Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41,180

 

California/Idaho
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lynne Lynne is offline 11-15-2009, 10:00 PM

This is an updated article on how to create your own vbulletin powered page. It's only for use with vB4.

This is NOT my work. I'm posting this from another thread where vB Style took the time to write this out. And his work is based on the article by Gary King here - How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)

Instructions to Create your Own Page:


1. Create the php page:
- Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
- Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show - WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!):
Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'test');
define('CSRF_PROTECTION', true);  
// change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array();

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array();

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array();

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
// if your page is outside of your normal vb forums directory, you should change directories by uncommenting the next line
// chdir ('/path/to/your/forums');
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page'));
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### YOUR CUSTOM CODE GOES HERE #####
$pagetitle = 'My Page Title';

// ###### NOW YOUR TEMPLATE IS BEING RENDERED ######

$templater = vB_Template::create('TEST');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar', $navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle', $pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());

?>
- Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!), and change 'test' to the filename or a unique name for the page. Also, change 'Test Page' and 'My Page Title' to whatever you want to show in the navbits, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

2. Create the Template:
- If you are in debug mode, create the template in your MASTER STYLE so it shows up in all your styles, otherwise make sure you create the template in the style you are using. If following the page above, call the template TEST (WARNING: the template name is CASE SENSITIVE!!!) with the following content:
HTML Code:
{vb:stylevar htmldoctype}
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="{vb:stylevar textdirection}" lang="{vb:stylevar languagecode}" id="vbulletin_html">
  <head>
    <title>{vb:raw vboptions.bbtitle} - {vb:raw pagetitle}</title>
    {vb:raw headinclude}
    {vb:raw headinclude_bottom}
  </head>
  <body>
    
    {vb:raw header}
    
    {vb:raw navbar}
    
    <div id="pagetitle">
      <h1>{vb:raw pagetitle}</h1>
    </div>
    
    <h2 class="blockhead">Title</h2>
    <div class="blockbody">
      <div class="blockrow">
        Text
      </div>
    </div>
    
    {vb:raw footer}
  </body>
</html>
.
Instructions to Add your Page to the Who's Online List (WOL):
Create two plugins using the following hooks. Replace mypage and similar with your information.

1. hook location - online_location_process:
Code:
switch ($filename)
{
    case 'test.php':
        $userinfo['activity'] = 'mypage';
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
2. hook location online_location_unknown:
Code:
switch ($userinfo['activity'])
{
    case 'mypage':
        $userinfo['where'] = '<a href="test.php?'.$vbulletin->session->vars[sessionurl].'">My Page</a>';
        $userinfo['action'] = "Viewing My Page";
        $handled = true;
        break;
// add more cases here if you have more than one custom page. no need for multiple plugins. one plugin can handle all.
}
.
The colored part in the code above shows what you need to change in the plugins (both reds should be the same and both blues should be the same, whereas green can be whatever you want).


Please see this article for help with rendering templates - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 01-14-2010, 09:15 PM
Allan's Avatar
Allan Allan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: France
Posts: 1,513
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Sorry, I missed this. You would just do something like this...
PHP Code:
<?php

.......

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('TEST',
'TEST2',
'TEST3',
);

........
// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page'));
$navbar render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### When do == 'xxx' #####
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());
}

// ###### When do == 'yyy' #####
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'yyy')
{
$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST2');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());
}

// ###### When do does not equal 'xxx' or 'yyy' #####

$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST3');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());


?>
There are all sorts of different ways to do it, but that is one simple way.
Thank you for your help
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 01-15-2010, 12:21 AM
Switch3130 Switch3130 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 242
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Great work.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:53 AM
PukkaBen PukkaBen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hey everyone!! I have had some great joy with this article, and it has helped me out a lot, but now I am wanting to do a bit more with it. I have now got so many custom pages that I was wondering if I could put them all together to pull up different templates.

For example...
radio.php would be the only PHP file I need to build.
Then I have a link to radio.php?id=status, that will pull up the status template.
radio.php?id=schedule, that will pull up the schedule template
And so on.

This would then cut down the amount of pages I have on my web server, but keep what I have done already!!

I tried using the example above to no avil... not sure how that is supposed to work but it didn't!! I wonder if you could you the "if, elsif, else" solution on it though?

PHP Code:
<?php

.......

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array('TEST',
'TEST2',
'TEST3',
);

........
// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page'));
$navbar render_navbar_template($navbits);

// ###### When do == 'xxx' #####
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());
}

// ###### When do == 'yyy' #####
elseif ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'yyy')
{
$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST2');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());
}

// ###### When do does not equal 'xxx' or 'yyy' #####

$pagetitle 'My Page Title';

$templater vB_Template::create('TEST3');
$templater->register_page_templates();
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
print_output($templater->render());


?>
Any help would be greatly appreciated, so thanks in advance!!
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 01-15-2010, 02:20 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you are using id as the passed variable, then you need to use $_REQUEST['id'] in the code, not $_REQUEST['do']
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 01-15-2010, 02:42 PM
PukkaBen PukkaBen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Okay, here is what I am using...

PHP Code:
<?php 

// pre-cache templates used by all actions 
$globaltemplates = array('about'
'news'
'notfound',
'schedule',
'status'
); 

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page')); 
$navbar render_navbar_template($navbits); 

// ###### When do == 'xxx' ##### 
if ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'about'

$pagetitle 'About Pukka Radio'

$templater vB_Template::create('news'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'news'

$pagetitle 'Pukka Radio News'

$templater vB_Template::create('news'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'schedule'

$pagetitle 'Radio Schedule'

$templater vB_Template::create('schedule'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'status'

$pagetitle 'Radio Status'

$templater vB_Template::create('status'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do does not equal 'xxx' or 'yyy' ##### 

$pagetitle 'You Are Lost!!'

$templater vB_Template::create('notfound'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


?>

When I load up radio.php I get the error...

HTML Code:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function construct_navbits() in /home/pukkarad/public_html/forum/radio.php on line 15
Reply With Quote
  #167  
Old 01-15-2010, 02:53 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PukkaBen View Post
Okay, here is what I am using...

PHP Code:
<?php 

// pre-cache templates used by all actions 
$globaltemplates = array('about'
'news'
'notfound',
'schedule',
'status'
); 

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => 'Test Page')); 
$navbar render_navbar_template($navbits); 

// ###### When do == 'xxx' ##### 
if ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'about'

$pagetitle 'About Pukka Radio'

$templater vB_Template::create('news'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'news'

$pagetitle 'Pukka Radio News'

$templater vB_Template::create('news'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'schedule'

$pagetitle 'Radio Schedule'

$templater vB_Template::create('schedule'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do == 'yyy' ##### 
elseif ($_REQUEST['id'] == 'status'

$pagetitle 'Radio Status'

$templater vB_Template::create('status'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


// ###### When do does not equal 'xxx' or 'yyy' ##### 

$pagetitle 'You Are Lost!!'

$templater vB_Template::create('notfound'); 
$templater->register_page_templates(); 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar); 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle); 
print_output($templater->render()); 


?>
When I load up radio.php I get the error...

HTML Code:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function construct_navbits() in /home/pukkarad/public_html/forum/radio.php on line 15
Please take a look again at the first post and see all the stuff above the START MAIN SCRIPT part of the page that is *required* for the page to work.
Reply With Quote
  #168  
Old 01-15-2010, 02:57 PM
PukkaBen PukkaBen is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 51
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorted!! Was just missing one thing. But now, how do I make sure that the tab shows selected for that page? Page name is "radio.php"?
Reply With Quote
  #169  
Old 01-15-2010, 04:59 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PukkaBen View Post
Sorted!! Was just missing one thing. But now, how do I make sure that the tab shows selected for that page? Page name is "radio.php"?
You should ask that question in the thread where you got the code for your tab. There are several mods and several articles on how to add a tab and they all seem to do it a bit differently, so you need to ask in that thread.
Reply With Quote
  #170  
Old 01-15-2010, 07:37 PM
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Posts: 1,630
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

you don't need all the templates in the globaltemplates array

If you need them only for a special action (do == 'xxx') you can use the actiontemplates
Reply With Quote
  #171  
Old 01-15-2010, 08:30 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragtek View Post
you don't need all the templates in the globaltemplates array

If you need them only for a special action (do == 'xxx') you can use the actiontemplates
I've never understood the difference in those arrays (although I must admit to not having looked very hard into the issue).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09422 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,451KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_html
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (58)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete