Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2005, 11:24 AM
Sir Rb Sir Rb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Navbar in Footer as well as header?



The navbar on the left hand side which says Outfieldcenter forums etc etc has been requested to also be at the bottom where the display options and "currently online" are situated at the moment.

I know I have to copy some coding from the header to the footer and thought I had it, however what I did didn't work so I promptly deleted it.

Could someone show me on here a way of doing this?

Regards

Robson Brown

Outfieldcenter.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2005, 01:25 AM
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CT - Down in a hole..
Posts: 3,057
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I like that idea.

Somebody had posted an addon navbar a while back that was pretty cool...

--
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2005, 01:49 AM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Not tested, but should work:

Paste just before the ?> in global.php
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";'); 
Now go into your footer template (probably at the very top or so), and put $navbar (or wherever you want it).

You could an edited version of navbar (just keep names consistant) if you want it different than the main one.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-26-2005, 01:54 PM
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CT - Down in a hole..
Posts: 3,057
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

cool!

I'd be afraid to do that in my site though because I am using a skin... I plan on adding another text based navbar because it is just to hard to install links in the image based navbar of my sites skin...

-

I tried that and it did not work on my site..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2005, 09:18 AM
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 774
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

TheSpecialist is wrong - evaluating the navbar before the page is completely built can have unpredictable effects. There's a reason it's evaluated last.

I did this for Wizards of the Coast. It can be done entirely from the templates themselves, but it does require the editting of more than a few templates. A navbar on the bottom though is only likely to be especially useful for the FORUMDISPLAY and SHOWTHREAD templates. The process is the same regardless of the template you're editting.

Find the $footer variable in the template. Above it add this code

PHP Code:
            <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
            <
tr valign="bottom">
                <
td><a href="#" onclick="history.back(1)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_back]border="0" /></a></td>
                <
td>&nbsp;</td>
                <
td width="100%"><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span$navbits[breadcrumb]</td>
            </
tr>
            <
tr>
                <
td class="navbarstyle="font-size:10pt; padding-top:1px" colspan="3"><a href="$scriptpath"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reload_this_page]border="0" /></a> <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></td>
            </
tr>
            </
table
Now you'll probably want to adjust that code to suit your tastes and whatever style set you're using - but that's the basics.

Note that all this applies only to the breadcrumbs. The rest of the navbar can be placed pretty much whereever you please. Personally I pulled the dropdowns of the navbar and stuck them in the header.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2005, 12:16 PM
Sir Rb Sir Rb is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thats worked perfectly, thank-you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2005, 11:51 AM
havefun's Avatar
havefun havefun is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Spain & Austria
Posts: 83
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i used this code in my forum:
PHP Code:

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<
tr>
    <
td class="alt1" width="100%">
        <if 
condition="is_array($navbits)">
            <
table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0">
            <
tr valign="bottom">
                <
td><a href="#" onclick="history.back(1)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_back]border="0" /></a></td>
                <
td>&nbsp;</td>
                <
td width="100%"><span class="navbar"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]accesskey="1">$vboptions[bbtitle]</a></span$navbits[breadcrumb]</td>
            </
tr>
            <
tr>
                <
td class="navbarstyle="font-size:10pt; padding-top:1px" colspan="3"><a href="$scriptpath"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_finallink.gif" alt="$vbphrase[reload_this_page]border="0" /></a> <strong>$navbits[lastelement]</strong></td>
            </
tr>
            </
table>            
        <else />
            <
div class="navbarstyle="font-size:10pt"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php?$session[sessionurl]accesskey="1"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/navbits_start.gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> <strong>$vboptions[bbtitle]</strong></div>
        </if>
    </
td>    
</
tr>
</
table>
<
br /> 
in FORUMDISPLAY find:
<!-- / controls below thread list -->

<br />


after it add the code from the box


in SHOWTHREAD find:
<!-- / controls below postbits -->

<br />


after it add the code from the box
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2005, 08:00 PM
JGNYC JGNYC is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 74
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is it possible to have the bar on the bottom of every forum page, not just while viewing threads?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04119 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,266KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete