Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Spell checker: PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode Details »»
Spell checker: PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode
Version: 1.00, by tamarian tamarian is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.7 Rating:
Released: 05-31-2004 Last Update: Never Installs: 78
 
No support by the author.

PHPSpell for vBulletin3 WYSIWYG and Standard mode

Intro: PHPSpell uses a MySQL based disctionary and requires no additional tools than your standard PHP/MySQL setup. One draw back to this hack is that while it works with vBulletin in WYSIWYG mode, the popup window will still display html and vBCode tags. But the advantages are numerous, such as the "learn" capability and the admin tool.

There is another hack https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...threadid=65737 for PungoSpell that supports WYSIWYG mode disply on the spell check popup window. It has less features than PHPSpell, but it supports WYSIWYG display. Check it out, and compare which one is best for your forum.

Credit PHPSpell Was written for PHPBB, and then expanded to work for all major forum software, including vB2 and vB3. Due to vB3's WYSIWYG mode, PHPSpell only supports standard mode. This hack will allow it to work for both standard and WYSIWYG.

If you like this software, please click the PayPal button on the Author's site, so they'll add more features. Their future plans so far include:

Quote:
* PHPBB Template integration
* Other Languages (Currently supports English & Russian)
* Finish Language support so that hardcoded output is stored in language files
* Ability to delete Learned Words for the end user
* Ability for Admin to View/Edit/Delete words in installed dictionaries
* Ability for Admin to export Dictionaries
* Ability for end user to choose which Dictionary/Thesaurus Site to use
* Ability for end user to be able to change which Language to use
* Ability for end user to change # of words to find.
* Ability for Integrated Dictionary/Thesaurus
* Other Program Integration
Demo: http://www.master-technology.com/demos/spell/index.php

What this hack does This hack modifies the PHPSpell software package from PHPSpell to allow spell checking on vBulletin for both modes, WYSIWYG and standard mode.

Note: You will see tags like <br> and others in WYSIWYG and BBCode in standard mode. Edit the config file to ignore them. This happens in both WYSIWYG mode, and in standard mode. It will show the tags, but it will not spell check them. This hack does not add new features to the spell checker, it just makes it work, as designed, for vB3 in both WYSIWYG and standard mode.

Instructions

1. Download the attached file, and unpack into a new directory called "spelling" below your forum directory.

2. Edit the config file "spell_config.php" and enter your forum database username and password.

3. Find a dictionary and upload it to the "spelling" directory. A copy is provided in the zip file. PHPSpell's site has a couple of dictionaries for download: http://www.master-technology.com/dem...l/download.php

4. Run "spell_admin.php" from your browser (URL/spelling/spell_admin.php) to create the dictionary datanbase table. When done, delete this file and the dictionary file.

5. You might want to modify the css files to have the look and feel of your forum and colours.

6. The rest is template edits for each template where you'd like to have the spell checker. For example:

newreply template

Find

Code:
</head>
Add above

Code:
<script language='javascript' src='spelling/spellmessage.js'></script>
Find the submit and preview buttons:

Code:
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="sbutton" value="$vbphrase[submit_reply]" accesskey="s" tabindex="1" />
		<input type="submit" class="button" name="preview" value="$vbphrase[preview_post]" accesskey="p" tabindex="1" />
Add below:
Code:
<if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('1');"/>
<else />
<input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="2" />
	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('2');"/>
</if>
And repeat the same steps for other templates like newthread etc.


Optional: Other Templates that contain edit boxes are:
USERCP_SHELL just add the first change here in above the </head section. Required for pm_newpm and modifysignature.
editpost
Calendar Templates: calendar_edit
New Posting Templates: newreply, newthread
Modify User Options Templates: modifysignature (add the the first change in USERCP_SHELL)
Private Message Templates: pm_newpm (add the the first change in USERCP_SHELL)

I may have missed a few, so let me know.

7. If it doesn't work, run the file "spell_diags.php" from your browser, it will test your setup and report any problems.

Enjoy

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #102  
Old 11-01-2004, 07:08 PM
TwinsForMe TwinsForMe is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 112
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Installed. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 12-01-2004, 04:11 AM
DavidatMPA DavidatMPA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcyates
PROBLEM:

Code:
 
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">hello</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">&nbsp;</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">Ho3 are you</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">&nbsp;</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">I'm fine</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">&nbsp;</P>
<P style="MARGIN: 0px">Just testing the spell checker as i'm having a few problems with it</P>
That'swhat appears in the spellcheck box and this is my code in te config file:

Code:
  // ------------------------------------------------
  // HTML Tags. (You need opening & closing versions)
  // ------------------------------------------------
  $Spell_Config['HTML_Tags'] = array('<P','</P','<p','</p','<a','</a','<img','</img','<b','</b','<center','</center','<i','</i','<u','</u','<list','</list','<font','</font');

  // -------------------------------------------
  // BBCode Tags
  // -------------------------------------------
  $Spell_Config['BBCODE_Tags'] = array('[p','[/p','[P','[/P','[b','[/b','[url','[/url',array('[img','[/img]'),'[i','[/i','[color','[/color','[size','[/size','[u','[/u','[list','[/list',array('[quote','
Code:
'),array('[code','
'));

[/code]

Why is this happening?[/QUOTE]


Same thing here! Any ideas guys?
Thanks! great hack
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:38 AM
BigCheeze BigCheeze is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lost in Colorado
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sweet. Installed and running. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:14 PM
cinq's Avatar
cinq cinq is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,398
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neroflorida
Learn Button issue requires that you modify:
spellmessage.js
spelling.js

spellmessage.js Line 63 Opens the included file: phpSpell.html
Suggested workarounds: Use conditionals to pass additional information to the function openspell Have this handed off to the next script spelling.js

spelling.js Line 448 inserts the infamous "Learn" button. Determine whether you would like to have it shown based on the argument passed through from spellmessage.js.

An alternate would be to create a vB template instead of using an external html file...
Any step by step instructions for this to remove the Learn ( and perhaps suggest ) feature as well to make this perfect ?
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 12-19-2004, 01:08 PM
JohnBee JohnBee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 544
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I installed this hack, it works okay but is there any solution to the <P> and </P>
tags yet?

There are two spelling hacks for vB 3 thus far, one has a tag issue and the other
requires a php module many don't have

I'm hoping someone could get this one to ignore <tags> so I could call it a day
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 12-28-2004, 04:43 AM
cinq's Avatar
cinq cinq is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1,398
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

any help here ?
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 12-30-2004, 06:26 PM
agiacosa agiacosa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there any way to limit spell checker to a specific usergroup?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 12-30-2004, 10:51 PM
tamarian tamarian is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In this example, usergroups 2 and 26 can see the spell button:
Code:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 2 OR $bbuserinfo[usergroupid] == 26">
  <if condition="DOTOOLBAR!=2">
  <input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="1" />
 	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('1');"/>
  <else />
  <input type="hidden" name="toolbar" value="2" />
 	<input type="button" class="button" name="spellcheck" value="SpellCheck" accesskey="c" tabindex="1" onclick="openspell('2');"/>
  </if>
  </if>
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 01-02-2005, 11:27 AM
agiacosa agiacosa is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 208
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you, but where does that code go?
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:56 AM
T3MEDIA T3MEDIA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 944
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Question... for me I HAVE to have WYSIWYG mode on or I get a javascript error and the poor thing never pops up. BUT if its in WYSIWYG mode all is well... whats up with that? obviouslly I made a error. but where and howcome it fixes itself with this change?!?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04743 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,326KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete