Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
QuoteIt! - Quote Database Details »»
QuoteIt! - Quote Database
Version: 3.17, by Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2010 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Major Additions - Version: 3.6.0 Rating:
Released: 01-01-2007 Last Update: 04-30-2008 Installs: 207
DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

QuoteIt! version 3.1

I'm no longer able to put very much time into this mod, so I've set up a Subversion repository at http://www.vbulletinprogramming.com/projects/quoteit/ to allow others to help out. You can use the login "vbuser" with the password "vbulletin" to edit files. If someone would like to completely take over the mod, please contact me.


QuoteIt! allows you to have a database of quotes integrated with your forum. Users submit quotes that can then be voted on by the other users, using your choice of two rating systems. The average installation will show a random quote on the forum home page, but you can include it on any vBulletin page or on your portal home page.

If you'd like to see a demo, go to forums.monkeycrap.com.

Features:

Random Quote
- a random quote can be shown on any vBulletin powered page
- the administrator can set a default rating threshold that quotes must meet before showing up as the random quote
- a new random quote can be chosen at a specific interval of time, to reduce server load

Quote Database
- quotes can be searched, filtered, and sorted by many different criteria
- quotes have a "context" field that can be turned on or off to include more information about the quote
- quotes can be embedded in posts with bbcode
- each post and private message now has a "Submit to Quotes" link that allows users to quote things said on your forum more easily

Quote Ratings System
- quotes can be rated either plus/minus or on a scale from 1 to 5
- quotes below a certain total score or average score can be filtered out

Quote Management
- quotes can either be automatically approved or moderated
- the quote moderation que is like the que for posts, enabling the moderation of several quotes at once
- usergroup permissions are used for adding, editing, deleting, rating and viewing quotes
- most actions use AJAX to avoid page reloads

Don't forget to click install!

Currently known problems are listed here.

The files needed to edit the included images are attached to this post.

This hack is based on QuoteIt! 1.2, originally by magnus. The "submit post" feature was inspired by an addon by CtrlAltDel.

Older versions (no longer in development): QuoteIt! 3 for vBulletin 3.5.x | QuoteIt! 2.03 for vBulletin 3.0.x

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #512  
Old 02-08-2008, 09:10 PM
Dr. Bantham's Avatar
Dr. Bantham Dr. Bantham is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
Try reuploading the latest files and reinstalling (without uninstalling) the product. If that doesn't work, edit the "Finalize BBCode" plugin that uses the "newpost_preview" hook and replace this:

PHP Code:

with this:

PHP Code:
header('Content-type: text/plain');
die(
'quotes = ' print_r($quotebbcodeidstrue) . "\n random = " print_r($randomquotestrue));

Then try previewing a post with a few [quotes] and [randomquote] bbcodes in it and tell me what the output is. This will break the post preview, so undo the edit after you're done.
I have tried the full reinstall several times previously. As for the output test, it results in the following:
Code:
quotes = 
 random =
I do have one issue which I should point out. After importing quotes on multiple occasions, the reference numbers where out of sync. At one time, Quote #1 was actually had a reference number of 400+. I "fixed" this by manually changing all of the reference numbers with phpMyAdmin, starting from 1 on. However, I noticed that any new quotes would be given a much higher number than simply the last quote number + 1. Apparently there must be a counter setting which needs to be reset. Could this be the problem? If not, I would still like to know where this number is stored and how I can change it.
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:22 AM
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Posts: 745
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That is very strange. The ids are managed by MySQL, so it doesn't really matter what they are, but you should be able to reset them with this query (replacing $TP with your table prefix), although I wouldn't mess with that unless it really bothers you (that's what the "Show Continuous Quote IDs" option is for):

[sql]ALTER TABLE $TPquotes AUTO_INCREMENT = 1[/sql]

The only thing I can suggest to try is finding this in includes/functions_quoteit.php:
PHP Code:
        $quotebbcodeclasses[$quoteid] = $bgclass
and after that, adding this:

PHP Code:
    if ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 859) {
        
header('Content-type: text/plain'true);
        echo 
"DEBUG: Found quote $quoteid, returning {Q" QUOTE_BBCODE_ID ":$quoteid}.\n";
    } 
Then I'll try to gather some more information tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 02-09-2008, 10:25 AM
Dr. Bantham's Avatar
Dr. Bantham Dr. Bantham is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
That is very strange. The ids are managed by MySQL, so it doesn't really matter what they are, but you should be able to reset them with this query (replacing $TP with your table prefix), although I wouldn't mess with that unless it really bothers you (that's what the "Show Continuous Quote IDs" option is for):

[sql]ALTER TABLE $TPlinks AUTO_INCREMENT = 1[/sql]
I am not clear on this and thus reluctant to run the query. Is the table prefix "quotes"? My database name? Will this renumber the entries sequentially, but not impact quotes added thereafter? I really do want to get the numbering straight, as it does bug me considerably to have 500+ integers separating quote runs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
The only thing I can suggest to try is finding this in includes/functions_quoteit.php:
PHP Code:
        $quotebbcodeclasses[$quoteid] = $bgclass
and after that, adding this:

PHP Code:
    if ($vbulletin->userinfo['userid'] == 859) {
        
header('Content-type: text/plain'true);
        echo 
"DEBUG: Found quote $quoteid, returning {Q" QUOTE_BBCODE_ID ":$quoteid}.\n";
    } 
Then I'll try to gather some more information tomorrow.
This had no impact that I could discern. HOWEVER, while repeatedly working with this, I re-imported the product again (as I had done several times before). Voila! Both BBCodes now work consistently. I swear I had done this several times. As with a previous problem, importing and saving settings seem to be subject to whimsy, as there is often a variable impact. Saving settings with no change or re-importing repeatedly can sometimes fix problems - eventually - maybe - curious. Anyway, this procedure deleted the two additional fields and related data which I had created, but a quick query using a table backup fixed this. And yes, the problem was evident before I started creating new fields. At least that is the way I remember it! I am beginning to wonder, at this point. Anywho, many thanks for the persistent assistance!
Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 02-10-2008, 12:07 AM
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Posts: 745
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

About the alter query, that was a typo and it should actually be run on the quotes table. The table prefix is whatever you chose in your config.php. I have no experience altering the auto_increment value, but it should only affect new quotes. I'm not sure how the gaps would get there in the first place; have you restored backups of the quotes table before? That's the only thing I can think of that might mess with the auto_increment value.

The edits I had you do would only show up for me (859 is my userid on your site), but if it fixed itself you can go ahead and remove them. I swear the bbcode parser has a mind of its own sometimes.
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:50 AM
cookiepants cookiepants is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What a great mod! I have installed it and so far everything was great until I turned it on. My forumhome page was totally white. No error message. When I turned it off then it came back. I deleted the forumhome Quotes coding, and still the same problem until I turned off Quotes.

Any ideas? I'd love to use this but I'm not sure how I can turn it on and have my forum home available.

Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:15 AM
Dr. Bantham's Avatar
Dr. Bantham Dr. Bantham is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 164
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
About the alter query, that was a typo and it should actually be run on the quotes table. The table prefix is whatever you chose in your config.php. I have no experience altering the auto_increment value, but it should only affect new quotes. I'm not sure how the gaps would get there in the first place; have you restored backups of the quotes table before? That's the only thing I can think of that might mess with the auto_increment value.
I fixed this with:
[sql]ALTER TABLE quotes AUTO_INCREMENT=252[/SQL]Instead of using 1 as the variable, I used the next desired quote number. This set the Next Autoindex to the desired value. The huge gaps occurred when I had repeatedly deleted and imported quotes from a text file. Thanks for the lead!
Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:43 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The gaps are from quotes that have been deleted. That is normal procedure in the increment world. My home-grown quotes hack does the same thing. Be careful messing with the auto-increment too much as it can cause more headaches than it's worth sometimes. I am proof of that.
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 02-12-2008, 04:30 AM
Cap'n Steve's Avatar
Cap'n Steve Cap'n Steve is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Posts: 745
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for posting information about the auto incrementing. I would have expected it to reuse the ids of deleted quotes, but I guess not.

cookiepants - Can you check your server's error log? Something might have shown up there. If not, try adding a quote before turning on the random quote by going to quotes.php?do=addquote on your site. You can also try reuploading the files and reimporting the product.
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 02-12-2008, 05:34 AM
cookiepants cookiepants is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It worked out great, thanks! My members LOVE this feature.

Is there a way to make the font and or the quote box a bit smaller? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #521  
Old 02-12-2008, 08:05 AM
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Des Moines, IA (USA)
Posts: 15,776
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap'n Steve View Post
Thanks for posting information about the auto incrementing. I would have expected it to reuse the ids of deleted quotes, but I guess not.
No way it can, that is why it is called "auto-increment". It only increments. It doesn't care if you mess with what it did before. And those missing rows don't do anything harmful at all. It's as if they never existed except for the numbering.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05256 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,347KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete