Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.6 > vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Google/Adsense Site Search Navbar Integration Details »»
Google/Adsense Site Search Navbar Integration
Version: 1.00, by davidw davidw is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Add-On Releases - Version: 3.6.7 Rating:
Released: 10-03-2006 Last Update: 06-15-2007 Installs: 102
 
No support by the author.

Since the vbadvanced google/adsense integration I came out with a while back I had wanted to think of a way to do this to the navbar, but I didn't really care for the old navbar's search - until the 3.6 version came out. I like this new version and I've now decided to come write my own based on what I did with my original for vbadvanced.

It's fairly simple...

Go to your admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => look for your style to do this to and under All Style Options click Edit Templates

In your navigation bar, find

Code:
<!-- header quick search form -->
	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search_menu" style="display:none">
		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
		<tr>
			<td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
				<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
					<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
					<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
					<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="25" tabindex="1001" /><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go]" tabindex="1004" /></div>
					<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
						<label for="rb_nb_sp0"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="0" id="rb_nb_sp0" tabindex="1002" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_threads]</label>
						&nbsp;
						<label for="rb_nb_sp1"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="1" id="rb_nb_sp1" tabindex="1003" />$vbphrase[show_posts]</label>
					</div>					
				</form>
			</td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
		</tr>
		$template_hook[navbar_search_menu]
		</table>
	</div>
	<!-- / header quick search form -->
and replace with

Code:
<!-- header quick search form -->
	<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="navbar_search_menu" style="display:none">
		<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
		<tr>
			<td class="thead">$vbphrase[search_forums]</td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
				<form action="search.php?do=process" method="post">
					<input type="hidden" name="do" value="process" />
					<input type="hidden" name="quicksearch" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="childforums" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="exactname" value="1" />
					<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
					<div><input type="text" class="bginput" name="query" size="25" tabindex="1001" /><input type="submit" class="button" value="$vbphrase[go]" tabindex="1004" /></div>
					<div style="margin-top:$stylevar[cellpadding]px">
						<label for="rb_nb_sp0"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="0" id="rb_nb_sp0" tabindex="1002" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_threads]</label>
						&nbsp;
						<label for="rb_nb_sp1"><input type="radio" name="showposts" value="1" id="rb_nb_sp1" tabindex="1003" />$vbphrase[show_posts]</label>
					</div>					
				</form>
			</td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td class="vbmenu_option"><a href="search.php$session[sessionurl_q]" accesskey="4" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[advanced_search]</a></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<form action="http://www.google.com/custom" type="hidden" method=GET name="search"><td class="thead">Search Site / Google</td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">
                	<input type="hidden" name="client" value="pub-0252500186462625">
                	<input type="hidden" name="forid" value="1">
                	<input type="hidden" name="ie" value="ISO-8859-1">
                	<input type="hidden" name="oe" value="ISO-8859-1">
                	<input name="cof" type="hidden" value="GALT:#008000;GL:1;DIV:#336699;VLC:663399;AH:center;BGC:FFFFFF;LBGC:336699;ALC:0000FF;LC:0000FF;T:000000;GFNT:0000FF;GIMP:0000FF;LH:50;LW:250;L:http://www.christianboards.org/images/logo.gif;S:http://;FORID:1">
                	<input name="domains" type="hidden" value="www.yoursite.com">
                	<input type="hidden" name="hl" value="en">
                	<input type="text" class="bginput" name="q" size="25" maxlength="255" />$gobutton<br />
                	<input name="sitesearch" type="radio" value="www.christianboards.org" checked> Christianboards.org<br />
                	<input name="sitesearch" type="radio" value=""><a href="http://www.google.com/search"><img src="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_25wht.gif" border="0" alt="Google" align="middle"></A>
                	</td></form>
        	</tr>
		$template_hook[navbar_search_menu]
		</table>
	</div>
	<!-- / header quick search form -->
Replace pub-1234567890123456 with your pub- number
In the line <input name="cof" type="hidden" value="GALT:">, Replace value="GALT:" with your information (this contains information that controls how your search results are displayed - this won't necessarily start with GALT.
Replace www.yoursite.com with your website in both places
Replace Yoursite.com with your website

I have updated this for 3.6.7 - there is a small change, but enough for an update.
There is a hook as well, $template_hook[navbar_search_menu], which I have a product that you can just install, but for some reason ibproarcade is conflicting with this new product.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #32  
Old 02-12-2007, 11:31 PM
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 742
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What does this have to do with google adsense? I mean? It's just a google search performed on your site, isn't it?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-13-2007, 12:09 AM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You could look at it that way, however, you have both options - search your site OR search the web with your adsense information. Adsense does not have to be a box with ads in it. This is called Adsense for Search.

Here's an overview: https://www.google.com/adsense/ws-overview
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-13-2007, 02:06 AM
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 742
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Aah, now I get it .
I thought of the box with ads yes .

And where do I find the GELT?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-13-2007, 12:29 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the GALT, from what I understand is how the results display on your page. Much like properties of <td> and <div> tags, it appears to define the properties. It is displayed initially when you sign up for the adsense code. For example, here is mine
PHP Code:
GALT:#9A2C06;GL:1;DIV:#33FFFF;VLC:D03500;AH:center;BGC:99CCFF;LBGC:CCE5F9;ALC:440066;LC:440066;T:336699;GFNT:223472;GIMP:223472;FORID:1; 
broken down, it looks like this:
PHP Code:
GALT:#9A2C06;
GL:1;DIV:#33FFFF;
VLC:D03500;
AH:center;
BGC:99CCFF;
LBGC:CCE5F9;
ALC:440066;
LC:440066;
T:336699;
GFNT:223472;
GIMP:223472;
FORID:1
I just went to https://www.google.com/adsense/search-settings, played around with the colors, etc., and it produced new code for me including new information for that line
PHP Code:
GALT:#008000;GL:1;DIV:#336699;VLC:663399;AH:center;BGC:FFFFFF;LBGC:336699;ALC:0000FF;LC:0000FF;T:000000;GFNT:0000FF;GIMP:0000FF;LH:50;LW:250;L:http://www.christianboards.org/images/logo.gif;S:http://www.christianboards.org;FORID:1 
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-14-2007, 12:46 AM
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 742
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Aah... So I really do need an adsense account?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:17 AM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes, to make money off the searches (you need the pub-#). Of course, you could always use mine :P
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 02-16-2007, 11:28 AM
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 817
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What if making money off of the searches isn't necessarially a concern?

If I just wanted a google search feature for the forum. Is that possible with this mod or do I need to look elsewhere?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-16-2007, 12:24 PM
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 742
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
What if making money off of the searches isn't necessarially a concern?

If I just wanted a google search feature for the forum. Is that possible with this mod or do I need to look elsewhere?
Exactly..
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-16-2007, 12:31 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This works either way If you just wanted to search the site rather than search the web, you could remove the ability to search the web. (the radio button).

Edit:

Find:
PHP Code:
<form action="http://www.google.com/custom" type="hidden" method=GET name="search"><td class="thead">Search Site Google</td
Replace with:
PHP Code:
<form action="http://www.google.com/custom" type="hidden" method=GET name="search"><td class="thead">Search Site</td
Then

Find and Remove:
PHP Code:
<input name="sitesearch" type="radio" value=""><a href="http://www.google.com/search"><img src="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_25wht.gif" border="0" alt="Googlealign="middle"></A
This should work, although I've not tested it.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02-16-2007, 01:24 PM
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Elm, TX
Posts: 817
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

So then this would just allow a google style search on the site it's self. No need to have an ad sense account?

If so, this would probably end up working much better. We're finding that the search feature that's built in doesn't work very well.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.12724 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,342KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete