Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 2.x > vBulletin 2.x Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Logician NEWS: Drag Any Message to Your Main Page Details »»
Logician NEWS: Drag Any Message to Your Main Page
Version: 1.00, by Logician Logician is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 2.2.x Rating:
Released: 05-30-2002 Last Update: Never Installs: 105
 
No support by the author.

This is a news script which will drag vb forum messages from your vb db to your non-vb main page/news page. There are a lot of good news script around but I needed a highly customizable main page news script with some special features and wrote it myself. I'm using it in my site's main page for a long time, but I was just too lazy to write installation/help documents to share it here, sorry!

FEATURES:

* This script simply pulls forum messages which you marked as "news" from your vb database and post them in your non-vbulletin (main/other) page.
* You can mark messages as "NEWS" in any forum you want (including private forums). You dont need to restrict your news to a specific forum.
* You can drag any message to your main page, regardless of its date. So news is NOT supposed to be the most recent messages in your board.
* You do NOT have to carry the whole message to your main page as news. You can import it all or simply take some part of it. So eg. you can drag a message's the first paragraph to your news page and link the thread for "Read More".
* Moreover you can insert invisible custom NEWS text which will be dragged to your main page to your board messages, but not shown in the original forum thread. So your original thread message and news text on your main page can be different than eachother.
* You can have sticky news in your main page (even if they are not sticky in your forum).
* News does NOT need to be the first message in the thread. You can tag any reply message as news and pull it to your main page either.
* Script parses ALL of your message icons/smilies (including your custom add-ons) and some of the important vBCode like: [url] [email] [img] [b] [i] [u]
* You can specify which members may post news.
* You can form your News' title seperately, apart from of the original thread/message title.
* You can set maximum number of news shown in your main page.
* You can set maximum number of characters that all shown news should not exceed. Some messages can be long and some can be short and if you set a character limit, the script will automatically compile enough news from your database to fit your web page's relevant part according to the limit you set.
* You can enable/disable:
News Poster Name
News Date
News Read Number
News 'Send to a Friend' Link
Comment number/Add comment button/Last commenter
Will viewing news increase the original thread's view count or not
News is sticky or not
for ALL your news INDIVIDUALLY.
* All news tags are invisible in the original thread. So forum readers do not notice any difference when you tag a message as news.
* Dragging a message to your main page as news is as simple as inserting a hidden [news]Title of My News[/news] tag to your forum message.

Well, these features are what I needed in my news script, so it should suffice to you too!

It's an easy to install script and will work with ALL vbulletin versions because it's an add-on, not a hack. I can give support as much as I have time, but please ask here, not via email or PM.

If you use the script, please click INSTALL. If you post the URL of your news page after installation, you can help other users see the script in action in different pages and in custom designs, thank you!

Logician

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #102  
Old 02-01-2003, 05:54 PM
VeoMorphine VeoMorphine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 155
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

is there an edit i can make that lets certin usergroups use the tags insted of forum names? so insted of putting nick one i can put usergroup 6, 5 ,4
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 02-01-2003, 08:17 PM
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: inside vb code
Posts: 4,449
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VeoMorphine
is there an edit i can make that lets certin usergroups use the tags insted of forum names? so insted of putting nick one i can put usergroup 6, 5 ,4
Try this:
edit newsconfig.php find:

PHP Code:
select postidthreadidusernameuseriddatelinetitlepagetexticonid 
from post WHERE
visible
'1' $SQLposters AND (pagetext LIKE '%[news]%' OR pagetext LIKE '%[NEWS]%')AND (pagetext LIKE '%[/news]%' OR pagetext LIKE '%[/NEWS]%'order by dateline DESC LIMIT 500 
Replace it as
PHP Code:
SELECT p.postidp.threadidp.usernamep.useridp.datelinep.titlep.pagetextp.iconidu.usergroupid FROM post p LEFT  JOIN user u ON u.userid p.userid WHERE u.usergroupid OR u.usergroupid OR u.usergroupid ) AND visible =  '1' AND ( pagetext LIKE  '%[news]%' OR pagetext LIKE  '%[NEWS]%' ) AND ( pagetext LIKE  '%[/news]%' OR pagetext LIKE  '%[/NEWS]%' ORDER  BY dateline DESC  LIMIT 500 
Also find:
PHP Code:
select postidthreadidusernameuseriddatelinetitlepagetexticonidnews 
from post WHERE 
news
='1' AND (visible'1' $SQLposters AND (pagetext LIKE '%[news]%' OR pagetext LIKE '%[NEWS]%')AND (pagetext LIKE '%[/news]%' OR pagetext LIKE '%[/NEWS]%') ) order by dateline DESC LIMIT 500 
And replace it as:
PHP Code:
SELECT p.postidp.threadidp.usernamep.useridp.datelinep.titlep.pagetextp.iconidu.usergroupid,p.news FROM post p LEFT  JOIN user u ON u.userid p.userid WHERE news='1' AND (( u.usergroupid OR u.usergroupid OR u.usergroupid ) AND visible =  '1' AND ( pagetext LIKE  '%[news]%' OR pagetext LIKE  '%[NEWS]%' ) AND ( pagetext LIKE  '%[/news]%' OR pagetext LIKE  '%[/NEWS]%' )) ORDER  BY dateline DESC  LIMIT 500 
This is not tested but should work.. However please notice that this can increase query return time to a certain extend (especially in large dbs) as to query usergroupid we need to connect our SQL query to user table too. I can't say anything how much it will effect. You can turn on $run_time_config variable and test yourself.. For small databases it will not be a big deal anyway..

Enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 02-02-2003, 04:46 PM
Tobad Tobad is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: McHenry, IL
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes I got it working, sorry didn't have time to post back. All I had to do was to update the path in the first line in the index.php.

From:
<?php include ('newsconfig.php');?>

To:
<?php include ('/www/t/tobad/htdocs/newsconfig.php');?>

I guess this is something new with the new version of PHP. It needs the full path.

Thanks for looking at it though.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 02-05-2003, 07:39 PM
cuba cuba is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi

has anybody of you a german version of this news addon ???

thankz

cuba
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 02-06-2003, 08:11 PM
cuba cuba is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi logician

i've just installed your news hack, i think i have a problem with the vbcode...i've attached a printscreen...and in my index.php i get the message: no news at the moment !?!?

what's wrong?

best regards

cuba
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 02-07-2003, 08:37 AM
cuba cuba is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

@ logician

i got a problem with your hack: when i test the news vbcode in my admin cp it doesn't display a text (news) i got stripes ???

and on my index.php the message: "no news at the moment" appears !

what's wrong ???

thanks in advance for your kind help ! is it perhaps a language problem, i live in switzerland, my board is in german !?!?

regards

cuba
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 02-12-2003, 06:36 PM
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: inside vb code
Posts: 4,449
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
and on my index.php the message: "no news at the moment" appears !

what's wrong ???
Have you marked any post as news by inserting [news]Title of the news[/news] tag in it?

If yes, also check the options you set in the phpheader.php file. For instance if you set $news_forums or $news_posters variables in the options, your news forum or news poster should comply with this..
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 02-13-2003, 07:45 PM
DaPro DaPro is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 169
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi Logician, I am a new b so I just wanted to know this:

I plan on using this script as a commenter more than a news script because I think this can work, but the problem I have is that I have different pages with different topics to comment on, so I was wondering is it possible to make certian comments go into pages? SOrry if this has been asked before, but I just wanted to know if this is possible without having to add this hack over and over. Thanks Lovely Hack!
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 02-14-2003, 09:58 AM
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: inside vb code
Posts: 4,449
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DaPro
Hi Logician, I am a new b so I just wanted to know this:

I plan on using this script as a commenter more than a news script because I think this can work, but the problem I have is that I have different pages with different topics to comment on, so I was wondering is it possible to make certian comments go into pages? SOrry if this has been asked before, but I just wanted to know if this is possible without having to add this hack over and over. Thanks Lovely Hack!
If I understand you correctly, nope sorry, it's not possible with this hack..
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 02-18-2003, 01:15 AM
gopherhockey's Avatar
gopherhockey gopherhockey is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 202
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have a few non-vb hacks installed on our index.shtml file - last 10, recent images (from photopost) - this hack would be nice.. however, I cannot rename my index file to a .php extension as it ruins the other hacks.

Is there a way to run it under an index.shtml file?

I read the threads quickly and didn't see anything like this, which surprises me.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05334 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,335KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete