Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Auto Resize Your Images 3.52 compliant Details »»
Auto Resize Your Images 3.52 compliant
Version: 1.00, by ggiersdorf ggiersdorf is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 12-27-2005 Last Update: Never Installs: 100
Template Edits
Code Changes  
No support by the author.

I was looking for some code that would allow an image over size x to be resized in IE, Firefox, and Opera. I tried all the variations out there without luck some would work in IE, some in Firefox, etc.. So I finally got a tweaked version of some old code that actually works flawless in IE, Firefox, and Opera. I have included it below, but It needs 1 final tweak that I'm hoping someone in the community can help with.

i am NOT taking credit for this hack, all I have done is tweak it to get it working for me..


This code has been updated as of 8:30pm with the clickable link built in now!

Step 1: Edit your class_bbcode.php file located in (root/includes)

find

PHP Code:
return '<img src="' .  $link '" border="0" alt="" />'
replace with the following.

PHP Code:
/* Start Image RESIZE */  

 
$navigator_user_agent = ( isset( $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] ) ) ? strtolower$_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] ) : '';   
if (
stristr($navigator_user_agent"msie")) {   
    return 
'<a href="' .  $link '" target="_blank"><img src="' .  $link '" border="0" alt="" style="width: expression(this.width > 640 ? 480 : true);" /></a>';   
} else {   
    return 
'<a href="' .  $link '" target="_blank"><img src="' .  $link '" border="0" alt="" style="max-width: 730px;" /></a>';   
}    

/* End Image RESIZE */ 
you can play with the widths to get what you want working.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 01-06-2006, 11:30 PM
TF|Scorpion TF|Scorpion is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 24
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this work on v. 3.5.3?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:48 AM
ggiersdorf ggiersdorf is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 251
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TF|Scorpion
Does this work on v. 3.5.3?
Yes it should work fine on 3.53
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:50 AM
ggiersdorf ggiersdorf is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 251
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A-handreas
Hello guys,

I've tried your hack, it works perfect in IE but it didn't work with Firefox 1.5 :disappointed: Any idea ?

best regards
Andreas
works fine on my Firefox, IE and OPERA try clearing your cache and try it!?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-07-2006, 10:31 PM
Emil Emil is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anyway to make this work with Opera browsers?

And there's a problem with imageshack. When you post auto generated thumbnails from imageshack, they stop working. When you click on them they just open the thumbnail instead of the real size image.

I'm talking about these kind of imageshacks thumbnails:



When you click on this one it'll open a big image in a new window. But after I added this resize hack, those thumbnails stopped working. They just open the thumbnail again. Any way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:19 PM
S@NL - BlackBik's Avatar
S@NL - BlackBik S@NL - BlackBik is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 307
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Installed and it seemes to work
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-09-2006, 06:59 PM
S@NL - BlackBik's Avatar
S@NL - BlackBik S@NL - BlackBik is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 307
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Since we run a board that supports two languages, i've added a little tweak and made the alt-tag a phrase. Use if you will
Code:
	 /* Start Image RESIZE */  

 	$navigator_user_agent = ( isset( $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] ) ) ? strtolower( $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'] ) : '';   
		if (stristr($navigator_user_agent, "msie")) {   
    		return '<a href="' .  $link . '" target="_blank"><img src="' .  $link . '" border="0" alt="' . $vbphrase['click_for_larger_image'] . '" style="width: expression(this.width > 480 ? 480 : true);" /></a>';   
		} else {   
    		return '<a href="' .  $link . '" target="_blank"><img src="' .  $link . '" border="0" alt="' . $vbphrase['click_for_larger_image'] . '" style="max-width: 480px;" /></a>';   
		}    

	/* End Image RESIZE */
To make this work you have to add the following to the function:

find:
function handle_bbcode_img_match($link)
{

and add right under:

global $vbphrase;

Ow, and don't forget to add this phrase offcourse

Enjoy
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-09-2006, 09:28 PM
Codeman05 Codeman05 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tx
Posts: 76
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DF-inside
This MOD will also make images smaller then the size I have filled in linkable.
And so when I have images from the VBB board showing up at my main site (non-vbb) and I got an border arround the images telling them to click to enlare, all the images will show that.
I get the same, anyway to get around this?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:07 PM
apfparadise apfparadise is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 110
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I see people installing it and saying it works in browsers other than IE. There is no way it does. I looked at the creator's site on the three browsers and it did not work on anything other than IE. I just installed on my board and took it off, as it DOES NOT work in Opera or Firefox.

Can someone fix it? I really kind of need it but only if it's cross-browser. it worked so well in 3.0.

Also, I have $20 Paypal for anyone who can integrate this, correctly, with the "click on it to see a larger image" and the ability to hide IMG images from Unregistered users. Both were available on 3.0 so it's a straight port.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:32 PM
Codeman05 Codeman05 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Tx
Posts: 76
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I just installed it. I can't speak for the creators site, but it works fine for me in FF 1.5 in windows as well as 1.5 for linux on my site
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 01-09-2006, 10:50 PM
apfparadise apfparadise is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 110
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Codeman, yeah, just checked again, it does work in 1.5 Firefox. Still not in Opera. Goes out of screen. The offer def. still stands for someone who knows how to do this right.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04584 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,318KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete