Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration Details »»
vB Google Adsense for Search plus Integration
Version: 1.6, by davidw davidw is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Integration with vBulletin - Version: 3.7.0 Rating:
Released: 05-22-2008 Last Update: 03-01-2009 Installs: 171
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

I've done an overhaul on this and you will need to resetup your adsense for search account for this to work. If you aren't happy with that, please use the 3.6 version of this, which works fine for 3.7 from what I've been told.

Step 1:
You may have to resetup your adsense. If you do, you will get a new pub ID - this one includes your previous pub and tacks on your GALT (which is set up when you resetup your adsense account). I used www.christianboards.org and www.google.com (so it would search my site and the web - you can choose only your site, or any location that is web-accessible for results)

Example: partner-pub-0123456789012345:lnucfbm5dtp

If your partner-pub ID does not look like the example, you will see an error.

Also, keep in mind, all sites you put into the box for the adsense (one per line) will be integrated into the search and the search results.

Step 2:
Edit your searchresults.php file.
Find:
Code:
chdir('/path/to/your/forums/');
Put your correct value.

Example: chdir('/var/www/vhosts/yoursite.com/forums/');

Step 3:
Upload this file your forum's root. An example of your forum's root is below.

Example: http://www.yoursite.com/forums/searchresults.php

Step 4:
Install the product
Go to Admincp => Plugins & Products => Manage Products => [Add/Import Product] => Browse for product-davidw_vb_google_search.xml => Import

Step 5:
Configure your Admincp options
Go to Admincp => vBullitin Options => vBulletin Options => Find vB Google Search (Adsense) then click [Edit Settings]
Edit your new Partner-pub ID (the one you just had reset up - see example in red above), Google box width, iframe widthfor your results (I use 800 in the screenshot, but you can change this based on your needs), and the full URL to your searchresults.php.

NOTE! If you do not enter these in, you will see errors.

Step 6: Optional
Edit 1 template:
Admincp => Styles & Templates => Style Manager => Edit Templates (on your style) => Search Templates => search_forums => under $navbar, add $google_siteadsearch

Step 7: Optional (for vBAdvanced 3.x only)
vBa CMPS => Default Settings => Main Options => Portal Output Global Variables

Add these variables:
template_hook
google_navadsearch
homeurl

=> Save

vBa CMPS => Edit Modules => Search Forums => Select Action => Copy Module

Main Options
Module Title Google Search site / Forums
Template To Include search_google

Module Wrapper Template Options
Form Code Replace default code with
Code:
<form action="http://www.yoursite.com/forums/searchresults.php" type="hidden" name="search" target="_blank">
Click Save
Edit locations where you want to set this active to.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 06-01-2008, 02:37 PM
nirvana43's Avatar
nirvana43 nirvana43 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 361
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidw View Post
Did you edit searchresults.php as in Step 1: Edit chdir('/path/to/your/forums/'); in searchresults.php That would give this error if it was not edited or if the path was incorrect.
yes i did edited searchresults.php
my searchresults.php reads as follows :

Code:
<?php
// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'searchresults');
chdir('/home/public_html/searchresults.php');

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
        'google_navadsearch',
		'google_siteadsearch',
		'google_searchresults'
);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Search Results';
$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('google_searchresults') . '");');
?>
My forum is located at http://www.projectsplanet.com
please tell me what should i write in searchresults.php ????
kindly help

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-01-2008, 03:21 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For example, somewhat edited, here is mine:
chdir('/home/xxxxxxx/christianboards/forums/');
This is my /path/to/my/forums/ since searchresults.php is located at forums/searchresults.php
You will never use a file in a path (a path is a directory). In your case, try taking out searchresults.php from your path.

chdir('/home/public_html/');

It has to be the full path to your searchresults.php, but don't include the file itself. Hope that helps
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:00 AM
nirvana43's Avatar
nirvana43 nirvana43 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 361
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidw View Post
For example, somewhat edited, here is mine:
chdir('/home/xxxxxxx/christianboards/forums/');
This is my /path/to/my/forums/ since searchresults.php is located at forums/searchresults.php
You will never use a file in a path (a path is a directory). In your case, try taking out searchresults.php from your path.

chdir('/home/public_html/');

It has to be the full path to your searchresults.php, but don't include the file itself. Hope that helps
Still same problem persist bro...
i tried these :

chdir('/home/projects/public_html/');

chdir('/home/public_html/');

btw in your case u've written chdir('/home/xxxxxxx/christianboards/forums/');

what to write at xxxxxxx please can tell me in my case what do i write??
my forum is located in main public_html directory
please have a look here www.projectsplanet.com
please tell me what do i write after /home/



also when i try to search it gives me server not found error...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:13 AM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Each website is going to be different. If you have vbadvanced, there is a tool in the Extras (do not upload) folder called forumpath.php that you can upload to your forums directory that will tell you your exact forum path. If you use that tool, remove it after you use it. The path in the chdir must begin and end with a slash "/".

Also, for my site I edited it in at least two places, but just wanted to show that as an example.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-02-2008, 12:41 PM
ahayat ahayat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nirvana43 View Post
Still same problem persist bro...
i tried these :

chdir('/home/projects/public_html/');

chdir('/home/public_html/');

btw in your case u've written chdir('/home/xxxxxxx/christianboards/forums/');

what to write at xxxxxxx please can tell me in my case what do i write??
my forum is located in main public_html directory
please have a look here www.projectsplanet.com
please tell me what do i write after /home/



also when i try to search it gives me server not found error...
Bro when u get an error u must see the link above ?? PM me that link then i will reply you how to fix it.

in other words u must have seen the error like that chdir("/home/ur_root_name_/public_html")

ur_root_name = here u should see root name when u get error just put it there.

@david
Thanks alot mate , My Problem has been fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-03-2008, 04:06 AM
nirvana43's Avatar
nirvana43 nirvana43 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune, India
Posts: 361
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ahayat View Post
Bro when u get an error u must see the link above ?? PM me that link then i will reply you how to fix it.

in other words u must have seen the error like that chdir("/home/ur_root_name_/public_html")

ur_root_name = here u should see root name when u get error just put it there.

@david
Thanks alot mate , My Problem has been fixed.
yeah!! mine 2!!! its working lika charm now!!!
u rox david!!
thanks again!!
here is test : http://www.projectsplanet.com/search...sa=Search#1270
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:48 AM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It shows to be working for me
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-03-2008, 02:14 PM
ahayat ahayat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

One question please.

Can i place it on Forumhome somewhere ? it would be good if users can see it on the page instead going to search list?
I thought i should ask you before trying anywhere

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-03-2008, 02:36 PM
davidw's Avatar
davidw davidw is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 2,815
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Feel free to modify it to your forums needs. I won't be able to support it being modified for displaying results on the forumhome, but you are welcome to put it there. As for the search box itself, you can add that easily by using $google_siteadsearch and modifying that slightly.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 06-08-2008, 02:48 AM
MadK's Avatar
MadK MadK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 109
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you davidw! It works great!
http://www.mafia-mp.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05114 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,318KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete