 				// Same, but for the [PHP] tag 
 
 // end config section
4. Edit each template where you'd like to have the spell checker. For example:

newreply template

A. Find

Code:
</head>
Add above

Code:
<script src="spellcheck.js"></script>

B.
Add somewhere the followin (below $navbar for example)g:
Code:
   <form name="spell_form" id="spell_form" method="POST" target="spellWindow"
                    action="checkspelling.php">
                <input type="hidden" name="spell_formname" value="">
                <input type="hidden" name="spell_fieldname" value="">
                <input type="hidden" name="spellstring" value="">
             </form>
C. Find the submit and preview buttons:

Code:
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="sbutton" value="$vbphrase[submit_reply]" accesskey="s" tabindex="1" />
 		<input type="submit" class="button" name="preview" value="$vbphrase[preview_post]" accesskey="p" tabindex="1" />
Add below:
Code:
           <if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
           <input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
           <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck( 'vbform',  'message', '1');">
           <else />
           <input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="2" />
           <input type="button" class="button" value="Spell Check" onClick="spellCheck( 'vbform',  'WYSIWYG_HTML', '2');">
           </if>
And repeat the same steps for other templates like newthread etc.

Optional: Other Templates that contain edit boxes are:
USERCP_SHELL just add the first change (A) here in above the </head section. Required for pm_newpm and modifysignature.
editpost
Calendar Templates: calendar_edit
New Posting Templates: newreply, newthread
Modify User Options Templates: modifysignature (add the the first change (A) in USERCP_SHELL) and the rest (B and C) here.


Quick reply

1
. Show Thread Templates: Put change (A) in showthread, and the rest (B and C) in showthread_quickreply

2.
Contributed by Boofo:

change:

<if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">

to:

<if condition="$WYSIWYG!=2">

I may have missed a few templates, so let me know.


Private Messages

To install in Private Messaging, check Chris's post here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....6&postcount=84

------

Trouble shooting:

1. If you get a spell check window that says "This is a test". This is most likely due to end of line characters caused by an editor. To resolve this, re-upload the original files with FTP in binary mode. When editing the config file, make sure you use an editor that does not add any end of line characters, such as "vi" or others.

2.
Learn doesn't work: Try this: Change the first line from custom.pws:

personal_ws-1.1 en 0

To:

personal_ws-1.1 english 0

en worked fine for me on Fedora and Gentoo, but I had to change to english on RHE.

-----

Enjoy

P.S. The two screenshots below show the spell check popup menu. One for standard mode, and one for WYSIWYG mode.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #102  
Old 06-26-2004, 01:32 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofo
Now if I can just get the quick reply box working with this I will be all set.

Any one have that working yet?
Have you tried to put the code in the showthread template?

Snippet A goes into the header of showthread template

Snippet B goes somewhere in showthread_quickreply template (for example, just below the java script.

Snippet C goes below the preview button code in showthread_quickreply.

I just tested it, and it it worked on my test forum
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:17 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarian
Have you tried to put the code in the showthread template?

Snippet A goes into the header of showthread template

Snippet B goes somewhere in showthread_quickreply template (for example, just below the java script.

Snippet C goes below the preview button code in showthread_quickreply.

I just tested it, and it it worked on my test forum
I just double checked it and I have it the way to say here and nothing shows up in the spell check box. It works everywhere else flawlessly, just not the quick reply box. Any ideas what to do to make it work there, too?

I do have it set to where you must click the icon in a message to be able to use the QR box. Would that have anything to do with it?
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:19 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok, FINALLY! I got it working with the quick reply box. It works with the code the way it is if you don't use WYSIWYG in it. To make it work with the WYSIWYG part of it, I had to change:

Quote:
<if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
to:

Quote:
<if condition="$WYSIWYG!=2">
Now it works as it should.

Thank you, sir, for an excellent hack.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:22 AM
Chris Blount Chris Blount is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount
I just found something weird that's happening. When using the spell check in standard mode (not WYSIWYG). All paragraph breaks are getting taken out so when the spell check is done, the post ends up being one long paragraph.

Any word on how to fix this yet?
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 06-26-2004, 03:40 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount
Any word on how to fix this yet?
I just tested this on my site and it works like it should in the Enhanced Standard editor. It left the message exactly as it found it except for correcting the spelling mistakes. Could another hack be messing with it, maybe?
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 06-26-2004, 02:52 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofo
Ok, FINALLY! I got it working with the quick reply box. It works with the code the way it is if you don't use WYSIWYG in it. To make it work with the WYSIWYG part of it, I had to change:
Nice catch. I'll add it to the fist post for quick reply, so others can find it easily.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 06-27-2004, 12:50 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Now all we have to do it get it working so it scrolls to each word it finds and you will have the perfect and ultimate vB3 spell checker.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:06 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofo
Now all we have to do it get it working so it scrolls to each word it finds and you will have the perfect and ultimate vB3 spell checker.
I have the scrolling working, but for some reason it only works with IE.....
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:07 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamarian
I have the scrolling working, but for some reason it only works with IE.....
I use IE and it doesn't work for me.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 06-27-2004, 01:10 AM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boofo
I use IE and it doesn't work for me.
I meant the upcoming release
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08411 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,345KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (11)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete