Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Flashchat: Who is chatting Details »»
Flashchat: Who is chatting
Version: 2.30, by Paul M Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.x Rating:
Released: 12-17-2004 Last Update: 09-28-2005 Installs: 225
 
No support by the author.

This modification is no longer available or supported.

This is a simple ForumHome display of who is currently using your Flashchat.

Version 2.20 is for use with Flashchat 4.1.x - however, it may work with older versions of Flashchat if set-up correctly.

The main features of Version 2.xx are ;

1. It displays the list on Forum Home with the "Users online" display.

2. The list view is collapsable, so you just see the number.

3. Users who should display as coloured or bold etc should be displayed correctly. (based on the display usergroup)

4. If you 'hover' over a username it will show the room they are chatting in.

5. If the chat is empty, a simple "no one is chatting" message is displayed.


Note: This will not display the names of any bots in the chat, due to the strange way that flashchat stores this information.


With help from Cyricx a CPMS module is located in this post. (Version 2.20 only, unsupported - use at your own risk).

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #242  
Old 10-25-2005, 08:53 PM
zendiver zendiver is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 118
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Paul, got a question for you....it may have already been asked but I didn't see it. Why is that users still show up in the "Users Currently Inside Chat:" LONG after they have left? Sometimes even the following day. Is there somewhere that this can be refreshed more often?

thanks
-ZD
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:19 PM
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1,186
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thats the way that FlashChat keeps track of users logged in. It's really weird. This hack has nothing to do with that problem.
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 10-25-2005, 09:25 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zendiver
Paul, got a question for you....it may have already been asked but I didn't see it. Why is that users still show up in the "Users Currently Inside Chat:" LONG after they have left? Sometimes even the following day. Is there somewhere that this can be refreshed more often?

thanks
-ZD
This has multiple mentions in the thread, but here it is again ....

Basically it's down to Flashchat not removing them from the connections table. This happens because the user does not log out properly, but instead just closes their browser. When a user does this, Flashchat attempts to run a little pop-up to log them out, but browsers like firefox block this - so they don't get logged out.
These dead sessions only get removed when they time out, and since timeout processing only happens when someone is connected, if the last person in the chat does this, their 'connection' can end up being displayed for ages.

The answer is to drill the users in to logging out properly, or getting them to allow pop-ups from your site.
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:33 AM
Coldhands's Avatar
Coldhands Coldhands is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 87
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This might be user error on my part, but when I cut and paste the code into the main index.php file just above where it says I should, and upload the new file, I get a blank screen when I point my browser at my forum. I've changed the ForumHOME template code too. In the config file it has

'pref' => 'flashchat_',

Am I missing something?

I just installed Flash Chat 4.4.1 and I'm using vB 3.5.0.

I feel like an idiot right now. Please help. :/
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 10-27-2005, 05:11 AM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is not for vb 3.5, it is the 3.0.9 version.

Look in the 3.5 plugins area for the 3.5 version, or click on the my hacks link in my sig.
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:00 AM
kpr's Avatar
kpr kpr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 89
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im having trouble.

i do not understand what i have to edit with the index.php. i know where it goes but what exactly do i add and where.

sorry for sounding so stupid.

its a fresh install of the latest version on VB 3.0.9

PHP Code:
// ## Paul M - Flashchat - Who is in the chat v2.30 ## //

$fcfolder 'chat'// The folder name where your flashchat installation is located //

$GLOBALS['fc_config_stop'] = true;
require_once(
"./" $fcfolder "/inc/config.php"); 
require_once(
"./" $fcfolder "/inc/config.srv.php"); 
$fcprefix $GLOBALS['fc_config']['db']['pref'];
$chatlist $DB_site->query("SELECT connections.userid, connections.roomid, rooms.name, rooms.ispublic, connections.start, 
user.usergroupid, user.displaygroupid, user.options, user.username, groupa.opentag as opentaga, groupa.closetag as closetaga, 
groupb.opentag as opentagb, groupb.closetag as closetagb
FROM " 
$fcprefix "connections as connections
LEFT JOIN " 
$fcprefix "rooms as rooms ON(connections.roomid = rooms.id)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "user as user ON(connections.userid = user.userid)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "usergroup as groupa ON(user.usergroupid = groupa.usergroupid)
LEFT JOIN " 
TABLE_PREFIX "usergroup as groupb ON(user.displaygroupid = groupb.usergroupid)
WHERE connections.userid IS NOT NULL ORDER BY start" 
);
unset(
$chatters);
$totalchatters 0;
while (
$chat $DB_site->fetch_array($chatlist))
{
    
$totalchatters += 1;
    
$roomname "In private room";
    
$chat['opentag'] = $chat['opentaga'] ;
    
$chat['closetag'] = $chat['closetaga'] ;
    if (
$chat['displaygroupid']) 
    {
        
$chat['opentag'] = $chat['opentagb'] ;
        
$chat['closetag'] = $chat['closetagb'] ;
    }
    if (
$chat['ispublic']) { $roomname "In ".$chat['name']; }
    
$chatters .= "<a href='member.php?u=$chat[userid]' title="$roomname" >";
    
$chatters .= $chat['opentag'].$chat['username'].$chat['closetag']."</a>, ";
}
if (
$chatters)
{
    
$chatters substr($chatters0strlen($chatters)-2);
}
else
{
    
$chatters "No one is currently using the chat";

you say add * Make sure you have set the parameter in the Step 2 code * well step 1 really lol.

My prefix is _fc_.

any help on what i add and where.

any help is much appreciated.

The chatroom works fine just this.

site if needed http://http://gamezmania.com
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:36 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpr
Im having trouble.

i do not understand what i have to edit with the index.php. i know where it goes but what exactly do i add and where.

you say add * Make sure you have set the parameter in the Step 2 code * well step 1 really lol.

My prefix is _fc_.

any help on what i add and where.
1. Add the code to index.php in the correct place, the parameter is already correct.

2. Check the prefix in flashchats config.srv.php is correct.

3. Do the template edit.

4. Done.
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:14 PM
kpr's Avatar
kpr kpr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 89
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It was more where on the file for index.php i add the _fc_ to get it to work ive tried a few to no avail
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 11-18-2005, 11:31 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kpr
It was more where on the file for index.php i add the _fc_ to get it to work ive tried a few to no avail
You don't add it to index.php.

Like I said ;

Quote:
2. Check the prefix in flashchats config.srv.php is correct.
That is where the prefix is defined (as 'pref' iirc)
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 11-19-2005, 12:20 AM
kpr's Avatar
kpr kpr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 89
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks for that was just confused.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.10930 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,333KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete