Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Catagory Icons Details »»
Catagory Icons
Version: 1.0.1, by Adrian. Adrian. is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.6.1 Rating:
Released: 09-23-2006 Last Update: 09-23-2006 Installs: 673
DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Catagory Icons
Tested on 3.6.1
By Adrian at Development chat.com

Current Version: 1.0.1
1.0.1 Status: Working Fine.

Hey,

I noticed a few people around the 'net wanted a modification like this, It wasn't too hard so i thought i would give it ago.

You can specify a image path/url to use for your catagory icon, if none is specified, the forum will use vBulletins default image.
See bottom of post for screenshots

Installation
Import product-catagoryicons.xml (It should make the needed Mysql tables too)
Go to Options > Catagory Icons to enable the mod'.

Template Edits
Open Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level1_post
Find:
HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />
or

HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[customimg_enabled] == 1">
	<if condition="$forum[customimg] == ''">
		<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />

<else />
		<img src="$forum[customimg]" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>

<else />
	<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
Save.
Open up Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
Find:
HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />
or

HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace with:
HTML Code:
<if condition="$vboptions[customimg_enabled] == 1">
	<if condition="$forum[customimg] == ''">
		<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />

<else />
		<img src="$forum[customimg]" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>

<else />
	<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
</if>
Done.

That should be it.

To set catagory icons, just edit a forum, the image field is at the bottom.
If you have any problems, just ask.

If you use it, please click install.

Thanks.

Adrian

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:06 PM
forumbeat forumbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nice hack, will install soon!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-24-2006, 12:11 PM
ChavMagnet's Avatar
ChavMagnet ChavMagnet is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Leeds - England
Posts: 194
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok Great hack buy im having a few problems first one is this you say in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post replace this

Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" />
But my template is like this

Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
I replaced that with your code and this is what happened to my icons Thanks Alot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:13 PM
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,544
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi

I was about to install and i see i have the same code as ChavMagnet

Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" /></td>
Could you please advise as to the best way to tdo this please as i do not know what functionality the extra bit of code i have does and i do not want to break something like normal lol
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:21 PM
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you have...

HTML Code:
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_statusicon]/forum_$forum[statusicon].gif" alt="" border="0" 

id="forum_statusicon_$forum[forumid]" />
Replace it with my code, it should work fine...

Just make sure, you are not replacing <td> </td> <tr> </tr>

EDIT: Also, make sure you have the mod' enabled.

Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2006, 01:38 PM
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,544
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi m8, Ok done that and seemed ot go ok,
Can you take a look at the image please, i take it the forum manager aint meant to look like that?

Also i have added an image, yet it dont show the image, it just removes the original
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2006, 02:15 PM
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 128
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry about it having no description on the field.

I was in a hurry to finish this mod' up for someone before i had to go out.

If you import the .xml attached (Updated), it should add the description.

Adrian
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2006, 02:25 PM
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,544
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ny ideas on the image not showing, the url in the box is
/images/catergory/grabit.gif
i take it thats right

EDIT, Sorted, it needs forums/ 1st
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2006, 03:47 PM
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 3,832
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for making this!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2006, 04:13 PM
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,544
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just a wee question, is this possible to work with the sub forum icons please?
If too much then no worries!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04255 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,302KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (7)bbcode_html
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete